We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - in need of maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
“Overpriced - in need of maintenance”
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I stayed at Portside Whitsunday's in a 2 bedroom Jacuzzi apartment with friends in December for 5 nights.

When we arrived, Colleen was very friendly and showed us to our apartment. I was impressed by the size of the apartment but we were disappointed by the level of comfort from most of the furniture.

I was disappointed of the views from our small balcony (supposed wide) since the hotels website boasted views of the coral sea and Whitsunday Islands. The website images show uninterrupted ocean views which was far from reality. From our apartment we could see the Esplanade roundabout and a construction site.

Since we requested an apartment with a Jacuzzi I thought we might get better views from the rooftop but no such luck - in real estate terms I would barely call them glimpses.

Our "private" roof-top balcony/garden area was a good size and had 2 sun lounges and outdoor table setting however only the Jacuzzi was sheltered and being the middle of summer this space was too hot to use the during the day.

In addition to the shade issue, our so called "private" roof-top was on display to all the apartments above ours so we didn’t feel comfortable using the space with people watching us from the balcony's above.

Our balcony was also minus a BBQ which was meant to be a standard inclusion with these rooms.

Location wise, Portside Whitsundays is walking distance to restaurants, nightlife, Airlie esplanade. Driving into the resort is difficult because the driveway is right on the roundabout, therefore you have to keep driving past and eventually u-turn back. You don’t really need your car though because most organised tours/cruises will pick you up and everything is walking distance. Please note that parking at the hotel is not secure although the website states it is.

Our clothes dryer was in urgent need of a service or attention and the air conditioner in the lounge was leaking (very dangerous on tiled floors)

Another negative is reception house... because we went on tours every day, we were unable to contact management regarding any issues we had i.e. missing BBQ, air con, dryer etc because reception wasn’t open when we were leaving in the morning or returning in the afternoon.

Overall the apartment was nice and in a great location however, for the room rate we expected more and thought there was a lot of maintenance required for the apartment. In terms of overall quality and standards, we felt the website was misleading our expectations of the apartment were not met especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellecbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    31
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
67
92
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Had an amazing stay at Portside, Colleen, John and Sarah are absolutely lovely. My sister's boyfriend wanted to propose to her while in Airlie Beach and Colleen was a great help in setting something up. Rooms are gorgeous, lots of space and very comfortable. Location is great, everything is in walking distance and there is nothing they won't help you with. Pool area is lovely and kids are more than welcome our two boys loved it! Would recommend this place to everyone...I will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed here for 10 nights in a one bed apartment with jacuzzi.
From the website the apartment look to be very trendy and comfortable, when in fact it was more just functional and in need of updating.
On arrival the cuttlery and plates were dirty and we couldn't open the dishwasher because it was as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages. We washed up by hand. We thoroughly washed thorugh the dishes so we could use the kitchen but some of the utensils needed replacing and they should have been cleaned and checked prior to our arrival. It was also very dusty on the laundry door which should have been spotted by cleaners.
The comfort level of the room was quite low, with an uncomfortable sofabed and no cushions, making it feel more functional than relaxing.
Nice outdoor patio with table and chairs.
The main problem apart from the comfort and cleanliness upon arrival was the upstairs terrace. It was our expectation that the hot tub would be accessible from the room, when infact we had to lock up and go up to the next level to go to the patio which was unexpected. It was also very plain up there with just a table and chairs, two sunloungers and a hottub which seemed in need of some maintenance (although we did enjoy it a lot).
For the money, we expected more and think there is a lot of maintaning needed for the apartment - we felt we hadn't really got our money's worth in terms of quality.
However, any problems we reported were quickly resolved by Colleen who was helpful and friendly and was a great host.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland in London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

What a great place. We arrived quite early about 10 o clock, we had phoned ahead to let them know this would be the case and following a very warm welcome from Colleen we were given pool towels so we could have a dip while our apartment was prepared. I had seen pictures of the accommodation but usually places take pictures of their nicest rooms etc so we weren't sure what to expect.

The apartment was beautiful, very nicely furnished with a full laundry and dishwasher, even though it was only a 1 bed. Spacious and spotlessly clean, it still managed to feel like a home away from home. Location wise the complex is excellent. It is right in Airlie Beach so you are very close to everything (5 mins walk max to the lagoon) but its at the end of the main street so you are away from the noise at night time. And you dont have to climb the infamous hill!

The family who run the complex were lovely, really accommodating and warm. We found them really helpful when it came to booking a tour in the area. My only regret was that we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed seven days in a three bedroom apartment plus spa and a one bedroom apartment for total of eight people. Everyone enjoyed the experience immensely - very nice rooms, so close to the main shops and the most friendly staff we have ever found in our travels

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalWanderer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toowoomba
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Myself and 3 mates stayed in a 3 bedroom jacuzzi suite for around a week, and we were all very impressed! We arrived after reception had closed, and had pre-arranged to pickup keys from the key safe. Once we arrived, the keys were found in the safe along with maps and brochures of airlie telling us most of the things to do and see around there.

Reception staff, John & Colleen (and their daughter - can't remember her name) were VERY friendly. They could not have done a better job. Our tours and cruises were all happily & easily booked through reception. They also had many suggestions with things to do and see around the whitsundays - which was a very big help with so many options on the whitsundays and not knowing which ones to do!

Our 3 bedroom jacuzzi suite was of reasonable size. Was furnished quite well, and beds (double and single) were comfy (unlike many flash hotels i've stayed at). Our room had the largest verandah's of them all (asides from the penthouse on top), which we spent most of our time in. Definitely worth the extra money for the jacuzzi suite over the normal 3 bedroom due to the extra outdoor area! BBQ was also quite handy to have. Room was fully self contained as well, although we only used the microwave.

The apartments do have a lift, although it's VERY slow. Far quicker to just walk up the stairs (2 small flights of stairs to our level).

Of a morning, white cockatoo's flew onto your balcony's. People were feeding them from the balcony's, although management discourage this. Was really amazing though just how close you could get to them and how tame they were!

The apartments had a very nice pool & spa as well, with the water trickling off the edge. Looked amazing at night!

In my opinion, the resort was in the best location of all the accommodation at airlie. We all went to airlie for a party week, and it was only a 2 minute walk to the clubs down the main street (evolution and mama africa's were the best clubs there in our opinions). Most the other resorts are located on huge hills and further away from the main street. Only other accommodation within close proximity to the main street is the airlie beach hotel. The only downside to the location is the worksite going on across the road - spoils the view a little but it's still pretty good with that aside! Noise from the main street couldn't be heard at night so there's no need to worry about being kept up by drunks.

If you're coming to Airlie for the nightlife and are from somewhere like Brisbane, you may be a little disappointed, but for a small town it was still pretty good! Goes off every single night without a problem!

Room could of done with a small stereo. We ended up burning a dvd with songs and played it through the dvd player/tv so it worked out well in the end.

Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Airlie! Top notch service with top notch accommodation! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrx_sti_ftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Nice warm reception when I checked in and accompanied to my room where I was given a brief tour.

Nicely furnished/styled room with a good bathroom and all amenties. Small kitchenette with microwave which is useful, although I had no use for it personally. Nice heated swimming pool and free parking.

They were happy for me to take a beach towel with me on my Whitsunday's cruise even though I had already checked out and trusted me to return it at the end of the day (I also left my car in their car park for the day with no problem).

Only a couple of negatives ... the apartment floors are tiled and I had the misfortune to be below a room with occupants that seemed to be rearranging furniture for about two hours, constantly dragging furniture across the floor. Rather irritating. The other downside was the refrigerator which was rather noisy and, despite the sign requesting guests not to adjust the temperature, I found I had to turn the thing off overnight otherwise I wouldn't have slept.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
9.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
262 reviews
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 54 in Airlie Beach
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Property: Portside Whitsunday
Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing