We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there just for 1 night and when we got there reception was closed this was at 3pm in the afternoon mind you and then when we tried to call using the call button we kept getting disconnected this went on for 20min. Once we were in the room it felt very dated and the bed was hard as a rock. Would rather get my value for money at another hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mcullen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    84
    39
    36
    37
See reviews for
40
152
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had 1 night here and found it very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a queen spa room with water views and although the unit was quite small it was big enough for 2 people. Good Thai restaurant on the premises. Undercover free parking and although we did not use it there was a laundry available. Prices are a little expensive but found this is the same throughout Airlie Beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Holding a wedding on an island in North Queensland in the wet season has slight risks, however what's the chances that a cyclone will actually be predicted for your wedding day? When planning our dream wedding, this was a risk we took. 48 hours from our wedding day, the ferries were stopping at 6pm and many of our guests were still to arrive on the mainland the following day. With the support of the Airlie Beach community, we organised our entire day in 24 hours, the one area that you don't generally need to take into consideration when planning your wedding is the individual accommodation needs of your guests. Many of the local accommodation providers were extremely helpful to our guests at such short notice, however the help and support of the at Hotel Group went above and beyond anything we could have hoped for. You always hope that your guests are treated with the respect and service that you are treated with when they are coming to your event, and we can say for certain, our guests were. From extending guests bookings; keeping rooms aside for guests who needed new bookings; collecting some guests with their chauffeur service; and blocking a penthouse out for our wedding suite went above and beyond the call of duty. The at Hotel Group has 5 properties which are all ranges, so it was perfect for our guests. The Penthouse that had been set aside for our wedding night and night before the wedding was AMAZING! When we look back now at what we ended up staying in for our wedding night, we could not be happier. It was on the top level at Waters Edge Resort, right in Airlie Beach and had an outside jacuzzi, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (which came in handy the night before the wedding as my 5 beautiful bridesmaids stayed with me), and it was the most perfect location to get ready with hair & make up the morning of the wedding. We have been speechless for the last 2 weeks as trying to find the words that express the heartfelt thanks we want to express to those local businesses who helped us have our dream wedding has been hard. What could have been a disaster to look back on and wish went differently, was turned into something so very special that we will remember forever, and it's because of local businesses like the at Hotel Group who are passionate about what they do and helping their community. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrolwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place is overpriced! i paid $185 for water view room, yep, I could see the water and get a strained neck at the same time. Building is over 20 years old, outside looks OK, but inside is dated. The room was not dirty, but did not feel clean. Is was very dated. No air-conditioning in bedroom, just a badly fit fan that clicked, clicked, clicked all night long, guess it helped mute the traffic noise, as building on corner of main thoroughfare. Would never stay there again. Just wished I had read comments here before I booked.

Room Tip: Do not even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina A, Owner at at Whitsunday Vista Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Margo,

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do strive to exceed our guest expectations.

All our self catering apartments offer air conditioning and also the convenience of ceiling fans, I apologise your ceiling fan clicked if this had been brought to our attention we would have happily adjusted, we have since adjusted thank you for the advice.

We are conveniently located on Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach and the surrounding suburbs population according to the QLD Government in 2012 was 8,555 residents, we classify our township as a seaside village, part of the charm why people come to visit, traffic is one conundrum we thankfully live without.

I am sorry you would not return to the hotel, should this change please contact me so I can attend to your booking personally, we would welcome any opportunity to have you visit us again.

Sincerely

John & Regina Aquilina
Owner / Guest Service Managers
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Hi there Mates,

I stay to this place for 3 nights it was really amazing!!!!

I had the jacuzzi in the bathroom with the ocean view!
the communal facilities are really good, you have a pool is not too big but at least you have something, there is a BBQ and a jacuzzi down stairs, which is really good to experience!

the location well is 10 min walking distance to the city!

cheers

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed in this motel I would not recommend it to anyone they spent money on the out side but not in the actual rooms and the rooms are not sound proof we were awake at daylight because the traffic the spa looked very old and the bathroom is very small and wen the people next door to us turned the taps on we could hear it over the tv it was very annoying and I will never stay there again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Beds were 2 singles joined together which was rather uncomfortable for partner and I. The outdoor spa was rather cold, noisy frogs outside and construction outside window at 7am. Internet starts from $10 /hr - a rip off. We had a good price so glad we didn't pay more.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina A, Manager at at Whitsunday Vista Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Ben,
We would like to express our concern about your review, as worldwide known the bedding configuration is called King Bed not 2 Single Beds. However, if it was uncomfortable you should have expressed your feelings as we could have had you allocated to another apartment. We cannot help our guests once they have checked out, is quite disheartening to check reviews like that and not to be able to do anything as it could have been resolved while you here.
As for the frogs that’s Mother Nature and part of our environment, therefore is totally out of our control, same as for the construction site that it is happening at the moment, we cannot stop any development that is occurring in the main street. The outdoor Spa is tested twice a week and runs on 36 Degrees continuously, and it cannot be higher than that as advised by our pool specialists.
The internet access is a private service therefore the charges applied are not our own.
However the charges starts from $5.95 not $10.00, why states that is $10.00 cost when it isn’t? In addition to that we always advised the guests to use the internet cafes in town as they offer cheaper/free deals.
Hopefully we can give you a better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#33 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#12 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
BEST WESTERN Mango House Resort
#1 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sea Vista Apartments
Coral Sea Vista Apartments
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Property: at Whitsunday Vista Resort
Address: 1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing