We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Star Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adventure Island Resort(South Molle Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
View Hotel
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Club Croc(Cannonvale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
347
75
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
75
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing viewslovely infinity poolspacious apartmentsteep hillthe managerslaundry roomwasher and dryergreat apartmentsthe penthousehome away from homethe kitchenbbq facilitiesmaster bedroomtaxi ridebbq areahire carlocal knowledge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Sea Star apartments is our No 1 favourite place to stay in the whole of Australia. We have been staying here for years now and keep coming back. The apartments are exquisite, large, beautifully furnished, like a home away from home with everything you need, very very comfortable. To top all of this off is the best views you can possibly get in Airlie Beach (we have stayed at numerous other accommodations prior to finding this gem so we do have the proof). The views sweep around giving the best ever panoramic outlook. The swimming pool and bbq area are divine and centrally located with more gorgeous views from the pool. All of this in a wonderfully maintained tropical setting with the most accommodating managers you will ever find.

My husband and I thought it only fair that we take the time to write a review and share this beautiful secret so that others can experience their best holiday at Sea Star Apartments Airlie Beach. We are very grateful to have found this treasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review, Alan and I were both flattered and I am lost for other words. We look forward to having you back. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon, a perfect end to a perfect trip. The kitchen and laundry facilities were great; fridge and freezer, full oven and stove, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, clothes horse, ironing board and iron, everything you could need. It was beautifully furnished and decorated with big windows to make the most of the amazing views.

There is a very steep hill to climb from Airlie Beach to get there, but the views and the peace and quiet are fantastic.

The staff were very kind and helpful. They let us leave our luggage there for almost a week while we were on boat cruises around the islands.

I wish we'd stayed here longer.

Room Tip: While the pool is beautiful, ask for a room a good distance away from it if you want peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely review and we are so glad the weather held out for you both while you were out on the water. Good luck for the future, Cheers Julie & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

While looking for a place to stay for 8 nights in Airlie Beach I found Sea Star. I was a bit concerned about previous reviews about the steep walk up so I called and spoke with Julie, the manager. She explained the set up and the cost of a taxi, my husband and I booked. We didn't regret our decision, even on arriving, when the transfer mini bus couldn't make it up the drive because of the rain and the slipping wheels. If the apartments weren't where they are they wouldn't have the fantastic views they do.
We stayed in block b on the first floor and overlooked the whole of Airlie Beach Harbour, magic! The apartment was very clean and spacious with everything you could want for a short or longer stay. When the weather was fine we walked into town, which is only about 10 minutes, and back, , not too hard but when it rained we got a cab, $6, well worth it. We also hired a car to see a bit of the surrounds and had no trouble getting up the hill or the driveway.
Julie and Alan are lovely people and great at running the apartments. We had a problem with the shower and it was fixed straight away. We booked a cruise with Julie, which she recommended and we got a discount plus the cruise was awesome.
There is a bus in the main street which takes you to Proserpine or Shute Harbour, very economical and filled in time when the weather wasn't great.
Sea Star Apartments are one of the best places we have stayed and excellent value. If we ever go back to Airlie Beach was would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All of the apartments face the harbour and are all spacious and very clean. It is in a quiet area. The gardens are lovely and the pool looks great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments on TripAdvisor, pity the weather wasn't the best while you were here but we realise you made the most of the good and bad situations. We look forward to having you back. Stay safe,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here for 3 nights in June 2014 on our first ever visit to Airlie Beach and we did enjoy it mostly because of the magnificent views over the harbour, islands etc and the very pretty location set in a hill side with palms and lush extensive gardens . However, if you are considering staying here please be aware that these apartments are half way up a steep hill that runs above Shute Harbour Road which is where most people will want to go to for shopping, eating etc and while it is quite easy to walk down from the apartments (we did it once each day) the walk back is very difficult indeed, even more so if you are carrying shopping etc

We initially thought (before we got there) that we'd just take our time walking slowly back up to the apartments but we soon changed our mind upon arrival when we saw just how steep the walk back up is (our taxi's wheels even skidded a few times on the steep and wet roadway!) and we decided it would be too much for us (we are all over 50 years old) so we simply jumped in a taxi on Shute Harbour Road (there's a taxi rank in front of the Cold Rock ice cream shop) at a cost varying from just under $6 to a bit over $8 depending on when it was - so this is not much to pay at all. Please note this is in no way a criticism of the apartments themselves but we feel it is something that people (especially older, those with incapacities and those without a car) need to consider - also,the managers did advise us of the steep walk when I booked but we didn't realise just how steep it is.

Overall our apartment on the top floor of "B" block was well laid out, neat and tidy but we noticed a few of minor issues - the carpet in the master bedroom was considerably frayed in several places in front of the sliding door and we thought it looked quite tacky, a couple of the throw pillows on the lounge sofas had a few unknown stains on them so we decided not to use them at all and the shower in the master bedroom ensuite allowed a bit too much water to seep onto the bathroom floor because the glass opening door would not seal properly - we had to use one of our towels pushed up against the shower door to help keep water seepage under control. The only other issue we encountered was that our washing machine did not work properly but management were very quick to get onto this and we were able to use the washing machine in an adjacent vacant apartment.

In closing, I am sorry if my review might sound negative to some, it is not meant to be because the location of these apartments is really lovely for the reasons I mentioned and if you have a car or are prepared to use a taxi while staying there or are fit enough to handle the very steep walk back up from Shute Harbour Road then the walk up won't be an issue - however, we feel it is important to mention any issues that we encounter that might impact on other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creighton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for writing a response on TripAdvisor so quickly. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, albeit the hill. You can not have these views without being elevated and this also helps to make it such a quiet location. But as you rightly mentioned, it is only a $6 - $8 taxi fare back up (the price of a drink). We look forward to seeing you all back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Sea Start apartments for 1 week; and had a fantastic time. The apartment was clean, warm and very spacious. Everything we needed was there - like a home away from home. Being located at the top of a hill the views we got from the balcony where incredible!! Pool area was great; clean with great views. I would say the best part of staying at Sea Star are the owners. Absolutely lovely couple who could not have been more friendly and helpful during our stay. I have not experienced customer service like this anywhere else in the world and it really makes your stay extra special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesandAlan, Manager at Sea Star Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we were humbled by your comments. We're glad you had such a great stay at Airlie Beach and Sea Star Apartments and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews