We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean - very hygiene - very fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azure Sea Whitsunday
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very clean - very hygiene - very fabulous”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Have just stayed at the Azure Sea Whitsunday again (fourth occasion) and it just gets better ! This time we were upgraded to one of the many penthouses - there's about 5 of them – and it was terrific. As an old capitalist landlord I was particularly impressed with the layout of our penthouse unit. The main bedroom is off the entrance hall and as far away from the lounge room as possible. Adjacent to the main bedroom is the second bedroom (queen-sized, but was fitted with twin-beds), which is close enough to hear the kids if they stir in the night. They have their own separate toilet and separate bathroom too so as not to disturb those in the main king-size bedroom, which as you would expect has its own walk-in wardrobe and a bathroom with shower and spa bath. Down the hall towards the lounge is a third queen-sized bedroom. Now, that makes this house-sized unit capable of accommodating 6 people. So, in the lounge there is seating for (at least) six. At the dining room table there is seating for six. Out on the massive balcony in one corner there is another dining table, with of course seating for six. The kitchen, with its breakfast bench for six, has enough cooking and refrigeration facilities for 10 people. (Gotta allow for the visitors that want to come and gawk at the opulence) Of course the enormous cupboard space contains all the knives forks egg lifters dishes pots pans glasses you will need to entertain the visitors. There is a micro-wave, a combination oven and a normal convection oven (plus a very modern bench top range) to heat up the masses of home-delivery's you will order (no cooking – you're on holiday) After its all done, pop them into the Miele washing machine – job done. Then ,if you're lucky you might get a seat in front of the flat screen TV aka DVD monitor. Not me though, I couldn't tear myself away from the fantastic sea view from the huge balcony – not even to check my sox's in the private laundry room that contained the wash machine, tub and dryer. I did have a swim in the 30 meter long wet-edge pool. It was long enough to do laps in, and crystal clear. The wet-edge cascades down into another near mirror-image pool below. The pools are on the lower level(s), adjacent to the under-building, secure, no-fee car park.

My rating - 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncleron-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    68
    47
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
111
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We have booked a penthouse at azure sea whitsunday grand mercure appartments airlie beach over 3 mounth ago, for our christmas and new year hollidays. On arrival 27/12/2010 we have been told that penthouse that we booked is not avalble. But we've been given a choice to leave or stay in 2 bedroom appartment, with refound of the diffirence in price. That booking mistake couse us a lot of problems. We have 2 children travaling with us, one of them is only 15 mounth old. Not to mention my wifes complete brake down due to all of the stess we went through. On 28/12/2010 we decde to move out us we found another suitable accomodation. Staying in Azure Seas would be too upseting for my family as not even appology was made. I will make shure that all of my friends and associats will know about my family expirience at that accomodation. I also would like to mension that we are members of accor vacation club and we will forward this letter as our experience about that hotel for other people to know. "Take it or live it", resort manager Horace Soegaard sad to me. No explonation been made as why this happend. I hope some one will let us now what really happend and make right decision to get our faith back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Punisherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azuremanager, General Manager at Azure Sea Whitsunday, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Unfortunately this guest never booked or paid for a penthouse with us. He was upgraded to a larger apartment before his arrival which was deemed not acceptable by him. If we had a penthouse available at the time we would have changed his booking to reflect this and charged accordingly. As this was over Christmas and New year we were fully booked. All offers of compensation were refused and this guest was refunded all monies due to him. At no time did this guest accept that the error was his, and with his abusive behaviour towards the staff we felt it was best to let him checkout. We obviously would prefer to resolve issues like this with a positive outcome for the guest - in this case we were not given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The hotel is well appointed, could have been a bit cleaner (particularly the bathroom) but overall a pleasant stay and comfortable - especially as we were there during a few days of rain. The host is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

On arrival we were told we had been upgraded from the penthouse (which we originally requested) to the executive townhouse. At first we were excited to be upgraded later to be disappointed. The original room booked consisted of a king, queen and sofa bed (for accommodation of three couples), the new room had one double, and four single beds. Not what we booked.
The room we were upgraded to was lovely, but when we spoke to reception about our disappointment with the bedding arrangements we were told that the penthouse was booked out so this room was the only one left! We had requested and booked the penthouse 6 months prior!! We were offered a bottle of wine and that was that... Room was lovely but we left disappointed that we had not recieved what we had booked and paid for!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank emm4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azuremanager, General Manager at Azure Sea Whitsunday, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
As part of the New Management team, we appreciate that this may have occurred before our time. Our policy is to attempt to honour all booking requests, though due to circumstances not under our control, at times changes have to be made. We notify our guests of any issues that may arise before they arrive and endeavour to have any issues resolved in a positive manner. We appreciate our guests understanding on these rare occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I booked in here for 2 nights & after seeing the place I booked for an extra 2 nights. I didn't want to leave from the moment I arrived. The service at Check-in was great & Horace was lovely. I was upgraded to a Bigger Massive Corner Apartment which was absolutely beautiful. Lovely views of the ocean also. The apartment was very clean & comfortable with lovely furniture & appliances. It was fully self-contained. I travel to Airlie quite a bit & normally like staying at different apartments just to check them out & i must say this is one of the best I have stayed in. I will sure to be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayzie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

People complain that places are up steep hills - EVERYWHERE is up steep hills so don't waste your time looking for ones that aren't! Location is great about 10mins walk (up a hill) from the main street - Avoid main street for accomodation unless your a backpacker. Rooms were clean and very big in size, great views from the hills to the harbour. Free easy parking and good pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Russman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shingley Beach Resort
Shingley Beach Resort
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#33 of 54 in Airlie Beach
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Sea Whitsunday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Sea Whitsunday

Property: Azure Sea Whitsunday
Address: 26-34 Raintree Pl, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Azure Sea)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azure Sea Whitsunday 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Azure Sea Whitsunday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Azure Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Azure Sea Whitsunday Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing