We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful,spacious, clean resort with faultless service and presentation and a wonderful ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a beautiful,spacious, clean resort with faultless service and presentation and a wonderful ambience”
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We held our daughter's wedding at Water's Edge Resort and Deja Vu Restaurant. Most of our guests stayed at Water's Edge for the long weekend and there was only the highest praise for the resort. Our daughter's wedding ceremony and reception was faultless and exceeded our expectations. It was a very beautiful affair, the setting around the horizon pools looking out over the ocean was gorgeous, the food was divine and plentiful, the service excellent, the staff attentive and genuinely interested in our welfare and Patrice created a magnificent wedding cake. The apartments at the resort were scrupulously clean, very spacious with comfortable, modern decor and all mod-cons. The resort has three beautiful pools set amongst lovely tropical gardens and Bali Huts and all with beautiful views. An excellent barbecue entertainment area complete with two large modern barbecues and a very large timber setting was a perfect place for our welcome and meet-and-greet get -together with friends or family on the night before the wedding. There's also a well-equipped gym for those who felt the need to exercise instead of relaxing. Water's Edge will be our place of choice for any future visits to Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyt-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    190
    81
    33
    16
See reviews for
183
232
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Highly recommend this hotel - it was excellent on so many levels, we could find no fault with it. We had a 2brdm apart with sea views. Size was massive for 4 of us, great balcony overlooking the Airlie and the infinity pools. Spent a few of our afternoons lazing by the pool, gorgeous pools to swim in with awesome views. On the sunday they have this long lunch with live music, which while we didn't eat there (wish we had of!), it was great having the live music as entertainment next to the pool.
Rooms were great size, very clean etc. I would defnitely stay there again and recommend to anyone I Know.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I think we must have stayed in a different hotel than the one described in the majority of these reviews. We had booked and paid for 3 nights but left after only one night, much to the ill-concealed amusement of the chap on reception as we checked out. Had arrived from the Elandra hotel on South Mission Beach which was a stunning hotel , to say the least, and the contrast with Waters Edge could not have been more stark. The apartment was dirty and smelly and my 2 young daughters slept in their clothes as they thought they were being bitten in bed (and yes, I have read the smart retort from the management in response to a similar complaint from another reviewer; we certainly did NOT pick up bugs in the Elandra, nor take them to Hayman Island which is where we bailed out to).My daughters' bedroom was very grubby with unidentifiable debris on the floor, the views from the majority of the windows were of brick walls so most of the curtains were closed when we went in, and the sofas were filthy. I would love to know who awarded the 4.5 stars to this establishment - I can only assume it was an act of self-recognition. This place really was the low point in an otherwise wonderful holiday in Australia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robbiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waters-Edge-Resort, General Manager at at Water's Edge Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2010
Dear Robbiefan,

Many thanks for your review.

I too am not certain you stayed at Waters Edge Resort Airlie Beach, as I have spoken to each member of our team, they do not recall a guest departing early as this would be unusual and certainly the senior staff member on duty would enquire why you had decided to depart early, also I could not find a recent reference to bugs from another reviewer.

We pride ourselves in high standards of cleanliness, our housekeeping team are thoroughly trained, the housekeeping manager checks every arriving room then as a final check our front office team check every arriving room extensively right down each individual light globe.

I can't understand your comment that the view from the majority of windows were of brick walls, as the floor plans on our website indicate the living / dining and master bedrooms face directly to the ocean, every room at Waters Edge Resort enjoys beautiful views of the ocean. We do close the curtains as this protects fabrics fading from exposure to the sun if the apartment is not being utilised. During the summer months the curtains are drawn, as an environmental initiative, the curtains help insulate from the warmer outside temperatures if the apartment is not being utilised.

Waters Edge Resort is AAA rated 4.5 stars, AAA is the governing association throughout Australia that award star ratings. As a guide 4 stars assures you "very well appointed accommodation reflecting stylish décor throughout and a high standard of facilities, furnishings and guest services, as a guide 4.5 star assures you 4 stars plus "a half star is awarded to properties that provide a more extensive range of facilities"

I would welcome contact from you (email available on our website) so as to ascertain exactly if and when you stayed at Waters Edge Resort Airlie Beach.

I trust you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Australia and hope you can visit us again

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
General Manager
Waters Edge Resort
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had a lovely holiday planned in late March. Unfortunately Cyclone Illuli threw a spanner in the works. There is was little assistance by the Apartments in terms of contingency planning - we were offered tea-light candles (6 in total) in case the power went off during the night. The power did indeed go off - for days. However, we had stocked up on food but everything we had, needed power to cook. The apartments had no back-up generator (which I found unfathomable), there were no candles or torches available, the batteries in the clock radios were dead (which would have enabled us to get local news/information). And we still had to pay $275/night!! Thank goodnes for "Trevor" who went to the trouble to bring the gas BBQ to the pool so we and other guests could at least cook our supplies. He also brought in a hotplate and boiled water so guests could have a cup of tea. His blood is worth bottling.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyrebirdridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We had been driving round QLD for a while before arriving in Airlie Beach and decided to splash out a bit more than our usual budget for somewhere a bit more stylish. Although we got walk in rates for our 2 night stay I would return and pay full price!

Basically we had a massive family apartment. (They were supposed to come up and lock the second bedroom and bathroom but never got round to it). The balcony views were gorgeous and we made good use of the pool and spa.

While we were there Airlie beach was on cyclone watch so all the tour boats were cancelled. This meant we had to spend the day lounging round the apartment reading and sunbathing. In the evening we headed down to the pool side restaurant and had one of the best meals we had on our whole trip.

it's just far enough out of town that you don't get the noise of the clubs and bars but is still only 5-10 minutes walk from the beach/lagoon

It was a fabulous break and we would have stayed longer if time (and cyclone Ului) allowed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We spent 4 days at Water's Edge in February for Valentine's Day. Very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful resort, with great value for money. Definitely recommend the long lunch and a day trip to Cedar Creek Falls. Already planning our trip back in June!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

great pool, great cocktails, great food, loved the rooms and the service was beyond friendly. loved it all

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#36 of 54 in Airlie Beach
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Property: at Water's Edge Resort
Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing