We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want to be a hop skip and a jump away from the main street of airlie beach (with no hills to climb but still great views) then I would highly recommend this terrific resort. You are literally just a few steps away from all the main restaurants and shops. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with its own private roof top terrace with spa which is really something special (I'd highly recommend one of these apartments). You are slightly more conscious of the road traffic than places higher up on 'the hill' but this is a small price to pay for the vast majority of people for being so close to town for everything. Resort managers couldn't do enough to help me with my trip and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend.

Room Tip: Apart 11 was fab get a private rooftop spa terrace if you can !!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Portside. Yes, it is lovely being so close to the heart of Airlie Beach and I do agree - the rooftop Jacuzzi apartments are wonderful !
Was lovely meeting you both and I hope we have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Portside Whitsunday
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time! The apartment was cosy and comfortable and we splashed out and went for the rooftop spa and BBQ which was perfect. Location is great, just down the road from the main strip, overlooking the beautiful marina. Colleen was very helpful and so welcoming, she recommended some great places to eat and was full of local knowledge. The pool area was quiet and welcoming, great spot to read a book and have a dip.
We will definitly be back, hopefully for a longer stay!! Oh and there was a surprise bottle of champagne waiting for us upon arrival which we enjoyed in the spa, with the sun shining.

Room Tip: Go for the rooftop spa, beautiful view and perfect for a BBQ lunch
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us at Portside and look forward to your return visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in 3 bedroom apartment. Well appointed, clean, fabulous views and easy access to Airlie Beach. Colleen & John, the managers went out of their way to ensure we had everything and provided us with all the info we required. Despite Cyclone Ita and a power cut we were well looked after. We would not hesitate in booking to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 bedroom apartment on higher level and suited us brilliantly
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review! Was wonderful meeting you, your family and your amasing Mum - what an absolute gem. I was so pleased the weather cleared and you got to see a little of the Whitsundays. We look forward being able to assist you again - less the cyclone :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent two weeks here while working in Airlie Beach. Location on a busy road meant sleeping was difficult and not helped by noisy air conditioning and fans that didn't work on low settings. Maybe higher apartments were better??? but the apartment I was given was ground floor and looked out on a pad mounted electricity substation with a small glimpse of Port of Airlie. Security concerns meant none of the doors or window could be left open at night. Better accommodation is available in Airlie at much more reasonable prices. Do yourself a favour and check out the alternatives.

Room Tip: Look for accommodation off Airlie Beach-Shute Harbour Road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_shellQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Sorry you had such a horrific stay at Portside Greg. I did notify your employer (my friend) on the day of your arrival, when you were unhappy with not being higher up in the building- which I did explain to you at the time, was all fully booked. I suggested that she may need to find alterative accommodation, as we do not like having unhappy guests. I was assured by your employer that all was fine.... apparently not! I am also confused as to Portside being "Overpriced" as I know for a fact that the nightly rate paid, was $95.00 per night less than the other 2 quotes obtained by your employer - as we were trying to be nice and help her out. At no point did you inform us of air condition noises or fan issues, we cannot fix problems if we are unaware of them. I am at a loss regarding "Security concerns". We have security patrolling at night and there were no reports of problems. Again, we need to be informed if there are issues.
In regards to the view and substation in front of your apartment, there are images posted by Sarah Jayne Sheffield (review down page) who stayed in this same apartment recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed her for 6 nights and despite the bad weather we enjoyed ourselves. The location was great as it was not dead in the centre of Airlie beach but not too far out. We had a few tours cancelled as the weather was pretty bad but enjoyed staying indoors with the use of the rooftop jacuzzi. The bed was so comfortable, I had a great nights sleep! The free wifi came in handy. Colleen was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended, will stay again. Thanks!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bigmick91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

So pleased you found positives during your stay with us during such bad weather Mick ! It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to your return visit - when I will personally send a message up above and request the beautiful sunny weather Airlie Beach is known for :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a great three days at Portside Whitsunday's. The resort manager (Colleen) was very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. The accomodation was comfortable and the rooftop jacquizzi was bliss. The proximity to the town centre made getting around very easy. I would definentally stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwideantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your child free weekend with us at Portside. Yes, our location is nice and close to restaurants and shops. I am sorry that the air-con fan motor was loud in your lounge room, you will be pleased to know we have replaced it :-). I do hope we have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2014. We booked for a splash of luxury on our trip and we were not dissapointed.
From the moment we arrived the service by the lovely couple who work there was amazing, they were really helpful and friendly and helped with everything we wanted, including booking a trip (not in a pushy way, it was nothing to do with them they just advised a few good companies and then booked it all for us when we decided). They also advised of plenty of great places to eat and drink (definitely try one of the world's best top 10 Mohito at the Rum Bar!)
The apartment was definitely the best place we stayed in Australia. It was big, spacious, modern and classy and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and comfortable and we had a cracking view of the sea and port right from our apartment. The infinity pool is fab and changes colour at night. There is also lots of free, safe, parking. It is also very close (only a minute's walk) to the main bit of Arlie beach and another beautiful hidden, quiet and more beautiful beach, but also slightly out so it's very quiet and perfect for couples and families.
Loved it. We were sad to leave and we would love to live in that Apartment!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJayneSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

The pleasure was all ours... you guys are an awesome couple and we are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay! Would love to see you both again for a return visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
9.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 57 in Airlie Beach
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 57 in Airlie Beach
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £115 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing