We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location”
Review of Airlie Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airlie Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good central location”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nice hotel, but nothing amazing. Lots of construction work going on so access was limited and couldn't use the pool (we had no time to anyway). We received discount vouchers for dinner and free breakfast vouchers which was very generous. Room was clean, bathroom was large and we had a lovely balcony with views over the sea. Felt a little dated but had everything you might need including free wifi. Bed was really comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarenceAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    186
    67
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
217
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The main street of Airlie Beach and the hotel were both under construction. We got a stand-by rate for our room. The room was big and clean. The construction noise didn't bother us, and walking to the lagoon to swim wasn't inconvenient. As the hotel is in the centre of town it was an easy place to stay. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Pretty good hotel, wouldnt want to stay here too long though. The rooms were good and location but the shampoo and conditioner was really bad... Fix that.

Worst thing was the roadworks, a real pain.

The service was pretty good I guess, the ladies were nice and friendly. Each floor really needs an ice machine!! And the rooms need more conveniently located powerpoints, I had to reach and unplug the lamp just to charge my phone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zogalog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a long day driving and was getting tired. We saw a sign to Airlie Beach and decided to turn off and spend the night at Airlie Beach. When we drove into this beachside town it looked like a construction site. All down the main street and some side streets was temporary fencing and lots of sign and places where you could walk and could not walk. We saw a sign for the Airlie Beach Hotel, pulled over and ducked in to see if they had a room for the night. Which they did and due to the construction work that was going on we received a discount on our stay. The girl at reception explained to us that they were trying to get the town fixed up and ready for the next summer season. We had a very nice stay, friendly check in, clean room and we had a good night sleep. I would like to come back when the work on the town is finished and get a sea view room.

Room Tip: Get a room with the sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Even in the centre of Airlie Beach, no big noise disturbed my nights.
Very friendly, helpful and supporting staff and just around the corner quite a few restaurants ranging form simple snacks to full course dinner. It's a perfect place to stay if you wanna go for a sailing or boat tour to the Whitsundays Islands or simply relax on the sandy beaches by the sea.

Room Tip: Select a room with bay view. It's gonna be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny2596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoje, South Korea
Level Contributor
318 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in an executive king room on the top floor, with a beautiful view on the Coral Sea. The hotel is in the centre of town and there are some good restaurants located under the hotel. There's some noise from the restaurants and traffic in front of the rooms, but you can expect this if you're in the centre of Airlie Beach.
The room itself was quite nice, but the bathroom definitely needs an update. It could use a good clean too. There was so much calcium on the showerhead, showerscreen and tiles, it was obvious it hasn't been cleaned properly for a long while. For a room in this price range this is not acceptable!
During our stay at this hotel, the staff wasn't very friendly. They didn't even greet us while we walked past the reception in the morning, although there weren't any other customers. They were so busy talking with each other that they didn't even respond to the goodmorning I was wishing them!? This was awkward. When we checked out I was in my wedding dress, about to get married, and again no friendly face, goodmorning or wishing us a nice day. A hospitality course seems in place here!
Because they're renovating the pool the hotel gave us a free breakfast at Mangrove Jacks restaurant, which was a really nice gesture.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

WiFi: Hotel claims to have WiFi, but signal is so weak as to be useless.
Staff: We came down for breakfast at 9am to find an almost empty restaurant offering little to eat but cake that was unrefrigerated and at least a day old. We ordered coffee and water; the waitress advised us to pick up some pastries from the bakery next door. We followed her advice, returned to the restaurant and sat down with our coffees and pastries. But within seconds, a large waiter approached us and ordered us to leave in a very aggressive tone, stating “you don't eat a burger from Burger King at McDonald's.” We explained that we had followed the advice of his colleague, and that his restaurant did not offer any similar product, but this angered him to the point that we decided to leave for our own safety, abandoning the coffees that we had already paid for.
Summary: Don't stay here. Instead, stay at a hotel that has WiFi, breakfast and friendly, intelligent staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kram1417, General Manager at Airlie Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
The Airlie Beach Hotel welcomes constructive criticism as a means of improving our services to guests. However some critical comments deserve a response in order to present a balanced overview of situations which may be misrepresented by one side.
Most hotels will suffer problems with equipment, machinery, electronics, computers, telephones, air conditioning, wifi etc. at some point in time which is not necessarily the fault of the hotel, and which in turn will affect guests and staff. We try to resolve these issues as quickly as possible with the least amount of inconvenience to our guests, however there are times when the resolution is outside our control, fow which we sincerely apologise.
The hotel does pride itself in the selection and training of our staff to an extremely high standard.
What we can't control is the behaviour and attitude of some people who attend the venue who take it upon themselves to be rude, aggressive and behave in an unacceptable manner towards staff and other patrons. It is extremely inappropriate to call a staff member "intellectually challenged" because they try to be helpful and suggest a possible alternative for your preferred choice of food.
The Swiss gentleman who reviewd the hotel on 7th May, damming the breakfast selection and berating the staff to the point of libel, failed to include in his critique his swearing abuse at our staff, the fact that he insisted on consuming food from another venue in our restaurant and ignored requests for him to vacate the premises. All of this can of course be backed up by CCTV footage.
I would also like to categorically deny the implication that we serve day old unrefrigerated cakes
(we have computer controlled cabinets which monitor temperatures 24 hours a day), hire thuggish intimidating staff and don't offer a full comprehensive breakfast.
Sometimes we just have to stand up for ourselves to maintain credibility and defend our employees.
The Airlie Beach Hotel offers quality accommodation, restaurants and retail outlets in the heart of Airlie Beach and is well known for its attention to service and the guest's experience.
Mark Bell. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach Hotel

Property: Airlie Beach Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlie Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airlie Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Hotel Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing