We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked the penthouse - sleeps 8. Had a wonderful week and the accommodation was very clean, everything u need n great views. Very close to restaurants, shopping and cruise departures. Lots of resorts are located up a hill, but not the portside. Only negative was the lap pool not heated and a problem with the spa. Hosts colleen n John were wonderful to deal with n had lots of knowledge of info re Airlie beach. Wouldn't hesitate to stay their again or recommend to others

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review Eileen :-) It was wonderful meeting you and your fun loving friends. So very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Portside. We do have an excellent location and our main pool is heated. Will see if the owner of the Penthouse will look at heating the lap pool... but not too confident . Perhaps you could plan your next visit Nov - April when you definitely don't need heating ! Would love to welcome you and your friends back to Portside again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We moved to Portside as we had such a bad experience on our first night in Airlie staying at Boathaven Spa next door. Colleen rescued us and made us so so welcoming restoring our faith in Airlie Beach & customer service. The Apartment was huge, beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. Brilliant and i can highly recommend Portside both for comfort, convenience to town, customer service and great facilities. Pool was lovely and sunbeds great for sleeping!!!! Thanks Colleen & John :-)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Beth0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review!! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you all and thoroughly enjoyed your company. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and Rob has found some more sun loungers to snooze on LOL. Look forward to catching up again, whether it be on your side of the world or ours. Best wishes always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

These apartments are outstanding. We had a 2 bedroom with roof terrace spa and you could not have asked for a nicer or well equipped base in Airlie Beach. The mgmt team are brilliant, so nice helping us out with restaurant recommendations and organising whitsunday tours.
Location is spot on, straight 3 mins walk into centre of town and the numerous restaurants and bars as well as the local woolworths. Will love to return one day.
Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GMCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Portside as I know how much you were looking forward to your visit :-). So very sorry I didn't get the opportunity to say Good-Bye. I hope you all enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Australia and would love to welcome you and your lovely family back to Portside again in the future. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want to be a hop skip and a jump away from the main street of airlie beach (with no hills to climb but still great views) then I would highly recommend this terrific resort. You are literally just a few steps away from all the main restaurants and shops. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with its own private roof top terrace with spa which is really something special (I'd highly recommend one of these apartments). You are slightly more conscious of the road traffic than places higher up on 'the hill' but this is a small price to pay for the vast majority of people for being so close to town for everything. Resort managers couldn't do enough to help me with my trip and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend.

Room Tip: Apart 11 was fab get a private rooftop spa terrace if you can !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Portside. Yes, it is lovely being so close to the heart of Airlie Beach and I do agree - the rooftop Jacuzzi apartments are wonderful !
Was lovely meeting you both and I hope we have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time! The apartment was cosy and comfortable and we splashed out and went for the rooftop spa and BBQ which was perfect. Location is great, just down the road from the main strip, overlooking the beautiful marina. Colleen was very helpful and so welcoming, she recommended some great places to eat and was full of local knowledge. The pool area was quiet and welcoming, great spot to read a book and have a dip.
We will definitly be back, hopefully for a longer stay!! Oh and there was a surprise bottle of champagne waiting for us upon arrival which we enjoyed in the spa, with the sun shining.

Room Tip: Go for the rooftop spa, beautiful view and perfect for a BBQ lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us at Portside and look forward to your return visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in 3 bedroom apartment. Well appointed, clean, fabulous views and easy access to Airlie Beach. Colleen & John, the managers went out of their way to ensure we had everything and provided us with all the info we required. Despite Cyclone Ita and a power cut we were well looked after. We would not hesitate in booking to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 bedroom apartment on higher level and suited us brilliantly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review! Was wonderful meeting you, your family and your amasing Mum - what an absolute gem. I was so pleased the weather cleared and you got to see a little of the Whitsundays. We look forward being able to assist you again - less the cyclone :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent two weeks here while working in Airlie Beach. Location on a busy road meant sleeping was difficult and not helped by noisy air conditioning and fans that didn't work on low settings. Maybe higher apartments were better??? but the apartment I was given was ground floor and looked out on a pad mounted electricity substation with a small glimpse of Port of Airlie. Security concerns meant none of the doors or window could be left open at night. Better accommodation is available in Airlie at much more reasonable prices. Do yourself a favour and check out the alternatives.

Room Tip: Look for accommodation off Airlie Beach-Shute Harbour Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_shellQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen-16, Manager at Portside Whitsunday, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Sorry you had such a horrific stay at Portside Greg. I did notify your employer (my friend) on the day of your arrival, when you were unhappy with not being higher up in the building- which I did explain to you at the time, was all fully booked. I suggested that she may need to find alterative accommodation, as we do not like having unhappy guests. I was assured by your employer that all was fine.... apparently not! I am also confused as to Portside being "Overpriced" as I know for a fact that the nightly rate paid, was $95.00 per night less than the other 2 quotes obtained by your employer - as we were trying to be nice and help her out. At no point did you inform us of air condition noises or fan issues, we cannot fix problems if we are unaware of them. I am at a loss regarding "Security concerns". We have security patrolling at night and there were no reports of problems. Again, we need to be informed if there are issues.
In regards to the view and substation in front of your apartment, there are images posted by Sarah Jayne Sheffield (review down page) who stayed in this same apartment recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £115 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing