We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mediterranean Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not bad, could be much better”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in a 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for a hens weekend. The first thing we disliked was the huge climb up the hill we were going to have, but the view was just amazing! although our legs didn't appreciate that!
Secondly the car parking was horrid, but I don't think much can be done differently when you building is on a mountainside. We did manage to get the car in the space provided with about 20 spare on each side!

Then we had to climb the 4 3 story's of stairs to get to our room - no lifts!

The apartment was big and had 4 balconies to overlook the amazing view. There was a 2 person spa on one of the balconies which was nice and warm when we arrived and even though we left on was cold for the rest of our stay.

There was an ensuite from the main bedroom, and the other 2 rooms were down in a sunken area at the other end of apartment and there was a main bathroom dopwn there, although after 2 showers each day we had no hot water left which made 6 of the eight girls miserablle at bath time!

The kitchen was full size and there was a laudry with machine and dryer.
There was a wall mounted tv in the main bedroom and another tv in a cabinet in the loungeroom with a dvds player. There was also a small stereo although after many tries we could not get it to work.

All in all we had a good stay, it was very close to the main drag in Airlie but a 50 degree climb 250 metres wasn't very pleasant. Also it is called the Mediterranean Resort, however, from my experience it was really just apartments with a pool as there were no other facilities and reception was via a paging system and they would come down. We found on arrival that 50% of this complex was residential, so there was a complete noise ban ot you would be asked to leave with no refund!

We took a look at the coral sea Resort whilst in AIrlie and it looked more like a resort, with facilities you would expect from a "resort" unlike the Mediterranean. Will might give them a try next time.

Any questions drop me a line!

Ang

  • Liked — Location and Views
  • Disliked — The walk up the hill, standard for penthouse was poor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    46
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We stayed at the Mediterranean Resort for 2 weeks and had a great time

The resort is located in central Airlie Beach, at the top of a short, but steep hill.

Check in was smooth and quick, and the staff were able to give good advice on trips and restaurants.

We stayed in the 2 bed spa apartment which we were very impressed with. The apartment was spacious and comfortable with all the mod-cons you would need.

There was a spacious living room/ kitchen area downstairs, with a small balcony, and then upstairs there were two bedrooms and two bathrooms, with plenty of storage.

The master bedroom was huge and opened up onto a balcony offering a panoramic view of the Whitsunday islands, and our own private spa.

The second bedroom had two single beds in it, and there were two modern bathrooms with showers.The apartment also had its own garage and laundry facitilities

The resort had a beautiful infinity pool and a second smaller pool with a jacuzzi corner.

We also stayed in the standard 2 bed apartment which was also very nice, and whilst all the apartments are different, the one we stayed in had both a large balcony and a small garden, however the view wasn’t uninterrupted.

We also had chance to view the 4 bed apartment which was stunning.

The staff looked after our luggage without charge when we went on our two day sailing trips, most people were being charged storage costs by their accommodation.

We would definitely stay here again.

Airlie beach itself is a very relaxed, backpacker style village.There is not much of a beach, but a lovely man-made lagoon

To eat we would recommend the 8 course 4hour lunch at Deja Vu, at Waters Edge hotel which is only a few doors down from Med Resorts

We would recommend the 2 day sailing trip on Whitsunday Blue catamaran, booked through Oz adventure sailing, and the private bubble helicopter 4 hour trip over the islands, reef, and private picnic at Whitehaven, booked with Aviation Adventures.

We would also recommend Cruise Whitsundays Knuckle Reef day trip to the GBR.

  • Liked — panoramic views
  • Disliked — steep hill
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honung
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

It is more expensive here but it seems the whole of Airlie is quite pricey. The appartment was big, comfortable and well equiped and the view from the balcony was amazing. There was two pools and a jacuzzi which look out onto the view. It is at the top of a steep hill, but it's not that bad. My parents managed it and they are not particularly fit and in their 50s. The only downside was the owner, he is shockingly unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

Stayed here in mid-December 2006 with my husband, 9 yr old daughter, sister and brother-in-law in a 3 bedroomed penthouse apartment. We loved it! The accommodation was really spacious,clean,comfortable, nicely furnished and well-maintained. The apartment was on 3 levels with amazing views from all the balconies. We spent a month touring Australia and this was voted the best accommodation we stayed in by a mile.

  • Liked — Lovely decor and cleanliness, fantastic views.
  • Disliked — The climb up the hill - it's a killer!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank medusahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2006

The two of us stayed for 3 nights during our 3 week trip along the east coast. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea, with fantastic views in all directions. The resort seemed quiet, even though it was full, and the 'infinity' pool was a delight. Airlie Beach is a lively resort, so we were so glad that we had picked this place that was away from all the bars and noise. The climb back up the steep hill was a small price to pay. We found a lovely fish cafe on the front, near the Airlie Beach hote, 'Fish D'ivine', best fish & chips we've ever had! Will definately stay at this hotel again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2006

Our family (4 people) stayed at this resort mid-February 2006. Our room had beautiful views, the 2 small pools were very nice, the rooms were spacious, clean and had A/C. There was a full sized refrigerator and the kitchen was well equipped (microwave, toaster, etc.) There was also a 1-car lock-up garage. As another TripAdvisor member mentioned, it is quite a hike uphill to the resort from town, but since we had a car this wasn’t a problem for us. The only complaint we had about the resort was that they did not provide pool/beach towels. You could rent them at a cost, but it seemed a bit crazy considering how much they charge for the room.

Airlie Beach was a nice area to stay; it’s a very small touristy town with lots of souvenir shops and food options. None of the restaurants were particularly memorable, except for the noodle shop on The Esplanade where we got food poisoning. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name, but it was opposite a seafood place, set back from the street, inside on the lower level.

We were there during stinger season (approx. Nov to April), so it’s nice that they have the protected lagoon area for swimming. We weren’t too interested in the beach anyway, as we only stayed in Airlie Beach to travel out to the reef (we took Fantasea Reefworld cruises) and to play golf at Turtle Point-Laguna Quays.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JBRJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 May 2005

I came across Airlie Beach in Queensland a couple of years ago on my way to somewhere else and loved it so much that I went no further. Perhaps the attached photos of a typical Airlie sunset will explain why.

Since then I've been back four other times and have stayed at the Sailz in Cannonvale once, the Coral Seas Resort once and the Mediterranesn Resorts on three other occasions.

The Sailz in inexpensive but pleasant enough and the Coral Seas is quite expensive but it seems a matter of luck wether you get a sea view room or not. Pricewise, the Mediterranean is somewhere between the two but the views are absolutely to die for. From our balcony chairs we could sit back and relax with a white wine overlooking the beautiful Pioneer Bay and a host of islands including, Hook, Hayman, Double Cone and Amrit Islands. Any photo I have seen does not do it justice. Also the Mediterranean is self contained which means that it has full kitchen and laundry facilities. This is a must for anyone staying in the tropics for any more than a few days as dining out all the time can be expensive and who wants to use one of those public laundaries on a regular basis.

On our last visit we travelled with friends and shared a three bedroom, two bathroom unit that gave us plenty of privacy and everyone had a sense of their own space.

Whilst in Airlie we went on a three island cruise on Fantasea Ferries - we especially loved Daydream Island and also took a cruise abord the Banana Winds catamaran yacht for a look at sunset from the water. It's every bit as good as the other writer reports and they do, in fact, give you champagne (included in the price of the trip) and keep it coming.

Some evenings we dined at home (the Mediterranean unit we were staying in) others, we ate out. Among our favourite spots were the Hogs Breath Cafe in Airlie Beach and Banjos Bar and Grill in Cannonvale. We loved Banjos so much we came back for dinner a few nights later.

I've now been to Airlie Beach five times in two years and I'm hoping to make it a sixth later this years. Again I will choose to stay at the Mediterranean Resorts for it's great views and its excellent facilities.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.0 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 54 in Airlie Beach
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#11 of 54 in Airlie Beach
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portside Whitsunday
Portside Whitsunday
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toscana Village Resort
Toscana Village Resort
#6 of 54 in Airlie Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Resorts

Property: Mediterranean Resorts
Address: 14 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mediterranean Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Resort offers affordable luxury in self contained 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas, honeymoon suites or a choice of 3 or 4 bedroom penthouses.The private balconies and spacious apartments offer unsurpassed views across the Coral Sea and the magnificent Whitsunday Islands.The resort facilities include 2 private saltwater pools both with outstanding views, a spa in which to refresh and all only 300m from the centre of Airlie Beach.The Whitsundays really is the epitome of Paradise, and Mediterranean Resorts is in the heart of it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Airlie Beach
Mediterranean Resort Airlie Beach
Mediterranean Resorts Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing