We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant - CLOSED

Mai Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent evening, great food, great service, great company and great price.

We were a group of nine and choose the "Feed us" option $35 per person and WOW. The dishes just keep coming to the stage we had to ask for a break in courses just to give our taste buds a rest.

I am not sure why previous reviewers complained about the price as each of our party agreed that the food was fantastic and excellent value.

Do yourself a favour and bring along a party of 8 or more and I am sure you will be as pleasantly surprised as we all were, great experience, well done Mai Saigon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Will never visit again - service was pretty good, however the food was so overpriced - it was actually quite good food, but appalling at the ridiculous prices they think they can charge tourists. $10.50 for 2 x small dim sims?? $3.00 for a single small serve of steamed rice? Over $230 for a meal for 2 adults and 2 children, and we all left still hungry - really??

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Mot, hai, ba, YO!””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My family and friends have returned to Mai's restaurant 3 times. Staff are helpful and friendly and the food is amazing. I think because we have been to Vietnam many times we know what to eat and how to eat it and have not had one dish that we haven't totally enjoyed. There is now a banquet menu that one of my workmates had a couple of weeks ago and he said it was unbelievably good and amazing value for money so we are keen. We are also getting our lunch from the takeaway section a couple of time a week. We have been more than happy with the cost. This is a wonderful restaurant and definitely worth a visit. There is also some really cool vespas at the back of the restaurant and if you have ever been to Vietnam you know vespas are everywhere. Congratulations Mai you have done a great job with Mai Saigon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TAJ370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“third time back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Third time back for a reason. First time the 2 of us, second time we took a party of 10 ,the last time a party of 18 and everybody happy with food and price. Among the groups are some extensive world travellers. I thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and fresh food.. Obviously restaurant is new and service has improved each visit. Honestly believe that anybody who thinks this is not authentic Vietnamese or too expensive should go back to Macca 's

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
“poor management, very overpriced, small portions, never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Food portions were tiny and extremely overpriced.
French waitress was absolutely useless.
Management seems to be very poor and unorganised.
Many people seemed unhappy in the restaurant.
Would not come back or recommend this restaurant

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank localairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mai Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing