We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Coming from a couple with a 3 year old kid that travells a Substantial amount both interstate and overseas we both agreed that The hotel itself was good, however what made this hotel really stand out was the service fom the staff... From the moment we checked in Nikita was very warming with a huge smile, which then carried out to the bell staff, waitress's (that remembered our room number and exactly what we had the morning before and repeated the order), room service and so on...when u have management and staff that go the extra step to make you feel comfortable then u don't even seem to worry about any imperfections that may with the premises (if there was any).
The only thing if I had to be critical would be that the pool can be a a bit larger.
But apart from that would highly recommend it and good value for your dollar :)))

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

Fabulous views & the biggest spa bath I have ever seen. The only down side is that the hotel is located up a very steep bank. However it does run a courtesy bus into town & Taxis are readily available.
Loved it loved it loved it!! and will most definately be going back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnybabeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at Peppers for a weekend in a 1-bedroom apartment with our 2 year old daughter. This is the second time I have stayed there. It is located a pretty easy 5 min walk from the main street in Airlie.

The apartments are modern, clean with a generous spacious layout, a well-equipped quality kitchen and ours had a massive spa in the ensuite. I have never seen such a large spa in a hotel bathroom. Being on a lower level the view for us wasn't great from the room. We could only see the mud flats , not the ocean. The room I'd stayed in previous was mostly orientated towards the mud flats too. Must be unlucky because there are buildings that would surely have amazing views.

The facilities at Peppers are a little lacking in my opinion. Pretty small pool with a deck that is exposed to the restaurant which I found a bit gawky and awkward. On the plus side, the view from the pool and spa over the Coral Sea is amazing and you can get some very enviable photos relaxing with a cocktail in hand in the spa with the turquoise sea sparkling in the background.

No gym!! The walk up the hill from the road into town is a bit of a workout but I see a gym as a big plus.

The restaurant serves quality food and the bar staff were impressive, serving some delicious and unique cocktails.

Breakfast was set menu with several choices. The hot breakfast was good. Not a huge portion but good quality produce. The Bircher muslei was bland and tasteless; the worst I've ever had (and I am a huge fan of Bircher muslei).

One thing that I really didn't like about Peppers was the extra charge we paid for our daughter to stay. When we stay away we bring her own little foam mattress and bedding and she sleeps in with us. However, we were required to pay an additional $50 per night for her to stay in the room. I can't see that it is justified, particularly as there are surely many singles staying there (lots of miners) who bring extra guests home after partying in town and no one is increasing their tarriff.

Overall, we were satisfied with the quality of the apartments and enjoyed our stay but there were a few things that could have improved our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freckles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The experience was very Peppers - very friendly, helpful staff, really nice rooms, great view and excellent breakfasts and dinners with fresh, local food. But the hotel was at the top of a very, very steep hill - it was a 15 min walk down to Airlie but a big ordeal to walk back up. We ended up catching cabs to go back (the bus only ran every 2 hours). And the pool was small and right beside the restaurant - not very relaxing to lie there in pool gear or swim while the people just on the other side of the glass are dining!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors - we were first allocated a lower level room which had a view of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkp1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear jkp1803,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed the Peppers experience of service and taste sensations created in Tides Restaurant and Bar.
The team look forward to welcoming you back again soon when you next decide to holiday in the Whitsundays.


Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Friendly staff, very comfortable and clean rooms with a great bathroom. Very steep hill but we were advised of this and the taxi company inexpensive and willing to do short trip to and from town. Excellent breakfast as part of tariff with coral coast views

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear itchinAustralia,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. The team at Peppers Airlie Beach are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had been previously been warned about the steep hill but it still didn't prepare us for just how steep it was, but in saying that it really wasn't an issue. They have a shuttle to take you into town if needed, we had our own car so it was fine for us. I see it as if they didn't have the steep hill we would have been able to enjoy the awesome view. The rooms were excellent everything we could have asked for. The balcony was great. Unfortunatly my husband got sick while we were there, but the staff were more than helpful bringing me extra towels and straws at 10pm. There were a couple of hiccups with the room with the bathroom and washing machine door not working properly and the dryer thermostat was broken but maintanence came and gave us full access to the room next door to use the washer. And for my trouble my room service was waived. You really couldn't ask for more helpful and attentive staff. We would definately stay again. The location was just great! There is just one thing I would say though is that the showers need to have a proper screen on them as it is just a glass partition and water goes EVERYWHERE. It is a bit of a hazzard and the shower rose needs to be replaced as has seen better days (but show me a hotel that has a good shower rose).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kg0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

You gotta love when you walk into a hotel room and everything is in there that is essential to your needs, we had a weekend without the kids but next time we come back with the kids we'll stay here for sure, the rooms have everything you need as a family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruddsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Ruddsy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. The team at Peppers Airlie Beach are happy you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming back the whole family on your next vacation to the Whitsundays.


Kind Regards

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
16 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £110 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Airlie Beach accommodation includes One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with views of the Whitsunday passage from verandas. One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers leisure options including the culinary delights of Tides Restaurant & Bar or revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. Maintenance Notice: Due to damage resulting from Cyclone Debbie, Peppers Airlie Beach is conducting internal repair works with limited noise disruptions to guests. From July to 30 December 2017 roof repair works will begin resulting in external noise and accommodation blocks with scaffolding in place will be closed while completed. Please note the property will be closed 13 - 30 November 2017 due to repair works. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Please note: Amex is not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing