We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end of a great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2010

After 1 month of traveling through Australia we wanted to end in style and this apartment complex really was ideal. 10 days prior to our stay here we lived in a small camper van, so the contrast between those 2 types of spending your holiday was immense!

We stayed in a 1 bedroom penthouse with a stunning view of the marina and luxuriously equipped. Above that we had an immense balcony. Privacy is guaranteed thanks to an intelligent way of construction (you can not look from one balcony to another).

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The isolation in the building is great, you do not hear any noise from other apartments.

Prices are not cheap but at least everything is 100% up to standard. One must expect this when paying a considerably amount of money but I've already been to 5 start accommodations where it wasn't the case. Here, at least it was.

The location is perfect: a 5 minutes walk to the spot where the majority of the Island cruises leave from. And A 15 minute walk from the town centre. Of course you can also take a taxi. So far enough from the busy centre, yet close enough to get there quickly.

One small downside was that the digital television system didn't work, or at least I didn't understand it. Probably the staff could have fixed this easily but didn't even ask for it. After all you don't want to watch television at such a beautiful spot...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2009

OVERVIEW:

The Peninsula is a brand new apartment complex set on a rocky headland with beautiful views of Abel Point Marina and the ocean.

Walkways extend in both directions along the shore to Shingley Beach or the town of Airlie Beach (a 15-20 minute walk or AUD 10 taxi ride away) which is popular with both regular tourists and backpackers.

We stayed here for two nights before setting sail for a four day trip around the Whitsunday islands on a beautiful square rigged sailing ship called Coral Trekker with (--) (see separate review).


THE SUITES:

We stayed in a wonderful (single level) two bedroom penthouse for AUD 379.00 per night.

The open plan living area included a beautiful kitchen equipped with all the latest appliances, a dining area and well furnished sitting area with a large flat screen TV and hi-fi system. Complimentary broadband access was available in the small study, and a washing machine and tumble dryer were located in the laundry room, both of which led off the main living area.

The master bedroom featured a king size bed, walk-in wardrobe and a lovely ensuite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower.

The second bedroom was locked-off as we had only booked the apartment for two.

Both the living area and the bedrooms led on to two huge private balconies with beautiful views of Abel Point Marina and the ocean.


FOOD & DRINK:

The nearby town has a good choice of places to eat and there is a small supermarket located on the main street near the taxi rank which sells everything you are likely to need for a short stay of two or three days. If you are staying longer, a large Coles supermarket can be found a short car ride away on the outskirts of town.


POOL:

The property features a small outdoor pool, alternatively you can swim and sun bathe by the man-made lagoon near Airlie Beach (recommended).


SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENT:

The booking process was more painful than it ought to have been and there was some confusion at check-in as to whether we had been allocated the correct apartment (which as the manager later acknowledged, worked in our favour as we were charged for a sub-penthouse apartment but were correctly allocated the penthouse apartment we had booked).

Whilst the apartment was generally very clean, all of the mugs provided in the kitchen had large coffee rings around them and had to be washed before we could use them. The cutlery also had to be washed before use.

Unlike previous reviewers, and despite our easy going nature, we did not find the staff at the front desk very helpful or friendly (particularly after I had raised the issue of the dirty mugs and cutlery) which was a real shame as the apartments themselves are beautiful.

The apartments would also benefit from the addition of a docking station for an ipod / iphone / MP3 player.


THINGS TO DO:

Take the walkways along the shore to Shingley Beach or the town of Airlie Beach.

Swim or sunbathe by the man made lagoon.

Take a boat and explore the Whitsunday Islands.


OUR COMPLETE ITINERARY:

Sydney: Park Hyatt (H)
Blue Mountains: Lilianfels (H)
Blue Mountains: Trek with Life's an Adventure (O)
Nelsons Bay : Amarana Beach Resort (A)
Port Macquarie: Quality Inn HW Boutique (H)
Coffs Harbour: Promised Land Cottages (A)
Byron: Byron at Byron (H)
Gold Coast: Palazzo Versace (H)
Airlie Beach: The Peninsula (A)
Whitsunday Islands: Coral Trekker (O)
Hamilton Island: Qualia (H)
Darwin: Sky City (H)
Litchfield National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Kakadu National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Ayers Rock (Uluru) & The Olgars (Kata Tjuta) National Park: Longitude 131° (H)
Perth: The Richardson (H)

(H) = Hotel (A) = Apartment (O) = Other

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adventura1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We recently spent our honeymoon at Peninsula and could not have asked for anything more. We decided to stay here after doing much research and saw that for the price and location, was perfect. It was modern, close to town (about a 15 min flat walk) passing Abel Point Marina where many of the reef/beach excursions leave from, passing the man-made lagoon where people can swim and lay out into town with shops, grocers, restaurants and bars. Sandy, who works at the front desk and also co-owner took care of everything for us from reef diving/White Haven Beach to a sunset cruise (Jeremy and Nicole on the Sundowner Cruise is a must!!). She was very friendly and always available. We arrived to find a box of Belgian chocolates, flowers, and a bottle of champagne and ICE WATER in the fridge! The apartment was facing the marina with a great view of the harbor and sea turtles below. Very spacious with a full kitchen, fold-out couch for extra guests, upstairs bedroom and bathroom (very comfortable bed), living and dining areas, and an outstanding patio for viewing sunrises. It is more of a backpacker town with hostels and travel stores which just makes it that much more fun of a place!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyromedic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The Peninsula has a tremendous location, right at Able Point Marina which is where the Cruise Whitsundays boats leave from. We used the glorious apartments as a base and went out on the water most days. The apartment was spacious and beautifully appointed. The view of the marina was marvelous. There is a pretty serious walk into town (about 15 - 20 minutes) and to the shops (10 minutes at least) but taxi fares to town and shops are cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the whole experience really relaxing. The apartments are to a excellant standard and there was everything you could want available for use.

We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse apartment (they lock the 2nd bedroom) as there was only two of us, which was overlooking the marina which gave you plenty of interest while resting on the sun beds on the large balcony.

The apartments are a short stroll into Airlie Beach centre along a lovely boardwalk which makes it an ideal stay away from the hussle and bussle of the main town.

We did two day trips whilst here, both with Fantasea Cruises, one to the Barrier Reef and one to Whitehaven Beach which includes a 3 hour stop in Hamitlon Island.. Really good value and must do trips. Both trips were arranged for us by the kind receptionist at Peninsula.

Whilst these apartments are more expensive than most around this area they are well worth the extra for its facilities and location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishalAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We were delighted we decided to stay in these apartments. They are equipped to a very high standard. The air conditioning also worked very well as it was quite a humid time of year. We only stayed here 3 nights but found the management team very helpful. Sandra helped us to organise our trips to make the most of our stay. We enjoyed our day out on the Whitsundays seaplane and it enabled to us to get a good feel of the area in a short time. The plane flew over several islands and we were able to see the coral areas. Also we stopped on their small snorkel station for a while to snorkel and then flew on to Whitehaven beach. There were only 9 of us on the trip so it felt like a personal trip. We also did the 3 island boat trip which gave us a different view of the islands.
We walked into Airlie from the apartments which took about 20 minutes . It was a pleasant walk past the marina and through a park area - we returned in a taxi because it was dark. There is a shopping centre nearby at Cannonvale which has a supermarket and lots of shops and banks. Again we walked here and returned in a taxi. I would definately recommend these apartments for a stay in the Whitsundays if you do not want to be in the centre of Airlie.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights hoping to sail around the Whitsundays during the day. Unfortunately a tropical cyclone several hundred km's north put paid to that plan so we stayed in and around airlie beach until it was time to head back down to Brisbane. Unless your a backpacker, this is not the ideal place to be left with nothing to do - it rained constantly and none of the boats left the marina because of high winds. Thankfully the apartment made a great place to stay - modern, roomy, clean and with a great view of the marina. Apparently the 2 bedroom apartments sell for +$AUS 1.0million so you can get some idea of what they're like. if you're looking for a great location and stylish place to stay in Airlie beach, this place will take some beating. Yes, you can find cheaper places to stay, but between four it works out at around £100 per night each.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alderwasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 56 in Airlie Beach
527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Airlie Beach

Address: 144 Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £186 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peninsula Airlie Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peninsula Airlie Beach is a five star absolute water front apartment complex. All apartment balconies which are large have expansive views over the marina and out to the Coral Sea and northern Whitsunday Islands. Choice is from 1 - 4 bedroom apartments and penthouses with fully ducted air conditioning, large balconies, with elevator access to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Peninsula
Peninsula Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing