We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portside Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed at Portside for a second time in 3 years. Now different owners , not as pleasant as the other owners. Rooms are in need of a good spring clean,you just need to look under the beds to see they have never been moved,and the cultery draws and plates where dirty.Views are terrible with construction over the road. Although this is a good location for Airlie beach I found Portside to be a huge dissappointment. When I stayed 3 yrs ago it was classed as number 1 resort,now its number 16, just shows you how far this resort has dropped its class.I will not stay here again for the third time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneSolowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

I recently stayed at Portside Whitsunday for 3 nights. As an ex-resident of the Whitsundays I knew the location was perfect, with no hills to climb and easy access to everything in the main street of Airlie Beach. I was however completely blown away by the 2 bedroom apartment and the high quality I was presented with. Upon check-in, I enquired if a room other than the Studio I originally booked was available, and the amazing Colleen made sure I was well looked after! My apartment was fantastic, extremely spacious, and with a full sized kitchen, lounge and dining area, it was easy to feel at home. The bedrooms were ideal, with individual airconditioning units for those tropical nights. The addition of plantation shutters in the main bedroom allowed for a relaxed sleep in without interruption from the sunrise. There is excellent carparking facilities and lift access for those who aren't into stairs. I have stayed in a number of places in Airlie Beach and glad I no longer need to consider anywhere else - for me there is no question, Portside Whitsunday is my first choice for accommodation in Airlie Beach. Do yourself a favour and check it out, the rooms will surprise you, and the customer service is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellymac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I stayed at Portside Whitsunday's in a 2 bedroom Jacuzzi apartment with friends in December for 5 nights.

When we arrived, Colleen was very friendly and showed us to our apartment. I was impressed by the size of the apartment but we were disappointed by the level of comfort from most of the furniture.

I was disappointed of the views from our small balcony (supposed wide) since the hotels website boasted views of the coral sea and Whitsunday Islands. The website images show uninterrupted ocean views which was far from reality. From our apartment we could see the Esplanade roundabout and a construction site.

Since we requested an apartment with a Jacuzzi I thought we might get better views from the rooftop but no such luck - in real estate terms I would barely call them glimpses.

Our "private" roof-top balcony/garden area was a good size and had 2 sun lounges and outdoor table setting however only the Jacuzzi was sheltered and being the middle of summer this space was too hot to use the during the day.

In addition to the shade issue, our so called "private" roof-top was on display to all the apartments above ours so we didn’t feel comfortable using the space with people watching us from the balcony's above.

Our balcony was also minus a BBQ which was meant to be a standard inclusion with these rooms.

Location wise, Portside Whitsundays is walking distance to restaurants, nightlife, Airlie esplanade. Driving into the resort is difficult because the driveway is right on the roundabout, therefore you have to keep driving past and eventually u-turn back. You don’t really need your car though because most organised tours/cruises will pick you up and everything is walking distance. Please note that parking at the hotel is not secure although the website states it is.

Our clothes dryer was in urgent need of a service or attention and the air conditioner in the lounge was leaking (very dangerous on tiled floors)

Another negative is reception house... because we went on tours every day, we were unable to contact management regarding any issues we had i.e. missing BBQ, air con, dryer etc because reception wasn’t open when we were leaving in the morning or returning in the afternoon.

Overall the apartment was nice and in a great location however, for the room rate we expected more and thought there was a lot of maintenance required for the apartment. In terms of overall quality and standards, we felt the website was misleading our expectations of the apartment were not met especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellecbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Had an amazing stay at Portside, Colleen, John and Sarah are absolutely lovely. My sister's boyfriend wanted to propose to her while in Airlie Beach and Colleen was a great help in setting something up. Rooms are gorgeous, lots of space and very comfortable. Location is great, everything is in walking distance and there is nothing they won't help you with. Pool area is lovely and kids are more than welcome our two boys loved it! Would recommend this place to everyone...I will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed here for 10 nights in a one bed apartment with jacuzzi.
From the website the apartment look to be very trendy and comfortable, when in fact it was more just functional and in need of updating.
On arrival the cuttlery and plates were dirty and we couldn't open the dishwasher because it was as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages. We washed up by hand. We thoroughly washed thorugh the dishes so we could use the kitchen but some of the utensils needed replacing and they should have been cleaned and checked prior to our arrival. It was also very dusty on the laundry door which should have been spotted by cleaners.
The comfort level of the room was quite low, with an uncomfortable sofabed and no cushions, making it feel more functional than relaxing.
Nice outdoor patio with table and chairs.
The main problem apart from the comfort and cleanliness upon arrival was the upstairs terrace. It was our expectation that the hot tub would be accessible from the room, when infact we had to lock up and go up to the next level to go to the patio which was unexpected. It was also very plain up there with just a table and chairs, two sunloungers and a hottub which seemed in need of some maintenance (although we did enjoy it a lot).
For the money, we expected more and think there is a lot of maintaning needed for the apartment - we felt we hadn't really got our money's worth in terms of quality.
However, any problems we reported were quickly resolved by Colleen who was helpful and friendly and was a great host.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

What a great place. We arrived quite early about 10 o clock, we had phoned ahead to let them know this would be the case and following a very warm welcome from Colleen we were given pool towels so we could have a dip while our apartment was prepared. I had seen pictures of the accommodation but usually places take pictures of their nicest rooms etc so we weren't sure what to expect.

The apartment was beautiful, very nicely furnished with a full laundry and dishwasher, even though it was only a 1 bed. Spacious and spotlessly clean, it still managed to feel like a home away from home. Location wise the complex is excellent. It is right in Airlie Beach so you are very close to everything (5 mins walk max to the lagoon) but its at the end of the main street so you are away from the noise at night time. And you dont have to climb the infamous hill!

The family who run the complex were lovely, really accommodating and warm. We found them really helpful when it came to booking a tour in the area. My only regret was that we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed seven days in a three bedroom apartment plus spa and a one bedroom apartment for total of eight people. Everyone enjoyed the experience immensely - very nice rooms, so close to the main shops and the most friendly staff we have ever found in our travels

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalWanderer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Whitsunday

Address: 406 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £113 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Whitsunday 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Whitsunday is situated across from the New 5 star Port of Airlie Beach Marina site and consists of 1, 2, 3 & 4 bedroom and penthouse apartments. All Master bedrooms have LCD tvs. Private Jacuzzi apartments on request. Experience ultimate 4.5* Luxury and relaxation from your spacious balcony with views over the Port of Airlie, out to the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Only 100m level stroll to beach, shops & restaurants Onsite facilities include Heated Pool,BBQ facilities, Tour Desk, free wifi & free undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing