We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful alll round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shingley Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

On Airlie's doorstep and away from the madding crowd. Make sure you ask for a front row apartment the view of the marina is quite absorbing seeing the big cruise boats come and go.I dont know what to say to fill in yhe required number of characters. It takes so much effort just to comply with this silly requirement. Have Igot ti the right number yet if not firget it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, General Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks a great Description

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Good price, good location. Room was a good size, with a nice view of the harbour, short walk to town. Service was good, I'd stay again. Very clean with a comfortable bed. Apartment had all we needed for a couple of nights with a good size balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank You , we try and maintain a reasonable standard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

great location,beautiful ten minute walk to cannonvale shopping centre or in to airlie beach.impossible to get tired of the views from our balcony,very helpful staff.studio room more than big enough for two and great value.bed was ok ,could do with an upgrade ,but I'm fussy about my bed.would recommend shingley beach resort to any one,you don't have to pay big bucks for accommodation ,use the money you save on having a good time you are hardly ever in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, General Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank You, yes we are handy to everything and there is plenty to do

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Shingleys the second time and it was great, very clean, totally fitted out with everything. At first we booked 5 nights and than we booked 5 days more. It was quiet and very comfortable. Lovely balcony view. Undercover parking,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

First impressions last. Barbara and Nigel are friendly and helpful. They were my lifeline after a shocker of a day - delays, cancellations, changed flights, airlines somehow only reissuing my husband's tickets and not mine after they change our flights, which we didn't find out until the next check in- and I was in a panic thinking we were going to miss our booked sailing trip.
We did make it, all by the skin of our teeth though. We dropped our suitcases off with Nigel (stored for us while we were on our sailing trip). The marina turned out to be just a few minutes walk away. We were In time to go sailing on the Solway Lass. Absolutely fabulous, but that's another review.
Back to Shingley Beach Resort. We were given back our bags and the Key to our room. Now, when you book a room you never really know what you are going to get, our one bdroom suit was exactly as the add showed it. Light, spacious, neat, clean. Large bathroom/ laundry. Well equipped kitchen. We were staying for 5 days, but you could have much longer stay and be really comfortable here.
Off our 5 day stay it rained 2 of those days. We didn't hire a car and we hadn't pre booked our day trips and found out to our disappointment that trough lack of numbers (we knew it was off season) some of the trips weren't running.
Keep the Whitsunday Crocodile Safari in mind if you have a rainy day to fill. It didn't matter that it was raining. Most of the day was under cover, and they supplied us with rain ponchos. We didn't see as many big crocs as we would have on a sunny day but we had a great time.
We like walking and are used to it so we walked into Town every day and strolled back along Centenary Walk most evenings after dinner.
The best places to eat were Fish D'vine (and it was!) and Mr Bones is good any time if day. Beaches is also not bad, good value but very noisy for us.
Give Cactus Jack a BIG miss though, the food was so bad for the first time in my life I sent it back.
All in all we enjoyed our stay.
Now just a few things I have to mention:
1.The light in the bathroom is terrible, especially if you are trying to put on make up and a full length mirror would be good.
2.If you like a sleep in in the mornings ask for a room further to the back. We had a room right at the front and the garbage collection and delivery trucks was very noisy. we are early risers so all the noise a 7am was just annoying.
3.We wanted to use wireless internet. We had to register and pay for it ourselves $30 for three days.
4. We only had internet for 3 days as we needed a cable to connect my laptop. (not wireless) and when I went to reception at 3pm on a Saturday they were closed. The next morning I went down 3 times after they were supposed to be open before anyone was there.
5.Though the rooms were generally very clean there was some mould in the bathroom.
6.There was no fan in the bathroom and you couldn't open the window.
7.The towel rails were on the opposite side of the room (large room) from the shower with no were to hang them closer.
8.If you don't like walking it might be a bit of a way into town, The Coral Sea Resort looked lovely and only half (approx 10 mins) the walk into town. That said it's a beautiful walk and we like being that bit out of town.

So in the end we didn't get our marina view(it was blocked by big trees), but we got a view got a view of a pretty park and beach across the road and though there were a few minor negatives we did enjoy our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: In the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seedielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you , there is plenty of info on the area and some of the attractions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The initial welcome was fantastic, we had loads of luggage packed in the taxi, even before checking in they let the driver go to the unit and unload. When we went into the unit, WOW, clean, spacious and everything we needed! Showers, bath, washing machine and drier - 2 weeks on a yacht and time for a clean up!
Right on the beach and walking distance to the Marina, shops and Airlie Beach nightspots.
Highly recommend, will come back again!

Room Tip: Views of the beach can be masked by the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaf150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you ,we try and cater for the Bare Boat Charter Groups to make the overall experience satisfying. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Shingley Beach Resort. The apartment was very clean and spacious and totally fitted out with everything you could need. Lovely balcony view. Undercover parking close to the rooms. Excellent location at a quiet beach, central to everything but no impact from the busier areas of this town. Boardwalk right around the foreshore from the main town area through Shingley Beach and on to the shopping area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for the positive response to the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 56 in Airlie Beach
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whitsunday Reflections
Whitsunday Reflections
#14 of 56 in Airlie Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shingley Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingley Beach Resort

Address: Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shingley Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shingley Beach Resort offers a large variety of affordable accommodation overlooking the Abel Point Marina and magical Whitsunday islands. Located less than 50 metres from the waterfront, adjacent to Abel Point Marina, nestled in a natural amphitheatre of trees and parkland. Shingley Beach Resort is serene and the perfect Resort for your next Whitsunday Holiday, Function or Wedding. The resort is close enough to walk to the Main Village of Airlie Beach yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night. Shingley Beach Resort specialises in self-contained holiday apartments, which feature private balconies overlooking Shingley Beach, The Whitsunday Islands and Abel Point Marina, the hub of all the Reef and Island tours leaving almost from your doorstep. You can relax in the spacious comfort of one of the 32 self-contained holiday apartments for either a short or long stay, an ideal base to explore the Whitsunday Islands and The Great Barrier Reef. The facilities at Shingley Beach Resort include a large 18 metre lap/ diving pool, 2 small plunge pools both with poolside BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shingley Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingley Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing