We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay, in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay, in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed in the a luxury suite in the Waterfront Whitsunday on the final leg of our honeymoon in November 2012. When we arrived we were met with a fabulous staff member named Shannon who was really helpful to us. Our room was immaculate and had everything we needed, plus a fabulous spa on our balcony, along with a lounger and table and chairs. They provided free breakfast packs for every day and the mini-bar in the fridge was full of delicious treats and drinks and really reasonably priced too! The retreat only has 7 rooms so you are guaranteed to have a relaxing time when you arrive here. It also offers free WIFI, has game consoles, digitial tv etc at no extra cost.! We are so glad we came here!

Room Tip: Ist floor or penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    24
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
93
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We recently spent 5 nights in the Penthouse celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The accomodation was fantastic. Everything was perfect. The kitchen is gorgeous, although we didn't really use it because we were too busy checking out all the restaurants, the jacuzzi was awesome, views gorgeous, staff extremly helpful and friendly and they organised our Helicopter flight and return transfers for us. All in all, a very beautiful place, great location and we look forward to returning. We loved the 'Boutique' feel of the place and felt very special.

Room Tip: Love, love , love The Penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the beautiful hotel, the service is wonderful and the rooms were perfect everyday thanks to the cleaners :)

The penthouse is 5/5 without a doubt with amazing views and just walking distance from everything! Fantastic price too!

We had a few problems with the smoke alarm and within 5 minutes somebody was on site to sort it out (after hours too!)

Thanks guys - we will be back soon! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaTate91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

From before we booked the managers were extremely helpful ensuring we got the room on the floor we wanted. They promptly replied to all emails, offered us different options and booked tours and hotel transfers for us. When we arrived at 11am they were apologetic our room wasn't ready (check in isn't until 2 anyway) and promptly cleaned it so it was ready early at 12.30. The room is exactly like the pictures - the views are just as amazing!
The holiday got even better when my partner proposed with champagne (from the extremely reasonably priced mini bar) in the balcony spa. Perfect view, room and moment.
The service has continued right through our stay and we will be regrettably checking out Wednesday however have already decided we will return for our honeymoon and add in an island.
The BBQ area and pool are amazing, its a short walk into town but an easy one and you are facing the main road but with the doors closed or music on you can't hear traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Recently a group of us stayed for two nights in the Penthouse and all I can say is that we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The rooms were spacious, and the kitchen was simply to die for!! The location is perfect and within walking distance to the centre of Airlie. I would highly recommend staying here!

Thanks for having us at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat!

Room Tip: Penthouse is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank her383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Upon arrival, I found what they call a 'one bedroom spa suite' is a studio. Obviously, I was misled by the expression 'one bedroom' and thought this place has a separate bedroom. When it is a studio not a one-bedroom apartment, it is overpriced.

You might call this place luxury if you like a big TV and Nintendo, but there is a lack of attention to details. You will be blowing your nose with toilet paper as they don't provide you with tissue. In the bathroom, the toilet doesn't flush properly and there is a dysfunctional combination of a nice-looking sink and a spout - the spout is too close to the sink, just like at some old houses and hotels.

I didn't find the place relaxing at all. There is an ongoing traffic noise which you hear even when the sliding door and window are closed. The view is nothing I imagined from what they say on their website. You can see a bit of water and the bay but more than that you are looking at a big, ugly development site and an ugly hotel building.

There is a spa on the balcony but again taking a spa is not so relaxing when you hear the traffic noise. When there is no view to admire, what's the point of having a spa on the balcony (especially when this means that you have to wear a swimming consume in the spa)?

Overall, this place is only good if you like modern amenities, rather than a quiet environment and a great view. I am glad that we only booked for one night, and for the rest of our stay at Airlie Beach, we had a fantastic time at Martinique Whitsunday with a great view, a good-size swimming pool, a heated spa, and no traffic noise.

Lastly, they emailed us a guest survey form even before we checked out, about 8 am! Were they trying to get rid of us?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Pengapa,

Many thanks for your review, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Our One Bedroom Spa Apartments are open plan, we display an image of the apartment on our website and in all possible instances we display the same image on travel partner websites, online booking websites etc

The boutique nature of Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat goes beyond the big TV and Nintendo you mention, whilst we do provide 50 inch high definition tv's and Nintendo Wii's as part of the experience (unique to any hotel in Airlie Beach) we also offer the following features

1. Adult only policy, we do not cater for children to ensure exclusivity for a relaxing environment, unique to Airlie Beach.
2. Daily housekeeping service, the majority apartment style accommodation in Airlie Beach offer weekly housekeeping service.
3. Premium Peter Morrissey bathroom amenities, featuring shampoo, conditioner, bath & shower gel, hand & body lotion, exfoliating body scrub, massage soap, shower cap, sanitary bag, sewing kit.
4. Complimentary unlimited high speed wireless internet. Each apartment has a dedicated wireless router which enables us to offer independent signal to each apartment.
5. Complimentary array of in house movies, fox sports channels, discovery channel etc. The property offers the largest range of in house movies of any hotel in Airlie Beach.
6. Complimentary herbal tea selection, we offer a selection of six "Twining’s" herbal teas (change with season) during our cooler months we offer lemon infused and chai herbal teas to enjoy.
7. Yamaha iPod docking station provided, Yamaha are recognised for superior sound quality.
8. Quality Posturepedic bedding, pillows (three per sleeping position) and quality linen.
9. 11am late check.
10. Corner Spa Bath (6 person Jacuzzi in our top floor Penthouse).

We are situated 50-100 meters from the Port of Airlie. Opened in April 2011, Port of Airlie is a Fashion & Dining Precinct, retailers include Billabong, The Coffee Club, Aimer Accessory’s, Calypso Resort & Swimwear, Denman Cellars & Beer Cafe and Cha mah Moroccan Restaurant. We enjoy views of Port of Airlie, Pioneer Bay and Mandalay Point which features beautiful rainforest.

In regards to the guest survey, we email each guest on the day of departure at 8am, i am sorry if you were offended to receive this email, it was certainly not our intention to hurry you along as our check out time is 11am. We welcome feedback from all guests and offer the online 60 second survey as a means to receive feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in our magical region, Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat is part of at Hotel Group which offers a variety of hotels in Airlie Beach, and we would welcome you at any of hotels in the future.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I needed time away from work and although I only stayed only 1 night, it was amazing and well worth it. I stayed in a Spa Suite and you truely have everything you need. Comfortable modern furnishings & a stunning private balcony with spa. The apartments are located just a short 5 minute walk from town. Nestled away from the bars/pubs.The staff are friendly & helpful. I'd suggest to book on their webiste for the best deal. I have already mentioned this place to my friends and I look forward to going back real soon. Value for money, you certainly get more than you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear MelbAussieGirl,

Many thanks for your review and congratulations on being a TripAdvisor Senior Reviewer.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, Shannon and the team pride themselves in ensuring a comfortable stay, I hope you had an opportunity for a game of ten pin bowling on the Nintendo Wii, it is surprising how "active" you can be with a Nintendo Wii.

Shannon, Matt and I look forward to welcoming you back to Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
16.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,085 reviews
16.0 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

Property: at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Address: 438 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat sets new standards of luxury award winning couples only boutique accommodation in the Whitsundays. Adjoining Airlie Beach and nestled on Pioneer bay which features pristine turquoise waters surrounded by breathtaking rainforest, guests can expect a high level of privacy coupled with exceptional unobtrusive personalised service. The luxury retreat comprises an exclusive collection of just five, one bedroom balcony spa suites and an incredible top floor Jacuzzi penthouse, with views over Port of Airlie and the Coral Sea. The luxury spa suites feature contemporary inspired interior furnishings that exude style and tropical ambience, natural timber louvers, spacious balcony with corner spa, Brand new king size beds, gourmet galley kitchen and pebbled ensuite bathrooms. The penthouse features a unique four posted king bed, the master bathroom featuring a double person rain shower, generous powder room complete with private balcony overlooking lush rainforest, a gourmet kitchen, black marble bar complete with wine fridge and stainless steel fixtures. Externally the penthouse enjoys an expansive balcony complete with six person Jacuzzi. Redefining intimate levels of service suites are serviced daily whilst the retreat boasts a private sun deck, deep water horizon pool, guest BBQ, lush tropical gardens, a-la-carte in room massage, facial and beauty treatments, unlimited FREE wireless internet, tour booking desk, great barrier reef touring, concierge and personalised limousine transfers. Exuding luxury, romance and tropical ambiance, at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat offers the travel connoisseur a perfect blend of relaxation, intimacy and personalised service for an unparalleled couples only retreat experience. PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 18+ enforces a strict NO NOISE NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Hotel
At Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing