We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced pokey unit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced pokey unit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our honeymoon, on the way to Townsville. Stayed in one bed spa suite. Room was pokey, one of the flush buttons on loo didn't work, no a/c in bedroom and no milk left with the "coffee and tea making facilities". View was nice if you can block out the construction site across the rd (not hotels fault of course). Paid $175/night thru wotif, mega ripoff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    84
    39
    36
    35
See reviews for
39
151
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We keep coming back :-D

We had a great holiday at Whitsunday Vista – again the room was clean and tidy, spacious and had amazing views. The owner managers John and Regina were wonderful as ever and so helpful with organising day trips and recommendations on where to eat fantastic meals.
We love sitting by the pool just relaxing and catching some sun. I am always raving about how great this place is and continue to tell all my friends to stay here.

We can’t wait to get back there again and again – Next time we will be taking friends with us to show them how great Whitsunday Vista and Airlie Beach is.

Room Tip: The street facing units have amazing views and beautiful sunshine in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and quite enjoyed it, the apartment was spacious, the bed was comfy, kitchen big enough and liked having a small balcony. Housekeeping came every day. The pool was also very nice. It is a short walk away from Airlie Beach center where there are places to eat, drink & shop. Unfortunately we went during the jellyfish season so swimming at the beach was not an option and I found the lagoon a bit boring. But that has not much to do with the hotel itself. And there were enough other things to do in Airlie Beach. As we just came back from a 3 day sailing trip we actually enjoyed so spent some time at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with sea view, which was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTheWorldToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Pros : Reception was very efficient and friendly. Free undercover car parking. Walking distance to the main part of town. Spa was great, and does indeed look out over the view. No problems with hot water. It was wonderful. Pool/jacuzzi/barbeque area is very pleasant.

Cons : Room was sufficient but overpriced at $145 pn. Clean and tidy, except for bathroom floor. Bathmat was filthy after one use. Resort is at the far end of Airlie, and from our suite on the 2nd floor, the view was of mud flats and mangroves. Traffic on roundabout outside resort made it very noisy. Awful reception on Pay TV but normal telly was fine. Had to keep curtains closed as suite on above floor could see into our room. Noise from adjoining room, and louts on the top floor at 6am (but that's not the Resort's fault).

Overall : Could have had the same experience, cheaper, at any venue closer to home. Long drive...disappointing.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view, and the less road noise. About 2 klm further down towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodnews150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Not bad if your paying $100 for the night but $170 for a night is a joke.

-No free wifi
-Instructed to not turn the AC below 23’c
-told to take the rubbish out when we leave

The view was the only +

We booked this for a romatic getaway and expected there to be a view from the spa as shown on the images on wotif.

The spa was stuck in a windowless bathroom :(

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard_hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a nice place to stay with my partner. Found the website and looked at the pictures and it looked lovely..

We turned up only for it to be the absolute opposite of what it was meant to be. We stayed in the ocean view spa suite. Promised it was going to be a romantic spa room.

It was an old shoe box room. The kitchen had no where to cook. And the promised romantic spa was a very old bathroom with a tiny spa that could hardly fit us both in it.

The couch was old with stains on it and the bed was average..

The view was problably the best part of it ( if you can take away the fact that you can see in next doors window).

The pool and jacuzzi down the bottom were ok. A little dirty and 2 of the 4 jacuzzi buttons didnt work. We used the bbq by the pool twice it was also a highlight of the stay here.

It was not an overly cheap stay here either. Was expecting a lovely romantic place to come back to after our fun in Airlie and was giving an average and dated room.

If your looking for somewhere just to come to at night and wont be in there for long then I guess its fine. If you are looking for a romantic get away dont let the pictures fool you. THE PICTURES ARE NOT OF THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We managed to buy cheap tickets via Discover Australia which meant we got good value for what we paid as we wouldn't have paid more - basically it's a basic accomodation. Room was dated but very clean and functional with small balcony to sit on. Bedding and towels were lovely and clean, crisp white and pillows were nice. Balcony overlooks a road and roundabout which can be busy but as we were high up the noise didn't affect us and beyond the road overlooks Airlie beach harbor and boats so a lovely view if the harbor. Thai restaurant in the hotel is worth a visit for a takeaway and reception service was professional, fast and efficient. Overall a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonltmealter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#11 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#15 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Property: at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Address: 1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing