We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort, now there are new Managers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Boathaven Spa Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort, now there are new Managers”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Boathaven is a short stroll to the shopping centre, it has a fantastic salt water pool, spa, entertaining area with lovely views. The rooms are a good size and open up to the view, they are clean and tidy. With the new Managers the complex now has a great vide, and it is certainly in an ideal location, especially as other complex's you have to be a mountain goat. The new Managers are absolutely lovely and doing a great job of bringing Boathaven back to his glorious self - one of the best complexes in Airlie Beach and certainly having access to the local supermarkets, MacDonalds, Subway and all the restaurants on foot or you can catch a local bus for about $4 and the buses come every half hour. I am told if you stay on Hamilton Island the cheapest meal is a pizza at $48!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, however the ones on the second floor, which you can go up via the lift have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    93
    41
    24
    12
See reviews for
45
124
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room on first appearance was very acceptable except for the large flat screen TV on the bench which left little space to prepare light meals. There was no apology when booking in, but on enquiry, we were told that a new bracket for the TV was to be fitted to the wall. The view was fantastic and the proximity to shops and restaurants was great as we enjoy a moderate walk. The biggest disappointment for us was that a $5 fee was charged for fresh linen. As we were staying for 5 nights, I expected that we would get a change of bathroom linen included in the price. There wasn't anything in the advertising info relating to this, but apparently this is the case when units are serviced weekly. A sign in the kitchen stated that a charge would be applied if dishes were not washed and dried 'properly'. A 5 day old tea towel might dry the dishes, but are they hygenically clean????? The light/fan in the bathroom was so noisy that we were tempted to not use it when the light was not needed. Beware if you have dust allergies! Housekeeping needs to dust!
The two young receptionists that we dealt with were friendly and helpful, but the woman who appeared to be the owner or manager was not into customer service. We loved Airlie Beach but Boathaven was not quite what we expected.

Room Tip: Double check inclusions!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon last year. It took us three attempts at the front desk to get a corner room. The corner room was nice and the view was great. The kitchen has enough equipment for light cooking. The bed was comfortable and there is ample closet space. The bathroom was a nice size and had a washer/dryer which came in handy since this was our midway stop of a long tour of Australia. The spas on the balcony are really nice however they can be very noisy to the neighbor below you. The hotel has rules for when these can be used but in our case those weren't often followed. We complained to the front desk about it and only after two complaints did they inform us that there was a number that could be called after hours. I sort of got the feeling that we showed up during spring break time or something similar.
Location is great, short walk to Airlie, right on the bus path and a 10 minute walk to a grocery store.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrice422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in the 2bdrm penthouse which was disgusting. Tv was that old the set top box didnt even work and chanels were not clear. The dryer did not work and was full of lint from the last guests. Ants were in the 2nd bedroom. Asked for a refund 5mins of checking in and was told no so had to stay both nights. Dust was everywhere, lights did not work in bathroom and staff were not concerned at all. Would never stay here again. Also you have to clean it yourself before you leave or will be charged a cleaning fee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alanaz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B0athaven, General Manager at at Boathaven Spa Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the review. Just to respond to the points you raised in you review I would like to mention the following:
1. You had been in the unit much longer than 5 minutes when you decided to leave.
2. The main reason to leave was that the other group in your party did not show up.
3. When you requested to leave and fully get refunded we advised you of the cancellation policy and told you we could refund the 2nd night but that the first night would have to be paid for as you had already used the room and it was to late to resell to someone else.
4. That's when you called back and said you wanted to leave because we did not have an I-pod docking station. And you were advised again of the cancellation policy.
5. Then the next day you had a list of items you found wrong with your unit,
5. That same day the receptionist came up to your room and stayed and talked with you about your concerns and changed your light bulb and brought you extra linen.

We have cancellation policies in place and you are advised on the confirmation letter and it's written at reception.

I am sorry that your weekend did not turn out as planned but I do hope you enjoyed your getaway in the Whitsundays and your dinner at Fish Dvine, as it is a great restaurant.

Kind regards,
Kelli Medford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed there many times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Nice and quiet away from the hustle and bustle always had a spa on every baloney pool is great even a big spa to share with friends along with BBQ area. Great pool and reception can organise all outings. Bus stutter will pick you up for these even airport transfers. Great in room facilities for cooking washing drying etc

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiPaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the resort for 7 days. This was our first stay and was very happy with our room, very clean and had a new air conditioner installed just as we arrived. The staff were very friendly. The pool was just amazing, close walk to the shops, gym was good, great views, will defienatly be back. Price was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Very quiet, lovely outlook, great view of the sea. Quite close to town centre, simply had to walk approx 800 m. Hotel had a great pool that our son enjoyed a lot. Unfortunately, decor a little tired (90's style) shower had terrific water pressure however was broken and couldn't be adjusted. Weather was dreadful but can't blame the hotel. Over all good place to stay for the price.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#47 of 54 in Airlie Beach
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#36 of 54 in Airlie Beach
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Boathaven Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Boathaven Spa Resort

Property: at Boathaven Spa Resort
Address: 440 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — at Boathaven Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Perfect Airlie Beach Accommodation Destination! at Boathaven Spa Resort is located just 250 metres from Airlie Beach, and it is less than a 5 minute leisurely stroll to all the restaurants, cafe's, cocktail bars, shops, boutiques, markets and famous Airlie Beach Lagoon. Every room has free wifi, a balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, the Coral Sea or Boathaven Bay. All apartments are air-conditioned, have ceiling fans, full kitchens or kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. Some rooms feature romantics spa's on the balcony. The resort offers a large lagoon style swimming pool, complete with tropical waterfall. We offer a sun deck with sun loungers, BBQ area to enjoy with family or friends, complimentary parking, self service laundry facilities, foxtel movies, foxtel sports, free Wi-Fi is available. With the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and Heart Reef on your doorstep, why not book a tour with our tour desk team, we offer great local knowledge, service and we will arrange complimentary pick up and drop off at the resort to maximise your day tour experience. We look forward to welcoming you PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Boathaven Spa Resort enforces a strict NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your at Boathaven Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathaven Hotel Airlie Beach
Boathaven Resort Airlie Beach
At Boathaven Spa Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing