We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good but a couple of negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Generally good but a couple of negatives”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Nice warm reception when I checked in and accompanied to my room where I was given a brief tour.

Nicely furnished/styled room with a good bathroom and all amenties. Small kitchenette with microwave which is useful, although I had no use for it personally. Nice heated swimming pool and free parking.

They were happy for me to take a beach towel with me on my Whitsunday's cruise even though I had already checked out and trusted me to return it at the end of the day (I also left my car in their car park for the day with no problem).

Only a couple of negatives ... the apartment floors are tiled and I had the misfortune to be below a room with occupants that seemed to be rearranging furniture for about two hours, constantly dragging furniture across the floor. Rather irritating. The other downside was the refrigerator which was rather noisy and, despite the sign requesting guests not to adjust the temperature, I found I had to turn the thing off overnight otherwise I wouldn't have slept.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    31
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
67
90
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at the Portside for 5 days during July 2009 and had a lovely time. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment with a jacuzzi and BBQ on a private balcony overlooking the water and it was lovely.
The apartment decore was very tasteful and had everything for a self contained stay and is only a short walk to restaurants,tourist shops and the lagoon.
The complex was spotless, it has a great BBQ area by the pool, which our daughter lived in when we weren't out and you don't need to bring beach towels.
Management were fantastic, Colleen and her daughter are 2 of the nicest people you will meet during your stay.
Now for the downside, the stairs (great excersise) and the marina construction, neither are a fault of management.
If Portside was anywhere else I'd stay again, we just didn't enjoy Airlie. Customer service is seriously lacking in most of the shops, I thought the food would be great but it was very hit and miss, prices are a joke, it was boring and by the end I was sick of drunk backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Stayed here before and after Whitsunday cruise. First stay was in standard room which was fine, but paled into insignificance after we stayed in room with hot tub after our cruise (room no 12) This was fab, own private deck with sun loungers, hot tub and BBQ. Great location, very friendly management. Only downside was the building site which is right opposite the hotel (hence only 4 stars for location) . This was noisy from early on in the day and did mar the beautiful view of the Whitsundays - but can't blame the hotel for that.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

After researching on places to stay for our Easter break holiday at the Whitsunday Coast, we decided to stay at Portside Whitsunday - no regrets here! From the airport to the apartment and back again, everything was well taken care of by the resort managers, Colleen and John.

We were offered a bus or the limo micro bus service as part of the airport transfer. We opted for the latter and were speechless when a stretched limo picked us up from the airport. The service was very personalised and we felt like movie stars!

With 5 adults, we chose to stay in the self-contained two bedroom apartment with the rooftop jacuzzi. The apartment superseded all our expectations! The place was very clean and comfortable - we felt like we were lapped in luxury!

The apartment is located VERY close to all the shops and restaurants, and is situated at the bottom of the hill. The only downside to it was the noise that came from the road. We stayed in the apartment closest to the road so we heard any trucks and cars passing throughout the night.

Colleen and her family were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. They provided great advice on what tours we can go on and what other activities we can do to fit our interests and budget.

All-in-all, Portside Whitsunday is a great place to stay. Colleen and her family should be commended on the wonderful service and friendliness that they exhibit which made our holiday a one to remember! We will definately consider this a place to stay again should we return to the Whitsunday Coast in the future - which I think we will!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimBonWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at Portside Whitsunday for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment (Room No.8) which was goooorgeous! We had an enormous balcony with 8 seating outdoor table, sunlounges, BBQ and a covered jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. The furnishings were lovely - very modern and chic. The kitchen was beautiful and very well equipped with crockery, cutlery, cookery etc. We were ecstatic with the apartment! The resort pool is fabulous and comes with a communal BBQ area, sunlounges etc. The gardens were beautiful - we even took photos of them.

The resort is in a great location - it's virtually in the main street and on FLAT ground - no need to walk up the big hill unlike some hotels....phew!

The Resort Managers Colleen and John were simply exceptional people - extremely friendsly, in fact, an absolute delight. They couldn't do enough to help us and even drove us to the marina and to the helicopter airport. They booked our activities with pleasure - a day sail on the 85ft catamaran 'Camira' (HIGHLY recommended!) and a chopper flight to Langford Reef. They happily provided advice and tips on Airlie Beach which we used.

In summary, we LOVED Portside Whitsunday and Colleen and John made our stay an absolute pleasure - we even hugged them goodbye!

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dnswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Myself and a friend stayed at Portside Whitsunday in March 2008.
The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was beyond our expectations. The apartment was exceedingly well kept, spacious and tastefully decorated. I have stayed in quiet a few hotel/motels and these rooms were by far the cleanest.
The location was great - only being a few minutes (flat) walk to the shops & pubs.
Management were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable experience. Management had an excellent knowledge of the area and the activities available, and were able to suggest and book alternative activities for us when the weather let us down.
Overall a great experience. Will definitely go back!

  • Liked — Comfort & Style
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville North Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

After winning the "Best Hat" competition at the Burdekin Grower Race Day in 2006, my husband and I had the misfortune of staying in this establishment as part of the prize. The prize was for 3 nights in a studio room. However, we could only stay for 2 nights and the only room available was a 2 bedroom. The manager/owner did however extend the valid to date as we are on a property and could not manage a weekend away in the available time frame. BUT, we were charged an extra $75.00 for this and the 2nd bedroom was locked preventing us from using it. What the manager/owner neglected to tell us PRIOR to our booking was that this room had been extensively water damaged during the recent storms/flooding. The main bedroom had "something" that looked like mould growing on the wall behind the bed and there was a gaping hole in the ceiling on the patio. It was quite disgusting AND having to pay and EXTRA $75.00 and NOT being able to use the 2nd bedroom added insult to injury. I realise that we were given the room "for free" as part of the prize (this was also questioned upon our arrival!), but a little bit of courtesy, consideration and honesty goes a long way. No doubt the rest of the rooms were quite nice, I just didn't like the way we were treated nor our particular room! My husband actually took photos of the damage and sent them to our travel agent who is a personal friend.

  • Liked — NOTHING!!!
  • Disliked — The room suffered extensive water damage in the bedroom and in the balcony ceiling.
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amyoz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
9.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 54 in Airlie Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Property: Portside Whitsunday
Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing