We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views of the Coral Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azure Sea Whitsunday
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    71
    48
    15
    14
See reviews for
51
116
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had asked for a sea view and we got it. Most apartments would I suspect. We were in a three bedroom which was locked down to create a one bedroom. Very spacious. Long room containing kitchen, dining and lounge couches with large balcony in front of that.Dining outside or breakfast on the balcony was great. Full size fridge, oven, dishwasher - very easy to self cater here. Did have a microwave which was plonked on the side of the kitchen bench - as though it was an afterthought - nowhere for it to sit neatly.Bedroom and good sized dressing room/wardrobe, comfy bed, bath, shower, basin etc all clean and tidy. Sun all day on the balcony. Two great pools on two different levels. This complex was undergoing a fair bit of maintenance while we were there, waterblasting exterior and trimming shrubs, gardens etc.so a bit of noise associated with that. Not excessive though and nice to see this being done as so many of these apartment complexes are looking very tired and unloved. Secure parking underneath and lifts!

Airlie Beach buzzes with a real life of it's own - plenty of places to eat out. Sadly Fish D'vine had a fire causing it's closure the night after we had dined there. I think they are rebuilding it - their Rum Bar was amazing. Cruise ships anchor off shore and ferries go out to bring passengers ashore...Loads of great shops, some tacky souvenir shops but search out the unique shops - they are there!

The apartments seem to have quite a few permanent or semi-permanent residents so a certain amount of routine was evident. People leaving for and coming home from work, moving in and out of the apartments etc. These were down in front of us - and we looked over their rooftops.

Horace was on the front desk to welcome us there - very helpful. Complex is up a steep hill so car or good fitness required. You look down over greenery out to sea. There is much to see and do here so allow a few days to make the most of your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - they seem happy to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaikatoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampong Thom, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I had work to do in Proserpine and booked a room here as it was on my company's preferred hotels list. I couldn't believe how much room there was, I had been booked into a one bedroom suite with a study. The kitchen was bigger than most hotel rooms. The view from the balcony was stunning. Great value, I've paid the same rate for pretty ordinary motel rooms. The on site manager was also very friendly and helpful, giving me a free drink voucher for a popular restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holcomoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The staff were very friendly, the only complaint was we opted to pay for an upgarde to have a study and the 2 bedrooms so I could set up my mobile office and for satelite TV to keep the kids entertained in the bad weather however we couldn't get any sat channels and the receptionist said she had no idea how to get them either and there was definatly no study in the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azuremanager, Manager at Azure Sea Whitsunday, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Cyclone Yasi was generally speaking a non-event here in Airlie Beach. We did suffer some minor power surges during this time at the resort, which we did discover took out all of our Austar Decoder boxes. After putting in a service call to our provider, we had to wait until the Cyclone threat had passed before a technician could replace them. Our receptionist would have no idea how to fix these in this circumstance as a qualified tv electrician was required.

Our 2 bedroom apartments with study are comprised of a sofa couch and either a side table or coffee table in an open alcove. We cannot call this a bedroom as there is no wardrobe and some do not have a closeable door to this alcove. The architect that designed the building labelled these a study. We do realise in this case that the guest had a different expectation. As none of our study apartments contain desks or office furniture we will consider revising this architectaul term to prevent confusion in the future. We do thank you for this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Have just stayed at the Azure Sea Whitsunday again (fourth occasion) and it just gets better ! This time we were upgraded to one of the many penthouses - there's about 5 of them – and it was terrific. As an old capitalist landlord I was particularly impressed with the layout of our penthouse unit. The main bedroom is off the entrance hall and as far away from the lounge room as possible. Adjacent to the main bedroom is the second bedroom (queen-sized, but was fitted with twin-beds), which is close enough to hear the kids if they stir in the night. They have their own separate toilet and separate bathroom too so as not to disturb those in the main king-size bedroom, which as you would expect has its own walk-in wardrobe and a bathroom with shower and spa bath. Down the hall towards the lounge is a third queen-sized bedroom. Now, that makes this house-sized unit capable of accommodating 6 people. So, in the lounge there is seating for (at least) six. At the dining room table there is seating for six. Out on the massive balcony in one corner there is another dining table, with of course seating for six. The kitchen, with its breakfast bench for six, has enough cooking and refrigeration facilities for 10 people. (Gotta allow for the visitors that want to come and gawk at the opulence) Of course the enormous cupboard space contains all the knives forks egg lifters dishes pots pans glasses you will need to entertain the visitors. There is a micro-wave, a combination oven and a normal convection oven (plus a very modern bench top range) to heat up the masses of home-delivery's you will order (no cooking – you're on holiday) After its all done, pop them into the Miele washing machine – job done. Then ,if you're lucky you might get a seat in front of the flat screen TV aka DVD monitor. Not me though, I couldn't tear myself away from the fantastic sea view from the huge balcony – not even to check my sox's in the private laundry room that contained the wash machine, tub and dryer. I did have a swim in the 30 meter long wet-edge pool. It was long enough to do laps in, and crystal clear. The wet-edge cascades down into another near mirror-image pool below. The pools are on the lower level(s), adjacent to the under-building, secure, no-fee car park.

My rating - 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncleron-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We have booked a penthouse at azure sea whitsunday grand mercure appartments airlie beach over 3 mounth ago, for our christmas and new year hollidays. On arrival 27/12/2010 we have been told that penthouse that we booked is not avalble. But we've been given a choice to leave or stay in 2 bedroom appartment, with refound of the diffirence in price. That booking mistake couse us a lot of problems. We have 2 children travaling with us, one of them is only 15 mounth old. Not to mention my wifes complete brake down due to all of the stess we went through. On 28/12/2010 we decde to move out us we found another suitable accomodation. Staying in Azure Seas would be too upseting for my family as not even appology was made. I will make shure that all of my friends and associats will know about my family expirience at that accomodation. I also would like to mension that we are members of accor vacation club and we will forward this letter as our experience about that hotel for other people to know. "Take it or live it", resort manager Horace Soegaard sad to me. No explonation been made as why this happend. I hope some one will let us now what really happend and make right decision to get our faith back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Punisherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azuremanager, General Manager at Azure Sea Whitsunday, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Unfortunately this guest never booked or paid for a penthouse with us. He was upgraded to a larger apartment before his arrival which was deemed not acceptable by him. If we had a penthouse available at the time we would have changed his booking to reflect this and charged accordingly. As this was over Christmas and New year we were fully booked. All offers of compensation were refused and this guest was refunded all monies due to him. At no time did this guest accept that the error was his, and with his abusive behaviour towards the staff we felt it was best to let him checkout. We obviously would prefer to resolve issues like this with a positive outcome for the guest - in this case we were not given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shingley Beach Resort
Shingley Beach Resort
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Sea Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Sea Whitsunday

Property: Azure Sea Whitsunday
Address: 26-34 Raintree Pl, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Azure Sea)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azure Sea Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azure Sea Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Azure Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Azure Sea Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing