We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST NIGHTS SLEEP EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Bowen, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“BEST NIGHTS SLEEP EVER!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Management was friendly and welcoming :) The bed was the nicest bed i have slept in in any hotel/motel i have ever stayed in, room was lovely and cosy. Would recommend this place to everyone. :) View was amazing and the pool changes different colours and well as gives an awesome light show at night :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay Katy. It was lovely meeting you :-) I have to agree that the new king beds are amasing - we brought one for ourselves too ! We look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Airlie Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    31
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
90
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fantastic...we went for a night and stayed longer.

Colleen and John are the perfect hosts, always happy and pleased to assist you.
Nothing is to much trouble.

The apartment was the best.so clean and we had everything we needed..stunning views of Airlie Beach, great for breakfast, lunch or drinks in the evening, watching the pool change from, red to yellow to blue etc.

Great location as well, handy for shops, beach, lagoon etc.

Will defo be back !!!

So many happy memories............x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppreciationSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hello Jenny & Steve :-). Thank you so very much for your kind review . I have decided there needs to be a Guest Adviser for all our lovely guests !! Enjoyed sharing in your huge appreciation of life, hearing your daily updates on events and loved my little "surprises" felt like Xmas every day :-) . Would love to catch up with you both again . Can you please email as I don't have your email adress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birstall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My Son and his new wife are currently on honeymoon in Australia and stayed at Portside apartments, I know they have had a great stay but that's for them to add their own review. The reason for my post is to acknowledge the help and assistance freely given by Colleen and John to arrange a surprise food & champagne hamper from both sets of parents. They were more than happy to make all the arrangements on our behalf and made their honeymoon even more memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whallrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was not a problem helping out 4 very proud parents from across the other side of the world!! Having now had the pleasure of meeting Simon and Rachel I can see why you are so proud ! What a truly beautiful couple and so much fun to have around. I hope we get to catch up with them again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Portside, our apartment was beautiful, spotlessly clean, well furnished, very comfortable and a view to die for. Colleen and John are excellent hosts and went out of their way to help us book our tours etc, and thank you John, for our lift to the ferry this morning. Would highly recommend the apartments to anyone, family, couples, you will be made very welcome. The apartments are very central to the main street with plenty of eating places. The supermarket is quite expensive, to be honest, it is as cheap to eat out, highly recommend the Indian restaurant and Harry's snack bar.

Room Tip: we had a two bedroom apartment, plenty of room, on the front of the block but no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene46255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It was an absolute pleasure meeting you Marlene - you totally amase me in what you have accomplished in your life!!!! Good things really do happen to Good people :-) We wish you and your new family many wonderful times together and hope to see you again for an update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed for 3 weeks and had the time of my life-Acommadation was top-notch, Colleen and John are fantastic managers and nothing is every too much for them, fantastic hospitiality-The pool is awesome and great views over Port of Airlie-I will be back. Great place for travelling on own or with family as close to resurtants, shops, cafes and beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HunterValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello Mandy, Thank you for your lovely review!! It was wonderful to have you back at Portside and to catch up on the last 4 years... my how time flies. We do hope you will be able to return with your family next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights recently after chartering a boat for a week. They knew we would be in a bit early and when we rocked up about 11:30am our room was all ready for us, which was much appreciated. Staff were really friendly and helpful at booking and check-in. The rooms themselves are gorgeous and very well appointed, with lovely views across the Whitsunday passage. They have a full laundry with washer and dryer (not one of those pesky all-in-one thingies) and each of the bedrooms as well as the main living area has its own air conditioner. The pool area is quite large with a separate BBQ area. The apartments are very quiet but you can't fault the location right at the start of the main Airlie Beach shopping area, easy flat walk to restaurants, waterfront and lagoon areas. Highly recommended if you want to stay in Airlie in comfort.

Room Tip: There are stairs so if you have lots of luggage a lower floor is better, they all look to have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review ! So pleased you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay at Portside Jenni. It is always a pleasure meeting such nice people :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in a jacuzzi apartment for 5 nights and could not have been happier! The room was lovely and spacious, with a beautiful balcony to enjoy the view. The rooftop was the perfect spot to relax at the end of the day and the jacuzzi provided a real sense of luxury. On top of this, portside is in the perfect location - a short stroll to all bars, shops and restaurants.

As an added bonus - the team at Portside are a delight and really make you feel at home! Would highly recommend Portside to anyone travelling to Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kels1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review!!
So very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we have the pleasure of your company again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Property: Portside Whitsunday
Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing