We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portside Whitsunday
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Airlie Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$482
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Airlie Waterfront Bed and Breakfast(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
181
33
5
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
33
5
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop jacuzzithe managersthe main streetrum barbedroom apartmentsteep hillheated poolthe penthousewouldn't stay anywhere elseperfect locationpool area is lovelythese apartmentswalking distancewasher and dryergreat apartmenta great stayvisit airlie beach
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I were on a recent trip to AU from the United States and spent 4 nights here. Even though it rained the entire time we were there, this was still are favorite part of our 18 day trip in AU. Colleen & John were wonderful to work with. They were super helpful in setting up our Airport transportation and day trip to the Reef. The accommodations were perfect. We enjoyed our walk-out deck & view & the others are correct that you are just a few seconds walk from all the Airlie Beach action. We also made a trip to get groceries & cooked in most meals which saved us lots of $ on food. The only drawback with this location is the traffic noise if you keep the doors & windows open as we did with beautiful temperatures and nice breezes.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunflowergc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Portside. So sorry you had to experience the coldest temperature in May for 22 years with us !!! We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Aus and would love to catch up with you both in the future. P.S Will definately be buying a John Deer when we purchase land :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I booked the Portside on a Wotif deal which included a Whitsunday cruise and was more than happy. The apartment on the ground floor didn't have a balcony but had a lovely private courtyard and still had a view over the Port of Airlie. The room is beautifully furnished and very large, full kitchen with oven, hotplate and dishwasher, separate laundry with washer and dryer. I had great service and assistance with booking the Whitsunday cruise, and arranging TV coverage of an AFL game I wanted to watch! The room was also right next to the heated pool and spa - and a nice touch is a free beach towel. The Portside is literally 30 seconds walk from the shops and within 5 minutes of all of the shopping precinct, the beach, the markets and the lagoon - and virtually across the road from the fantastic Fish D'Vine restaurant. I really rate this accommodation and would love to come back next time I'm in Airlie Beach. Well done!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would have a magnificent view - but I did like my little courtyard!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us ! Yes, we too understand how important certain Austar Channels are :-). We look forward to your return visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Thanks to Colleen and John. Everything was better than I expected and well deserving of the star rating.
I will be back with my family and next time we are bringing friends as well.
After visits covering 30 years I still think Airlie and its surrounds as one of Australia's best destinations. Portside just made it better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Was great meeting you and your friendly, happy, family David. A huge thank you for reminding me of the wonderful place we live in... sometimes we tend to take our surroundings so much for granted. Really looking forward to seeing you on your next visit, as soooo missing our daily banter ... still laughing at your quick wit and humour :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is the place to stay in Airlie - some of us had stayed there 9 years ago and knew the locaion and quality of the property. When our family of 19 adults and 7 children chose to get together for Easter in Airlie the decision about accommodation was easy - Portside was the unanimous choice! We booked the penthouse suite and 3 dual key apartments which were all in the same block so we could move between units easily. The penthouse has a lap pool which was perfect for the "littlies" and we easily entertained up to 35 for BBQ meals on the deck. Colleen was fantastic in helping us set up appropriate accommodation and answer questions as were were planning the weekend. It worked so well that we have decided to do it all again for Easter 2014!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Portside. Nothing makes us happier than " Happy Guests" You have a lovely family and we very much looked forward to seeing you all again for Easter 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Portside itself was everything we'd expected from 4.5 star accommodation but it was the friendly helpful service and convenient location that made this place extra special!!!
As soon as we arrived we were given a warm welcome by Colleen and informed of all the "must-see" things to do on our short weekend stay. Everything is in walking distance to Portside and with that said, there are no steep hill climbs like many other hotels in Airlie. (Handy when you've had a few drinks at the Rum Bar & a seafood feast at Fish D'Vine)
With the lagoon, local markets, cafes and restaurants right at your door, you couldn't ask for more! We stayed at Portside for our wedding anniversary in the penthouse suite & loved it! There was no "noise" to hear of or "ongoing construction" in sight which is something I read in a previous review...guess we were having way too much fun & romance to notice anything but the beautiful surrounds! - Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StaceyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Portside. It is wonderful having a lovely grass area to look over to the Coral Sea, rather than the construction site for the Port of Airlie!!! So very pleased that is all behind us. I too enjoy having the "Rum Bar, Fish D'vine and many yummy restaurants at our door step.... sometimes alittle to convenient when you live here :-) .
Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you back for many more Anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews