We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with great value”
Review of Airlie Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airlie Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Got upgraded for free which was a good start. The room we got was perfect and clean and ridiculously good value for money. The apartment is fully furnished with everything you could ever need. If you are going up as a group go to this place, the staff are great and it is an easy walk to the centre of town. The bed was also very good to pass out and have sex on.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner and I were really happy when we came across Airlie Apartments, The apartments were in our budget and still had that little bit of luxury we were after. We stayed by the poolside, and we were really glad we did. The room was spacious and modern and it was very easy to relax in. The manager of the apartments Cathy was a fantastic help. The first day we arrived we needed to get to the shops to stock our fridge and Cathy was kind enough to offer to take us to the shops. This was great, it saved us trying to work out the bus system at Airlie and also the fares of a taxi. Cathy was great when it came to discussing and choosing the tours we could do. There were so many to choose from and it was great having someone else's opinion on which tours were most popular, Cathy also got a great price for us when we booked with fantasea and all up we saved over $100 just by chatting to her! I would recommend staying at Airlie Apartments, yes its up a hill but its really not that bad at all! Next time I go to Airlie I will definitely look Airlie Apartments back up to see their awesome deals and would have no problem deciding whether to stay there again or not.

Nicole and James

Room Tip: If you cant afford a view due to a budget holiday go for the pool side apartment, beautiful views wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleLeonard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

There may be more luxurious (and consequently more expensive) apartments in Airlie Beach, but these apartments offer good value.

The complex has 15 privately owned apartments with a resident manager, Cathy Logan. Our first floor apartment (no. 9) was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well equipped with a sea view from the balcony. The kitchenette has an oven, four ring hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and a large fridge/freezer. There is a coin operated laundry, which is pretty much standard in Oz.

The pool area is pleasant pool with shade over the pool and deck, two gas BBQs, dining tables, chairs and sun loungers - all of good quality.

Cathy is the most charming, friendly and helpful host. She is very knowledgable about and helpful in booking excursions, and will even run you to the main supermarkets which are out of town.

Conveniently situated in a quiet residential area 300 metres from the town centre and beach, the only drawback is the short but steep hill that you have to climb to get to the apartments. If we came to Airlie Beach again we would definitely stay here and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Good value for money is what I believe in! The apartments are individually owned and I encourage the owner's to keep their apartments up to date. We are in a quiet location and close to town for a easy walk down the hill. The taxi's will take you up the hill for about $5-$10 depending on day or night. Take the challenge and burn off that holiday indulgence with a walk back up the hill. Thanks for the review and hope you had a lovely time with your son back in Brisbane. I look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed in the Superior Ocean View Apartment and this was probably the BEST Serviced apartment we have ever stayed in!! The combination of Serious Luxury and excellent service was obviously fantastic but the affordability of it all was simply unbelievable!!! I have traveled to many countries and stayed in many hotels, but this was actually the first time that the apartment was probably 15 to 20 times better than even what was shown on the picture and on the web-sites. We were told that the superior ocean view apartments are their top of the range apartments and really our apartment lived up to its reputation many times over! The view from our wonderfully spacious private balcony, the super comfortable large bed, the spacious and plush living room, the fully equipped kitchen and the nice bathroom were all absolutely 5 Star! Everything was very nice and clean and the location of the apartment is excellent, very peaceful and serene and away from all the town hustle-bustle but at the same time just walking distance to the town centre and shopping! The cherry on the cake however was the warm and super friendly nature of Cathy Logan and her team. Really we did even feel away from home around her. It was really one of the best vacations we have had in our lives. Thanks Cathy for everything! May God Bless you and your family! Thanks very much! Hare Krishna!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Ocean view rooms ... and as you can see from my review we loved them, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junesep26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your wife stay with us for your honeymoon. A very special occasion with your first trip to Australia. The superior ocean view apartments are beautiful and for the different cultures to experience our way of life in Australia is refreshing.
I was happy we managed to get you to experience the world of snorkelling on our beautiful reef.
I wish you both many happy years together and I look forward to welcoming you again if you get to travel our way.
Cheers
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

So close to the shops and lagoon, rooms were fantastic and spacious. Excellent pool and games room. Kathy was a wonderful host, she helped us with anything we needed, and did a great job booking our tours for us. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

You really couldn't fault the service given by Cathy the on-site manager of these apartments. On check in we were given some beers and soft drinks that someone had left in a room, something I have never experienced before. Cathy has a great knowledge of what was on offer in the way of reef and other tours (which you can book through her), and did not overly push any particular company. I noticed she spent at least a couple of hours helping two young backpackers select tours. She also very kindly offered us a lift to the marina and dropped us at a restaurant. Any difficulties we had (such as running out of detergent) were quickly dealt with.

The apartments look to be around 40 years old and have been added to and renovated over the years, the last makeover perhaps 10 years ago. I would class these as mid-range apartments, with some signs of age and a few maintenance issues such as missing tiles in the pool etc. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was quite spacious and comfortable, with a view over the pool to the Whitsundays. Beds are comfortable and the air conditioning very efficient, to the point where it can get cold. There is a half rug on the bed, blankets are kept in drawers. In one room the air conditioner kept turning itself off during the night, probably because we somehow managed to set the timer.

The only issues we really had were that, surprisingly, although it has a good sized kitchen with a very large ice dispensing fridge, there was no stove, and we like to cook our own food. A 2 element portable electric cooktop was kept under the bench, but we could not get enough heat out of it to cook. There was also a small grill type portable oven on the bench and an electric frypan, which unfortunately was pre-teflon and had to be constantly scrubbed. So this restricted the amount of cooking we could do.

While the apartment accommodated 5 people quite comfortably, there was only one toilet and this had to be reached through the bathroom. Those with teenagers will immediately see the problem here.

The main street of Airlie beach is just down the hill, about 5 minutes walk with the last 100m or so on the way back being quite steep. It didn't cause us any problems, but you do notice it in the heat. There is a small grocery store in the main street, the nearest big supermarket is a couple of minutes drive away. The apartments have laundry facilities, it cost $4 per load to wash or dry, but you can get 2 loads into a dryer.

Recommended because of the high level of service and central location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterSandgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you Peter for taking the time to write a review. I do keep the left over beer & other food that has not been opened and give it out to our guests as a little bonus. I am happy to pass them on to the next person if they like them.
Every little bit helps and I try to do my best for everyone.
I have spoken to the owner's of the apartment and they are now looking at ways to put an oven and dishwasher into the apartment. All the apartments have 1 bathroom and it can be difficult when everyone has to get ready to go out - somehow we did manage years ago when we all only had one bathroom.
If I am going to the supermarket or driving by, I am happy to offer a lift so you can get some groceries.
See you again one day when you are travelling back to Airlie Beach.

Cheers
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Had an amazing but too short a break at Airlie Appartments last July.
Cathy and Kate were amazing and couldn't have been more helpful if they tried.
As I was a lone traveller it presented no problems, everyone so friendly.
Loved Airle and Airlie Appts..felt very safe at all times.
Great Trips from Airlie and beautiful walks. Loads of good places to eat if you don't want to cook for yourself, although I must say it was good after a day out to fix a meal and sit outside and watch the amazing sunsets.
I flew into Proserpine as opposed to Hamilton Island and the trip from the airport was great. Lovely scenery and lots of wildlife.
All in all a great break.
If I come to Oz again i would have no hesitation at at staying at theAirlie Appartments and Airlie again. Rose Wright England.

Room Tip: Depends what you like. Nice by the pool and as a solo traveller it was great being amongst others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblingrose377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#26 of 56 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Apartments

Address: 22 Airlie Cres, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £72 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airlie Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why book with Airlie Apartments? ** Great Friendly Service - we will look after you! Book direct for accommodation discounts! Book your tours at our reception or via our online tour business Airlie Beach Online. Courtesy transfers from the tour operators for all tour bookings! Our hilltop position overlooks the Coral Sea with magnificent views over Pioneer Bay, Abell Point Marina and the spectacular Whitsunday Islands. We are situated a small walk (300 metres) - a taxi is $5.00 - $10.00 From Airlie Beach depending on day/night/weekend. Salt water swimming pool and a smaller toddler pool is the perfect location to unwind and enjoy the breathtaking views of the Coral Sea. Pool and barbecue facilities, outdoor settings and sun lounges for the perfect restful break away from home. Games room for the little kids! Laundry facilities with washing machines, clothes driers and clothes line are also onsite for your convenience. Onsite management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airlie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Apartments Beach
Airlie Apartments Hotel Beach
Airlie Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing