We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value off season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Good location very close to the main street and uninterrupted views to the ocean. Restaurant downstairs is run independently and is worth a visit. The rooms are a little dated, but clean, spacious and good value. Would visit again.

Room Tip: High floor ocean view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

While everything presented well (we stayed in a 2 bedroom apt) our experience left us thinking this Property is ideal if you can handle poorly soundproofed ceilings and young part goers everywhere. As a family with young kids we'll stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Expect a noisy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanandSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We found Waters Edge Resort met all our expectations. The rooms were roomy, clean and well appointed and the view from our apartment was magnificent. There are 3 pools and a separate spa which, along with the grounds are beautifully maintained. Being only a block from the main street was very convenient especially if eating out. We also dined at the Deja Vu Restaurant at the resort which, although a little expensive, had both excellent food and service. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We would definitely recommend this place for a holiday.

Room Tip: Third floor above the pool was a great spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A very nice place to stay. Large, well-appointed holiday apartment. I have also stayed at Shigley Beach Resort, where Nigel is a nice guy and thoughtful manager, but the facilities are not nearly as nice as in Waters Edge.

Multiple infinity pools, with views of the Whitsunday Islands from in the pools, were great.

You gotta pay for the WiFi, and the WiFi system did not work properly for me. Jeff refunded my WiFi fee, tho.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct connection from the balcony to a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertsiegel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Well I'd like to say that we stayed at this apartments but all I can say is that due to an unfortunate coincidence of the two apartments having the same name, I accidentally booked 6 nights at Water's Edge Resort in the Whitsundays instead of Cairns where I had booked our flights. On realising my mistake 9 days prior to the booking I rang and spoke to the manager, Jeff Aquilina, who without any sympathy told me outright that they would be not refunding any of the 6 nights of accommodation which was $1700. Now I can understand a 'no cancellations' policy but I think this should be capped at a certain amount as this is very unfair and a steep price to pay for a simple mistake (as opposed to just changing one's mind). Regardless, Jeff was incredibly rude telling me I should change my flights (and car hire, baby equipment hire, day trip plans - with me being pregnant and a toddler in tow) to come to the Whitsundays - obviously he doesn't have children as one cannot just change plans so easily! He also made some quite snide remarks when my husband was talking to him saying that "your wife doesn't read her emails properly" and when my husband said that it would be a possibility that he may have organised a business conference in the Whitsundays and may have stayed at the resort sarcastically said "OK, we'll wait for the business you MIGHT bring". Wow!
When we rang Water's Edge apartments in Cairns (completely non affiliated with Water's Edge in Whitsundays, they could not believe the stubbornness of Mr Aquilina and immediately put me onto their counterpart Vue Apartments in Trinity Beach (as they were already booked out) and because of what had happened the lovely Kim the manager there immediately gave us a discount from $380 to $200/night for a gorgeous 2 bedroom apartment with a view for 6 nights. Now that, Mr Aquilina, is how you do business. We most certainly will be going back to them in the future and will be telling all of our friends about the fantastic service and accommodating hospitality we received elsewhere; and of the single minded disdain for compassion that you showed us. I realise that you're probably perfect and have never made a single honest mistake in your lifetime but you know, karma can be a [---].

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
41  Thank ashby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Waters Edge. The resort has recently been repainted and looks great. The 3 pools are lovely and the view is amazing. It's just a short walk to the Main Street and even though the kitchen and bathroom are a little dated the room was very spacious and well decorated. We had a sun lounger and table setting on our balcony which was the perfect place for an afternoon beer. The only negatives were the gym was very basic and half the equipment was broken although we did see a repairman in there on our last night. There was maintenance being done to the pool huts and whilst I understand this is necessary what I found really annoying was being woken at 6.30am by the use of nail guns. Surely some consideration could have been given to guests who are on holidays and might want a sleep in?! The restaurant is also shut half the week and there is a lack of care to what that looks like on off days. This would be fine but it includes the surrounds of the main pool with chairs stacked and tables stashed haphazardly which took away from the lovely pool area. There were also no sunlounges around the main pool as preference seems to be given to the restaurant. All of this I was happy to forgive as the room and views made up for it but on checkout we were unable to leave our car parked safely for a few hours whilst we did our last tour. Despite advising we would be back by 3pm the hotel owner refused to let us park on the premises or even use the guest parking for that day which we found rather displeasing given we had spent 5 days there. Even if the resort was fully booked checkin doesn't open until 2pm and many guests fly in and don't have vehicles. Surely they could have let us use guest parking? Nope we were told curtly and directed to the street. A little bit of customer service goes a long way but according to some local business owners we vented to this is pretty usual of the owner! Despite all that it really was lovely. The resort could just do with a little refining and step up service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emm_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We found this a convenient, clean & pleasant place to spend 5 nights recently. It was handy to the shops & bars, a short walk to the beach, and there was parking available underneath. We loved sitting on the balcony watching the view, very relaxing. The choice of pools was good. The only negative comment would be that because diners sit right by one of the pools in the evening, one did not wish to disturb their meal, however, there were other pools to choose from, so not really a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#42 of 56 in Airlie Beach
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#49 of 56 in Airlie Beach
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#32 of 56 in Airlie Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £122 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing