We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average experience marred by some rude staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of at Water's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An average experience marred by some rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment on the ground floor. Apartment 4.

Pros:
The 3 pools and 1 Jacuzzi are pretty and nice for taking pictures, however they are a bit small and if its swimming you are after, its better if you head to the Airlie beach lagoon. The lower pool is heated which is great at night:)

Super comfy beds and pillows (coming from a picky sleeper!)

The restaurant is lovely with great service and good food.

Good location: a short (steep) slope will lead you into the main town.

Cons:
According to their website: "Water's Edge resort comprises of 49, one, two and three bedroom self contained Apartments all with modern furnishings, Balinese decor and uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands from your own private balcony." The views were disappointing from our apartment as it was hugely interrupted by the tall trees in front of our balcony. We could only catch a glimpse of the sea through those leaves.

Our en suite bathroom was missing a bottle of body wash. Minor issue, but for resort that claims to be a 4.5 star holiday experience, it shows lack of attention to detail on housekeeping side.

On the last day we wanted to check out at 745am as we were in a rush to have breakfast and return for our shuttle bus which was at 855am. The reception sign clearly stated that reception hours were from 730am - 730pm. However, there was no one at the reception when we went down at 745am and a worker had to help us call for reception. It was almost 8.10am by the time a guy appeared at reception and there was NO apologies with regards to being late hence causing inconvenience to us. NO good morning, NO sorry for the inconvenience.
My friend then used her card to pay for our accommodation and her card was declined as she accidentally keyed in the wrong pin. She wanted to try again as there was absolutely no issues with the card (we tried it again later at the breakfast place), but the receptionist was rude and told her that she cannot try again since it was declined. It was fortunate that we had enough money on another card that we then used to pay.

For a 4.5 star resort, it is appalling that there is not proper luggage room/space that is under proper supervision. Instead, guests are advised to place their luggage under the staircase in the main lobby. Not an issue for us as we did not have anything valuable and little belongings, but it could have posed a problem to travellers who feel uneasy about leaving their belongings in such an open view.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayymine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    186
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
178
229
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This resort does a LOT of weddings so if you are after a relaxing day/night don't stay here. Day of arrival... there was a wedding on the pool area just below us which was cool although you didn't have access to the pools for the day (management insist 2 pools are available all the time but we were not prepared to push past wedding guests and jump in the pool only metres from where they are standing/ sitting). Then they were doing the reception and after party by the pool also which meant LOUD amplified music until 10pm (no good for us with small kids who wouldn't go to sleep til well after 10 due to the noise) and then the guests stayed on to get drunker until midnight. Management said to call the restaurant (which is independently run) to complain if noise got out of hand but nothing was done. They did another wedding on our third day- this time amplified music stopped at 5pm.. thankfully. However the restaurant opens every night of the week and all there tables and chairs are out beside the pool so every night after 5 to 6pm you have all the restaurant guests sitting only metres for the edge of the pool area while you are swimmimg. Very strange. The rooms are nice although starting to age and the infinity pool is great....such a shame for the place that they are ruining the guest experience with all this extra carry on.

Room Tip: Find out if they are planning any weddings with after parties if you want to get to sleep before mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife & I stayed here with friends a couple of weeks ago & the apartment unit was really spacious & had all the conveniences needed to make our stay comfortable. The view from the balcony & the pool area was terrific! Didn't get a chance to try their restaurant but to dine there we would suggest to get a table close to the pool area as the inner table tend to be a busy thoroughfare for guests going to & leaving their rooms (like us). There were some really friend cockatoos that visited out balcony, too bad we weren't allowed to feed them.
The resort is a steep 100meter climb but once you've gone down the street you hit the main road where there are heaps of shops & food outlets. Short stroll to the water as well! Truly enjoyed our stay & will definitely stay at Waters Edge on our next Whitsundays holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have stunning ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We only spent a night but the room was nice and had everything you need. The view was absolutely amazing. Best part was the location though. Best location in Airlie you just walked down the hill and you were in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

With the short weekend getaway, I loved it so relaxing and layed back. I would go back again anyday

Room Tip: Level 4, you can see everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel79_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My family stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment and found it to be very comfortable with pretty much everything you need. A great location only a couple of minutes walk to the main street. Didn't want to leave, will definately be back!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlygl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We spent 4 days here on a trip up from Sydney with our son.We had a sea view 2 bed apartment with a jacuzzi and everything about it is stunning. The location is central although the 100 yard severe uphill to the property might deter the more infirm. The staff were friendly and all in all its a top resort at a reasonable price
Would strongly reccommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Property: at Water's Edge Resort
Address: 4 Golden Orchid Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing