We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Sunlit waters, our hosts Stuart and Lisa went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay. They even offered to store our luggage while we were out sailing the Whitsundays and then gave us a ride to the bus station when we were leaving Airlie Beach. Thanks so much for making our stay so enjoyable! Cheers! - Melanie and Kathy

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    37
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
194
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautifully set above the harbour, our studio apartment was clean and big enough, with a small kitchen and a bathroom with a roomy shower. There is a small pooI, just enough for a dip, and some sun loungers around it. The rooms are all accessed from the long gallery balcony, so your balcony is not private. The view from the balcony's is beautiful and we ate on ours most evenings.
The owner was usually around for information and so on. There is a small car park which did get full most nights. The WiFi was OK and free. Town is a 3 minute walk away, down a steep hill so a little longer coming home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

These apartments are just perfect. Well equipped studios with an amazing ocean view and perfect hosts! the studios are on a little hill, 5 min walking distance to the main street! Everything was just perfect!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephan_Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at Sunlit Waters (room 3) for one night in mid-November. The room was lovely, very clean, and equipped with both an air conditioner and ceiling fan. Both dealt well with the humidity brought in by an afternoon thunderstorm.

The room had two beds, a single and a double, with good mattresses, white linen, and comfortable pillows.

Stuart, one of the hosts, was very genial, and showed me to my room when I arrived. He called to arrange my airport transfer bus, which was one less thing to think about. Checking in and checking out were both very simple. The price of the room was very reasonable, at $92 for the night.

There is an on-site guest laundry, fed with $1 coins. Laundry detergent was available for $1 from reception, and there was a dryer available for my clothes during the afternoon storm.

As I did not have a car, Sunlit Waters was perfectly placed near the main street - at the top of a pretty steep hill, but Airlie is built on the side of a mountain! Dinner was approximately a 7-minute slow amble down the hill, and 10 minutes back up. There are buses which run along the main street that will take you to Centro (Airlie's large shopping centre), but for simple groceries, great restaurants, and bottleshops and bars galore, this was perfect.

Thank you to Stuart and Lisa for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

There was four of us staying at these apartments and straight away when we checked in we were told we were being upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment which was great as it was two couples. The staff were very friendly and made sure we were enjoying ourselves here. The place was in clean condition and the views were tremendous. The pool was also very clean and tidy, also the gardens were well maintained.

My only small problem was that the air con unit (the drum inside, not the filters) maybe needed a bit of a clean in the main room as there was a bit of a smell when they started up due to them being a bit dusty. Im sure they probably get a good clean once the high season starts. Would deffo go back here again.

P.S When leaving, and going back to the airport, get a taxi, as the coach took over an hour and a half picking people up (and waiting for people, who didn't turn up). We were told, sometimes the taxi's are a bit unreliable, but would take that chance if given the opportunity again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Another fabulous stay at sunlit waters. Fantastic positioning near the marina and just a 5 minute walk down the steep hill into the Main Street. The trip back up that hill however is a killer! Out of 5 of the 7 days we did it twice a day, but the taxi also got used towards the end. We got lucky being there during the music festival all through the town. The lagoon is exceptional and free! But the pool at the apartment was just right for cooling off after the hill back. Rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The hosts Lisa and Stuart were welcoming and offered a pick up and drop off to the ferry. Will definitely stay again when in Airlie.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochacoffee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 3 nights in October staying in a studio apartment, which was perfect for the 2 of us. It was decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The small pool is just perfect for cooling off mid afternoon when it becomes too hot down at the Lagoon. Stuart was always available during the day and kindly drove us to the coach station. The apartments are a 10 minute walk to a small supermarket which had everything we needed to cook an evening meal
The location overlooking the marina is great and sufficiently away from the mainstrip, which is filled with drunken British backpackers after dark. Airlie Beach is a lovely place to visit the Whitsunday Islands and the mainstrip, beach, lagoon are great during the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#8 of 54 in Airlie Beach
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toscana Village Resort
Toscana Village Resort
#5 of 54 in Airlie Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments

Property: Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments
Address: 20 Airlie Cres, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing