We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”
Review of Airlie Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airlie Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pros and cons”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed in a poolside apartment for $115 pn which was really cheap esp in holiday season. The apartment was way bigger that what we expected. The living area was very spacious and the rooms of decent size although the bed was very small. More of a double bed than queen. Our apartment had a deck with a big table and chairs and a great view of the harbor. Staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact the only staff we saw during our two night stay was the owner.
Airlie Apartments is a short walk from the small downtown of Airlie beach but it's up the hill and you should climb the hill every time you want to go back to the hotel. The rooms and the living area and kitchen were clean. However some of the appliances including the fridge were old and rusty. The dishes were not very clean either. Make sure you wash everything before using it. A dirty brush full of hair was hung next to the fridge which was really gross. There are no room services (unless you stay more than a week) and the thing that I really disliked about this place was that it's written everywhere that if you don't clean the apartment before leaving and leave it "in an unsatisfactory manner" $30-$50 dollars would be charged to your credit card!! Since we really didn't know how clean was "satisfactory" we spent an hour washing sweeping and cleaning which was really annoying.
There are two Weber barbecues beside the pool. They weren't very clean the first time we used it and had to spend some time cleaning it before we could use it but the day after the owner cleaned it while she was cleaning the pool. The other thing was that the sound of footsteps from the apartment upstairs was very loud and sometimes annoying. Actually the owner warned us about it on arrival!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ban1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank You Bani for your review as we always appreciate our guests feedback.

I live onsite, like all Resident Manager's and our housekeeping staff work very hard preparing apartments for the guests arriving, which is probably why you don't see them and generally only see me.
The fridge in the apartment you stayed in was to be replaced before Christmas along with others, however the supplier did not receive the shipment and we are still waiting for their arrival. The main bedroom in all apartments have a queen bed amd the superior ocean view apartments have a king bed.

Airlie Apartments are 'self contained apartments' and operate slightly different to a hotel. Sometimes your expectations can be similar however, in apartments people usually do not wish to be interrupted by cleaning staff, which is why apartments do not include this 'service' unless you stay 7 days or more. Most guests do not want the extra service, when staying 2-6 nights, as they want to keep their costs down on the accommodation tariff to have a cheaper rate. We offer the extra service to all guests if you wish to pay for clean towels and linen, which is mentioned in the compendium and booking online on our website.
The compendium in the apartment, that you photographed, has all the information for people to read about the property and our requirements whilst staying at Airlie Apartments. The sign in the KITCHEN is a reminder to wash your dishes and put them away where you found them, as not everyone reads the compendium and we ask you to not leave dirty dishes on the sink and walk out leaving it for the housekeepers to clean. It would costs us more in labour expenses and we have to pass this cost onto you. In my 5 years at this property all of our guests have been respectful and we have never charged anyone.
The BBQ's are cleaned every morning by the staff and if someone has used them during the day we don't clean them again until the next morning.
Your stay with us was for 2 nights and as you were departing on Christmas Day we allowed you to stay on and use the apartment until it was time for you to depart at 2.30pm. We did not charge you and these are the little extra's we do for our guests to ensure that they know 'we care' about them.
Cheers,
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager
Airlie Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    85
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
62
158
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We had a great time in the Whitsundays and really enjoyed our stay at Airlie Apartments. The Apartment we stayed in was a one bedroom by the pool, it was clean, spacious and well finished. The pool area was lovely and we took full advantage of the BBQ facilities there. The apartments are a 2 min walk to local shops and around 5 mins walk to Airlie beach and the marina. The device provided by the management team was second to none, the were happy to assist with anything we needed, such as the best day trips, best restaurants as well as advise on best way to get around and to/from the apartment. Would highly recommend and definately plan to head back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbeas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Service and a friendly smile is important at Airlie Apartments.
We are a short walk to Airlie Beach to the restaurants, small supermarket, lagoon and shopping.
Our apartments are spacious and the poolside BBQ's is a good way to relax, unwind and even meet new friends.
Airlie Apartments is in the incredible Whitsundays and it is the perfect crystal blue waters and good service that is the WOW factor.
Come and see, we would love to have you!
Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again one day.
Cheers,
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager
Airlie Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Beauty Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Airlie apartments for a couple of weeks. Cathy the host was extremely helpful, kitchen lights did not work - Cathy had them fixed immediately
Pool is beautiful and clean. Air conditioners in apartment work well- necessary in the heat. Very quiet at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed at Airlie Apartments for two nights. Cathy was very helpful picking us up from the bus stop and bringing us home. We were upgraded to an apartment with a sea view which was a nice surprise. The apartment was very comfortable and clean. Cathy can give great advice with booking tours etc. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

what a great place to stay, management and staff were super friendly with excellent advice and knowledge on day trips and airlie beach itself. the location was very central will a 5 minute downhill walk to the town. the unit we had was fantastic with an awesome view of the marina and bay. we couldn't fault the cleanliness of our apartment and had all we needed to be self contained.highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a two bedroom family apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful views. We always try to do our best for our guests and if it is possible to give you a 'complimentary' upgrade, we will do our best. It is not always possible and depends on other bookings at the time of arrival.
We are close to everything and if you do not feel like walking up the hill, the taxi is $5-$10 depending on the time of day/evening that you are travelling.
We book all the tours at our reception and offer Free Wi Fi when you book with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again when next travelling to Airlie Beach.
Cheers,
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Airlie apartments was a perfect choice for us,the accomodation suited the holiday we wanted...relaxing,well situated with stunning views and close to all that is Airlie. Our apartment was magnificently situated,well equipped for self catering and beautifully furnished.
It must be said that the jewel in the crown of our Airlie experience was Cathy Airlie apartments manager who took the time to get an idea of what we were looking to experience and point us in the right direction.Cathy is a wealth of information and as Airlie Beach has so much to offer in experiences I would highly recomend a chat with her to discover your own adventure. Hospitality and service of this standard is becoming a rareity,especially in large impersonal resorts.
Airlie apartments cater so well to all singles couples friends and families. I will be returning again and again and again...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salli g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Service is our specialty and we do our best to ensure you are looked after. We can book all your tours whether it be overnight sailing or a day tour to the reef and/or Whitehaven Beach. if you are unsure how to get from A to B, then I am more than happy to help you plan your holiday. If I know about it I will tell you, if I don't I will try to find out for you.

Airlie Apartments is clean and comfortable accommodation for those who are happy with 3.5 star accommodation. We are a 300m walk to the town of Airlie Beach and a taxi is available if you don't feel like walking back up the hill. I say we like to keep you a little fit whilst you indulge in the good life on holidays.

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to write. Our guests do mention that they read about us on Trip Advisor, so it does work!

I hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager
Airlie Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Lovely spacious apartments, with everything you need, a nice balcony, a massive pool with views overlooking the sea - perfect for barbecues at sunset! The accommodation is just a short walk up a hill from the centre of town, which makes the views even more spectacular and means your just the right distance away from the party central. Cathy, the manager, is wonderful and will do absolutely anything to help anyone. We stayed here for several weeks and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie-Apts, Manager at Airlie Apartments, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Our quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle yet closer enough to walk into Airlie Beach.

It is important to us that our guest's come first! Whether you are booking tours or sourcing information on where to go and what to do, we will offer all our information and book everything for you.

Overnight sailing combined with accommodation is our specialty and we offer a discount voucher between $20 - $50 per person, (depending on overnight sailing tour price) to use on accommodation if you book your overnight sailing tour with us.

Free Wi Fi with all tour bookings is also included.

I hope you are both enjoying your travels as you spread your wings around Australia and hopefully one day you will visit Airlie Apartments again.

Best Wishes
Cathy Logan
Resident Manager
Airlie Apartments - info@airlieapartments.com.au 0061 7 4946 6222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Apartments

Property: Airlie Apartments
Address: 22 Airlie Cres, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airlie Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why book with Airlie Apartments? ** Great Friendly Service - we will look after you! Book direct for accommodation discounts! Book your tours at our reception or via our online tour business Airlie Beach Online. Courtesy transfers from the tour operators for all tour bookings! Our hilltop position overlooks the Coral Sea with magnificent views over Pioneer Bay, Abell Point Marina and the spectacular Whitsunday Islands. We are situated a small walk (300 metres) - a taxi is $5.00 - $10.00 From Airlie Beach depending on day/night/weekend. Salt water swimming pool and a smaller toddler pool is the perfect location to unwind and enjoy the breathtaking views of the Coral Sea. Pool and barbecue facilities, outdoor settings and sun lounges for the perfect restful break away from home. Games room for the little kids! Laundry facilities with washing machines, clothes driers and clothes line are also onsite for your convenience. Onsite management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Airlie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Apartments Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Apartments Beach
Airlie Apartments Hotel Beach
Airlie Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing