We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Oh my god' was the only thing said for the first 5 minutes we were in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
“'Oh my god' was the only thing said for the first 5 minutes we were in the room”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse apartment, after easily finding the place and a quick and easy check in, we walked up the stairs and 'oh my god' was the only thing said for the first 5 minutes we were in the room. We walked in to a huge living area that looked out to the full length balcony with sea views, had a day bed, six person spa and eating area. Once we got over that we found the master bedroom that had a beautiful bathroom and a seperate powder room area. The second and third bedrooms were quiet large with a double bed and a futon in one. The second bathroom was beautiful with washing facilities. The kitchen was huge and had great cooking facilities. The dining room was very large and very nice but we ate outside the whole time as it was so beautiful. The whole place was very modern and relaxing. It was just a short walk into town (short enough to even wear heels) and had a bus stop right across the road which made it easy to find your way to a day trip. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Would highly recommend Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, was great for our girls weekend and would also be perfect for a family getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    24
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had the most wonderful stay at the Waterfront Retreat. The penthouse was fantastic. IWe loved the location as it was just a very short walk to the local shops and bars. All trips we booked were door to door service and we had a bus stop right across the road for us to travel around independantly. The driveway was rather steep and could be a problem for some. It was a big shame that a development was going on as it has blocked what was obviously a beautiful view. I'm sure when it is done it will be an advantage to the Waterfront Retreat. Would i go back again....absolutly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensaltwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWBB29, Owner at at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Port of Airlie opened in April 2011, welcome to the latest Airlie Beach Fashion & Dining Precinct. Discover a place where you are just a short walk from shops, restaurants and recreational facilities. Port of Airlie is loctaed 50 meters from at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat.

Port of Airlie Retailers include:
• Billabong
• The Coffee Club
• Aimer Accessorys
• Calypso Resort & Swimwear
• Denman Cellars & Beer Cafe
• Cha mah Moroccan Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We have stayed at many accommodation places throughout the Queensland area and this resort was by far the best we have ever stayed in.
My husband and I went away for some very much needed R&R and this was the perfect place for it with absolutely beautiful rooms and views and top class amenities we didn't even feel it necessary to leave our room but however being in Airlie with the beautiful sceneary and amazing Islands how could you not.
Then there was the outstanding service we received from the friendly, helpful staff what more can I say do yourself a favour and if you are thinking of staying in Airlie make this your choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackay
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

the rooms were luxurious and spacious, the spa was wonderfully relaxing and the whole experience is one we cant wait to do again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogangar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Very comfortable and quiet place to stay. The unit was clean and well serviced every day. The staff were freindly and helpful. The closeness in proximity to the centre of town made the stay easy for meals and to be able to see the area without too much bother of transport. The whole of the Whitsunday Islands were magnificent and it was a great place to stay. We would recomend it to any one.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWatkins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat for 7 days, having booked a Honeymoon Lifetime Anniversaries Package. The service was above and beyond from the minute we checked. Scott was exceptional as the Hotel Manager and we personally would like to thank him for making our stay hassle free and ensuring all our tours and package extras were taken care of. The Luxury Spa Suite was fantastic. It felt like home from the minute we walked in and we were sad when we had to leave 7 days later. OMG - the spa on the balcony was a wonderful way to end each evening. The Suite was spacious, all the furniture was modern and user friendly and even came with the added bonus of free WIFI. The retreat is located not even 5 mins from Airlie Beach shops and for anyone travelling up there from Sydney, you will instantly notice the rapid price differences at the Airlie Beach 24 hour convenience shop compared to our alternative down here - 7 Eleven. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to everyone. We look forward to going back soon! Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropPrincess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We made a call on route to Airlie Beach.. 20 mins. later we were on the balcony of our room, glass in hand - speechless! From the first point of contact to well after we left I can say without any doubt that the service, attention to detail & sheer intimate decadance was overwhelming. An easy approx. 300 mtr walk to town - Airlie has it all. And when you are done.. the hotel is EVERYTHING you could want to relax. Beautiful in decor, superior in provision... we went for a night & wouldve stayed forever if we could. I even tried to change the flight details in order to spend just one more night at the Retreat. I didnt want to leave.. A beautiful corner spa on the balcony, overlooking the serene pool & bobbing lights from the boats in the bay... relaxing tunes from my IPOD drifing from the awesome docking station through the concertina window as we sat drink in hand, featherlight bubbles tickling our chins... WOW! I was aching to go shopping just to cook in the amazing kitchenette... A night cap curled up on the super comfy bed & pillows with a soft glow from the plazma screen on the opposite wall... It really was like a dream. I dont know or care what any other room was like, but Luxury Spa Suite #4 was where time stood still. The staff were amazing... attentive yet highly trained in understanding quiet relaxation & intamacy. I could rave forever.. (and we have to many believe me).. this sacred little gem is one of the few places in the world (and Im talking about the hotel, not just the location) that I can honestly say is one of my most favourite places in the world! .. Peter Pan had his own happy thought... Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat is ours! Indulge yourself... the cost is very reasonable.. in fact, for what you leave with.. the cost is more than a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LnLDezignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
16.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat

Property: at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
Address: 438 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat sets new standards of luxury award winning couples only boutique accommodation in the Whitsundays. Adjoining Airlie Beach and nestled on Pioneer bay which features pristine turquoise waters surrounded by breathtaking rainforest, guests can expect a high level of privacy coupled with exceptional unobtrusive personalised service. The luxury retreat comprises an exclusive collection of just five, one bedroom balcony spa suites and an incredible top floor Jacuzzi penthouse, with views over Port of Airlie and the Coral Sea. The luxury spa suites feature contemporary inspired interior furnishings that exude style and tropical ambience, natural timber louvers, spacious balcony with corner spa, Brand new king size beds, gourmet galley kitchen and pebbled ensuite bathrooms. The penthouse features a unique four posted king bed, the master bathroom featuring a double person rain shower, generous powder room complete with private balcony overlooking lush rainforest, a gourmet kitchen, black marble bar complete with wine fridge and stainless steel fixtures. Externally the penthouse enjoys an expansive balcony complete with six person Jacuzzi. Redefining intimate levels of service suites are serviced daily whilst the retreat boasts a private sun deck, deep water horizon pool, guest BBQ, lush tropical gardens, a-la-carte in room massage, facial and beauty treatments, unlimited FREE wireless internet, tour booking desk, great barrier reef touring, concierge and personalised limousine transfers. Exuding luxury, romance and tropical ambiance, at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat offers the travel connoisseur a perfect blend of relaxation, intimacy and personalised service for an unparalleled couples only retreat experience. PLEASE NOTE : For the enjoyment of all guests, Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat 18+ enforces a strict NO NOISE NO PARTY POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach
Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Hotel
At Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing