We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the weddings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were told on arrival (not prior) that there was a wedding on that day but we were not moved to another area of the hotel because we had a great view from our room - we certainly did have that. However most of the pool area was closed for a few hours and there was quite a bit of noise from the wedding party. We then had a few days during the week without wedding guests but with noise from the street works and construction of a supermarket directly opposite from 7 am till 6 pm! This made it a bit unpleasant sitting out on the balcony. The following Friday another wedding party arrived in preparation for a wedding the following day so again a lot of noise around the pool area. The location was great, relatively easy walking up from the shops and lagoon, wouldn't want to walk any further up the very steep hill. The Deja Vu restaurant was fabulous - excellent food, stunning setting, great service and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Check if there is a wedding on. Ask for a room with direct access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean, large balcony, however no comfy seating, HARD wooden chairs, you are there to enjoy the beautiful view could make it more comfortable for guests. Our visit was ruined by a Wedding taking place on the Saturday, the pool area on the Friday was taken over by wedding guests and the facilities CLOSED to other paying guests on the Saturday, I have no grip against the wedding party, however, it was obviously noisy with the music and chatter that carries - If you want to be a function centre you should have a function area that does not encrouch on other guests, the lift 'broke down' Saturday evening, and the noise of wedding guest using the stair well and fire doors into the early hours of the morning, meant very little sleep for anyone else, the lift still out of order when we left on the Tuesday. Would I return - probably not, Would I recommend to relatives and friends - no, I do not think so - I would suggest anyone contemplating staying at Waters Edge contact the resort prior to your visit and make sure there is not funtion taking place.

Room Tip: If you are not very 'fit' you may find the steep walk up from Airlie Beach centre and little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waters-Edge-Resort, General Manager at at Water's Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Anne F,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay.

From time to time we do have small boutique weddings at the Deja Vu Restaurant, I am sorry on this occasion you felt the wedding guests intruded on your stay, this is certainly not our intention.

Waters Edge Resort enjoys numerous on site facilities including three swimming pools (two being infinity pools) and an outdoor heated Jacuzzi, we also offer Déjà Vu Restaurant for in house dining lunch and dinner, we also offer room service lunch and dinner. During our boutique weddings we do not close facilities to in house guests, one of the three swimming pools we kindly ask guests if they wouldn’t mind utilising another swimming pool during the ceremony, poolside sun lounges, tables and chairs are always available, I have discussed your feedback with the restaurateurs at Déjà vu, they will reiterate with their team the absolute importance not to disrupt in house guests staying at the resort.

Regretfully we did experience a power surge Saturday evening which resulted in a relay being damaged in our lift, with a part not readily available, one of the challenges of living in a remote location. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I am pleased you found the rooms spacious and clean, and enjoyed the breathtaking view from your large balcony, indeed the view of the Whitsundays is incredible.

I am sorry you would not return to the hotel or recommend us to your family and friends, we certainly value word of mouth referrals, if at any stage you would like to return we would be delighted to welcome you back, please contact me so I can personally attend to any future booking.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

a great experience. texts messages prior to check in with weather and info. requested early check in and was available at 11am. gotta like a hotel that only takes $1 for a deposit! room was very spacious and clean, with all the comforts of home. Awesome views of Airlie and the whitsundays. def will return!

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waters-Edge-Resort, Manager at at Water's Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear 808surf,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I have shared your feedback with our entire team, we are always very grateful for feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge Resort in the future.

PS : If you love coffee, we now offer Nespresso Coffee Machines at Waters Edge Resort.

Kind regards

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband recently took me here for my birthday as a surprise & booked 2 nights in the one bedroom apartment with the jacuzzi on the balcony it was awesome,we spent a relaxing weekend here...
The apartment was quite large & had everything we needed & was within a few minutes walking distance to the main st of airlie....
The apartment was probably due for a bit of a makeover with a new paint job needed & there was water damage to the doors to the bathroom otherwise the room was very comfortable & clean...
The only minor issue we really had was the jacuzzi wouldn't turn off & then the next day it wouldn't heat,reception was helpful in turning it off however the heat didn't get fixed before we left which was a little disappointing as there was miscommunication with the maintenance man,although this didn't stop us from enjoying our weekend...
We would definitely return here the next time we are in airlie beach!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank natkat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here and other thsn Mrs Grumpy pants at reception the place was perfect. Big rooms, great living area, big balcony with ocean view. Flat screen tv with loads of channels, kitchen with oven, hob, fridge & freezer, dishwasher, washing machine & tumble drier.
Location was perfect, just a two minutwe walk from the centre of town, nice infinity edge pool at hotel plus a good hot tub, and the outdoor BBQ area on floor 3 was superb.
Would DEFINATELY go back. Dont bother booking trips at reception as its all too much trouble for them, there are plenty of places in town to book trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wbdodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I were up for a good friends wedding for the weekend and decided to stay at Waters Edge Resort based on a few of my work mates staying there .
I found the Resort Staff to be very friendly and the room was outstanding for the money and the view from our room was just awesome .
The whole Resort is very tidy and the rooms were spotless .
Being located about a 1 minute walk from the main rd is just another winner as it made it alot easier to get around without having to worry about cars etc .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RYNO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We've stayed here each year for the past four, and it seems to be getting better each time. This time I've made full use of the gym, rather than just walking past it, and I've found it to be full of terrific, easy-to-use equipment. It's air-conditioned, too. The spa is well-heated, so even if it's too cold for the three pools, it's warm in the spa! Love the infinity pools. We always head to Cannonvale on the local bus to stock up on groceries at the start of our stay, so the new Woolworths being built nearby will be terrific. The kitchen in our one-bed studio has everything we need, and is always in good order. Nice to have Blanco appliances. The European laundry is great, too. We love having breakfast on the balcony in the mornings, while at night love watching the lights of the yachts in the sea. Water's Edge is one of the closest resorts to Airlie Beach, so it's a short bit of exercise to get up the start of a big hill (we feel sorry for people who are staying at accom further up the hill!).
I never hear a peep from other rooms, so pretty sure the rooms are well soundproofed. Manager Jeff is always very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#49 of 56 in Airlie Beach
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £130 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing