We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but quite a walk from Airlie Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shingley Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is ok, but it is about a 20 minute walk from everythinG: shops, restaurants etc, at night it feels very secluded. However, it is right at the Able Point Marina, so if you are planning a trip around the islands, it is a quite good starting point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 605ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

I thought this place was really poor value for money!
It is a 20 minute walk into- fine during the day as it is a nice walk past the marina. However at night there is no lighting and feels isolated and scary! Therefore I would say this is not good for elderly people or girls without transport!
We were on holiday from the uk and Shingley beach felt like a total let down. It felt like you were staying in someone's house and not apartments/ hotel. It feels quite run down/ musty.
The accommodation was unserviceable. This ruined the holiday feel a bit for me as it was disappointing to not have beds made/ rubbish taken out etc. if you didn't clean up on departure you would be charged a cleaning fee! This was disappointing and made our check out quite stressful.
When we were there there were no bar/restaurant facilities available. There was no atmosphere to this place at all. We didn't see any other guests and we stayed there for two nights!!!
Service was poor. Unfriendly staff and not offered an early check in or much assistance.
Really do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We’re sorry you seem very disappointed in our complex and Airlie Beach in general.

The Council waterfront boardwalk is well lit at night; I ride my bike along it most evenings. We checked the records and there has not been any incident recorded on the boardwalk in the past 7 years.
We are not serviced apartments, like the majority of self contained apartment blocks on the Eastern Australian Seaboard. We can provide this service but at an extra cost to the guest.
As a senior contributor you would have checked the past review headings on Trip Advisor , more recent ones ; “ Serenity with a view”, “ Close enough for the action and far enough away for peace and quiet” , “ Good Spot” . We are located at the quiet end of town, we don’t have a Rowdy Bar or Restaurant the closet one is Sorrento’s an 8 minute leisurely walk on the Marina. A better location it seems would have been in the main street near the back packer bars and night clubs right where the action is!
We and the majority of our guests prefer some peace and quiet in the evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here enroute to a sailing trip around the Whitsundays. One of our friends found it on Wotif. It was clean, the staff friendly, and the view pretty good. The kitchen was pretty good, but we had Indian from a local takeaway that delivered that was far and above what you might expect in a place like Airlie Beach. Close to the marina, equally important, it was within walking distance of the supermarket and butchers where we got our provisions. Unless you're time-poor, don't take up the offer of charter companies to provision your boat. It's much more fun to do it yourself.

Room Tip: The rooms behind the pool have marvellous views, but be prepared for a steep walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you , some good pointers for those going bare boat chartering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

if you want well positioned accommodation at Arlie Beach, Shingley Beach is the perfect answer. The rooms are top quality - clean, modern amenities and well serviced. Two pools are on offer. The view from the rooms across the bay are a million dollars. Ten minutes walk takes you to the main yacht marina where there is a number of shops and an excellent bar/restaurant, Sorrento which offers a taste of Italy. Five minutes drive away takes you to a large local shopping centre which has everything from a major supermarket to liquor, fast food etc. Five minutes drive the other direction takes you into Airlie beach centre, a tourist hot spot.....or, oif you feel like a casual stroll, there is a board walk that stretches both ways up and down the shore line which is used by both pedestrians and cyclist alike. Its lit at night time too.

Choose Shingley Beach for your next Whitsunday holiday.......you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, General Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank You for your comments , we try to do our best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we stayed here for a 2 night stay the room was good with all the facilities you require, in a self contained unit, we had trouble with the television at night as the reception isn't the best and the television kept cutting in and out.

The room was not serviced so we used the same towels for the whole stay. and beds were not remade this isn't an issue to us but might be to others.

Make sure all dishes and fridges are left empty and garbage is removed or they will charge you a cleaning fee, not what I expected from a resort, (maybe an apartment).

The showers are water savers and we ran out of hot water pretty quickly

The views are fantastic though as mentioned by others.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views and there is free parking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cairns_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank You , like most Apartment Accommodation in Airlie beach the rooms aren't serviced . If you stay longer than 7 days there is a service provided mid stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The title says it all...just a short walk to all .Great view of marina and the ocean, clean, modern appartment. We were only there for a couple of days to shop for a sailing adventure. So wew were close to all shops and on the other hand close to the resort side of Airlie. Great place to stay and very affordable.

Room Tip: Aim for water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank You, we try and keep our rates as competitive as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I found the proprietor very helpful with an impromptu late check-in. My studio apartment was very clean with split system air-conditioning available. The facility offered 3 swimming pools. The lovely view from the room overlooked the mariner. I was only minutes walk from the Whitsunday cruises down at the mariner. There is a great bar and grill on the board walk at the other end of the mariner too called 'Sorrento's.' One thing I never gave consideration to was the night club 'Duff Duff' music and 4-5am closing time. Shingley Beach Resort was sheltered from this noise and was quite a peaceful environment. The climate was beautiful during my stay - not cold of a night, not hot during the day. If you are staying more than 2-3 days I would recommend a hire car to get around. Overall it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will offer views but to be sure ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingley, Front Office Manager at Shingley Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you , we are at the quiet end of town for those who prefer a little peace and quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 56 in Airlie Beach
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whitsunday Reflections
Whitsunday Reflections
#14 of 56 in Airlie Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shingley Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingley Beach Resort

Address: Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shingley Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shingley Beach Resort offers a large variety of affordable accommodation overlooking the Abel Point Marina and magical Whitsunday islands. Located less than 50 metres from the waterfront, adjacent to Abel Point Marina, nestled in a natural amphitheatre of trees and parkland. Shingley Beach Resort is serene and the perfect Resort for your next Whitsunday Holiday, Function or Wedding. The resort is close enough to walk to the Main Village of Airlie Beach yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night. Shingley Beach Resort specialises in self-contained holiday apartments, which feature private balconies overlooking Shingley Beach, The Whitsunday Islands and Abel Point Marina, the hub of all the Reef and Island tours leaving almost from your doorstep. You can relax in the spacious comfort of one of the 32 self-contained holiday apartments for either a short or long stay, an ideal base to explore the Whitsunday Islands and The Great Barrier Reef. The facilities at Shingley Beach Resort include a large 18 metre lap/ diving pool, 2 small plunge pools both with poolside BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shingley Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingley Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing