We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“excellent location and quiet”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

airlie beach is a council's dilemna---who are they marketing to ---the international backpacker--the schoolie the cashed up miners. -the cruise folk--the yacht folk--familes--or like me middle age clinging to youth--to young to be geriatic--to old to be involved with the wet t shirt contest at the local bar. we had no idea that we would encounter a pattaya like mainstreet music blaring and offers of free drinks and sausages to lure a dwindling crowd in....we arrived with fear at sea star apartments thinking the noise of the street level would come up the hill to our "haven" Julie (perfect hostess) assured us it was the most quiet property around without vacating to shute harbour....with a sceptical look we settled in and she was right...we enjoyed our 10 days and even though we had to dodge the trucks trying to get the mainstreet done after 19 months of excavations (again who will attracted to airlie beach in 5 years time) we found the sea star apartments to be quiet and the view was outstanding. We had a 3 bedroom and we thouroughly enjoyed the space. (only comment lacking cleaning equipment for the counters and glass table. oven mit would have been handy ) Groceries were easily found in cannovale---and the street scene of airlie beach grew on us...and no we did not do the bar scene--but i did do the first Airlie beach run and it was fantastic--along the boardwalk....alan and Julie were very nice and helpful at all times......we would definetly go back....hope they get the mainstreet done---as the long suffering store people really do need the business.......

Room Tip: We had the block with 223 overlooking the bay-harbour high floor (no elevator and stairs could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for informative review. Sorry for the delay in responding, but I just had to wait until the main street was nearly completed. We had the Reef Festival a couple of weeks ago and the main road had to be ready for the parade. Talk about pulling the rabbit out of the hat. Our main street is nearly there and in another couple of weeks it will be fantastic. Look forward to having you all back and we will arrange another running event just for you. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    65
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
131
176
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently spent 10 nights at the Seastar Apartments in Airlie Beach.

As others have said, the views are wonderful, and the apartments are spacious. It is a short walk to Airlie's main strip. The managers are very helpful. Alan even ran videos that we had rented back to the video store for us, which was very kind.

The pool is average, cold in winter, but that is to be expected I guess....other places in Airlie heat their pools, and it might be a good idea for Seastar to do the same, as we were the only people who ever used the pool the entire time we were there and I heard several other guests complaining that it was just too cold.

My main complaint about the Seastar is the freezing cold spa! I was dumbfounded to find out, only after arriving, that the spa is not heated. On the website they do not tell you it is unheated, and it looks very inviting, but it was unusable! It was colder than the pool! I spoke with another couple who were also very upset about the spa, and felt that a heated spa would have made the whole pool area much nicer. I am at a loss to understand why anyone would even bother to have a spa that is unheated, particularly in winter. No one used it. It was a complete waste of space. I can't believe it would cost very much to heat a small spa, otherwise get rid of it--what's the point? Australia is NOT Thailand--it gets chilly in Airlie Beach in July! I can't tell you how lovely it would have been to sit in a nice, heated spa, overlooking those gorgeous views while the kids swam in the pool below.... What a disappointment!

I am bringing ten girlfriends to Airlie In October for a birthday trip and I was hoping to book the Seastar. Sadly, due to the freezing cold spa, they have lost my business. I will be booking the Pinnacles instead--they offer heated spas in each of their apartments. yes, they are more pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Lastly, I was also very disappointed by the level of cleaning service. I did not expect daily service by any means. However, when you are staying in an apartment with two children for ten nights, it would have been nice to have at least one or two maid services. All we got was a linen change half way through our stay.... The floors were very dirty by day six, and I had to sweep and mop...not what I like to do on my holiday! A vacumn was not provided, which would have been easier then sweepting and mopping. I don't even want to talk about how dirty my bath tub was after ten nights of baths! There I was, scrubbing it, when I should have been out enjoying the sunshine!

Overall, if you are very budget conscious, then this place is for you. It's nice for people on a budget. Had I known what I know now, I would have splashed out and stayed somewhere with a better pool, spa and cleaning service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and having stayed in our amazing location. The Whitsundays is a beautiful place and we know you took advantage of the wonderful tours on offer.

We are sorry you felt less than satisfied with your visit, should you have made your concerns known to us during your lengthy stay, we would willingly have done all in our power to rectify any perceived short comings.

Our pool and spa are interlinked with a common water supply and therefore impossible to heat one without the other, as a result the water in both is exactly the same temperature. In the winter it ranges from 19 – 23 degrees. For your information there are only 4 complexes in Airlie Beach that have heated swimming pools.

Sea Star is a self catering accommodation complex with full cooking, laundry and cleaning facilities. As a courtesy to guests staying for 8 or more days, we provide a full linen change and an apartment service. Your apartment is one of the few where there are tiles only (no carpet) hence a vacuum cleaner is not supplied, just a broom, dust pan and hand brush. Had you asked for a vacuum, we would have readily supplied it.

We hope you enjoy your return visit to Airlie Beach when the weather will be warmer, as will our pool and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This apartment was the best of our vacation. Worth the price, especially for the bay view. It is also very well located, clean with good equipments. It seems pretty well managed. The pool is just good. Hope I will be able to come back one day. Kids also enjoyed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to write a review for us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return with the family.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

The Sea Star apartments were great, a good location away from the main strip, fantastic views, clean and tidy. But most of all the owners were amazing so helpful and kind, we had an issue with our camera battery before our trip to the GBR and they couldn't do more to help, even dropped us off at an out of town store in the Porsche.

Lovely people, great place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardoroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for writing your review after such a long time. We appreciate you taking the time out to write it and for your warm comments about our service. At the end of the day, that's what it's all about, not to mention the magnificent Whitsundays.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Sea Star Apartments and were given a great 2 bedroomed apartment with just breathtaking views over Airlie Beach and the Whitsunday islands. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and we booked a really great trip to the Whitsundays which were breathtaking. The apartment was really spacious and had great facilities. The furniture was really comfortable and it was great to have a lovely big balcony and sit outside admiring the fabulous views. The bedrooms were spacious and the ensuite was a real asset. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but wish we had booked one more night in this great place as there is so much to do here. We also loved the giant gecko that roams around the place from time to time, what a real gem of a find, we would certianly come back and thoroughly recommend this great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor. You've mentioned everything that makes Sea Star what it is. We hope the summer in England is treating you well. We look forward to your return some day. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dapto
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We traveled around Queensland with our visitor from Germany and a camper trailer and spoiled ourselves with a few days of luxury. We could park the trailer on the property and explore the area. Sea Star Apartments is a beautiful place to stay with spacious, comfortable rooms and a very nice kitchen. We were glade to have the utility room with washer and dryer. We enjoyed the pool and the amazing ocean view from apartment. Julie and Alan were very friendly and helpful. They organised our day trip to the islands, the Crocodile Safari and the Scenic flight including transfers from Apartment. Thank you very much! We will stay there again on our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for writing your review and we're glad you took the time out from your camping trip to stay with us. We were pleased to be able to assist you with your tours and we know you all enjoyed yourselves.
Look forward to having you back.
All the best
Julie & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in the 3bdr penthouse which spacious enough for two families. The views of the town & ocean below are amazing and definitely worth the climb up hill at least twice a day. The kitchen well equipped but with so many nice restaurants in the town why cook. The pools are great & the kids had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tajerki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thanks a million for writing your review for us. Sorry it's taken us so long to response, we have been away for a few weeks.
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Sea Star Apartments and look forward to seeing you all again.
Best regards
Julie & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#2 of 54 in Airlie Beach
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#11 of 54 in Airlie Beach
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#9 of 54 in Airlie Beach
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Apartments

Property: Sea Star Apartments
Address: 2 Nara Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Star Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views Views and more Views! Sea Star Apartments is conveniently located in Airlie Beach enjoying breathtaking island and ocean views from every terraced apartment! Come and enjoy yourself in one of our self contained apartments all with covered large balconies, spacious living area and dining area, full kitchens, laundries and uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, Hayman Island and Hook Island yet nestled close to Airlie Beach Village. Did we mention the views? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Star Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing