We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have review this resort when it was new may 2012 that stay was good, but since then they have gone down hill. On arriving our room was not ready, we were told in a rude manner "the room may take a little bit of time to get ready" so I asked to be given a call when it was ready .I had driven for 8 hours from work to get there as a supprise for my partner and was quite keen to get in my room. As we didnt fell like waiting in the foyer. We went down to airlie beach to kill sometime. Still no call at 4pm so I rang up to find out if it was ready, only to receive a sarcastic " all rooms are ready"
Finally we get our room. it is looking well worn these days. but still has a great veiw ,we put food and drink in the fridge At night the neighbours above were deffinantly having a good time unfortunatly this ment we had no sleep. We decided to have breakfast and go home at 7am for some sleep. The breakfast was small salmon had one slice of salmon, one small slice of bread two eggs and half an aspargus stem for about $25
To top of the stay all our food and drink was frozen in the fridge as it was set on the coldest setting
Once again thanks Peppers for making our stay memorable
Ps:the property is very steep and to far from airlie to walk for an one that is not fit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alcheringasailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Alcheringasailing,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.
Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Coral Coast Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    331
    160
    50
    25
See reviews for
265
539
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex, england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

It's a very steep hill whether you're walking or driving but once you arrive you see sweeping views out to see and across the new marina. The good thing is that all the rooms come with a good view and complimentary sea breezes!

Disappointingly, we were checked in and given keys however, when we got into the room it was clear the last guests hadn't long left!! We were able to sit by the pool whilst they cleaned the room however it felt like it was ready too quick and when we got in it just didn't have that clean and fresh feel a newly made up room should have.

As the time went on it was clear that the whole room needed a really deep clean as there were marks and grubby areas everywhere which was disappointing for such a nice hotel.

The hotel itself has a small but nice and refreshing infinity pool, only downside is that anyone in the restaurant watches you swim or sunbathe.

Reception were very helpful with making bookings and we chose to go out to the Whitsundays by sea plane. The restaurant was good every morning for breakfast and evenings are pleasant for dinner with a decent menu and wine list. Only down side to the restaurant was the grumpy chef continually moaning at the serving staff. A couple of them seemed new but he seemed to be giving them a hard time which was a little annoying as we were eating.

Although it was nice, The management need to pay more attention to detail and remember that star ratings come with a responsibility to uphold them...it felt a bit slack at times.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better views - spa rooms come with luxury tubs though you probably won't use them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Flyboylee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad that you decided to stay with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. However we are sorry that you were frustrated with your experience when it came to the state in which you found your room. Your feedback has been passed onto respective departmental managers. We do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach again soon.


Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is part of the reputable Peppers Chain and while not 'five-star' is a good-high standard of accommodation. Set just outside of the main village of Airlie, it's probably most suitable for families. The pool is great (infinity) although not massive - luckily it was never too full to take a dip. The rooms were nicely furnished, well-equipped and in a good state, with HUGE balconies. Only negative was the noise - we found ourselves sandwiched between a room of 4 just-out-of-schoolers and what sounded like part of a football team. Noise carries really badly. We told staff and they said they would deal with it, which did lead to some reduction but you know what resorts are like...can't do too much about that kind thing. Probably would give the Boathouse (a new Outrigger property) a go next time - although if you're a beach lover like me, Port Douglas craps all over Airlie - vice versa, if it's the Whitsunday's and sailing and snorkelling you want, this is probs the place to be.

Room Tip: maybe try and a get a room further up the hill to avoid noisier groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Pavlob,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I was disappointed to learn that you experienced a noise issue when staying with us, we pride ourselves on being a quiet getaway for all of our guests and unfortunately some people over schoolies week distrupt this!

We do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Peppers Airlie Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Peppers Airlie Beach from the 27th November to the 1st December 2013.

From our phone calls before we arrived, to our check in, our stay and check out, we absolutely loved our stay.

The resort is beautiful, the rooms and the views to die for, and the dinner at Tides Restaurant just amazing

What really made our stay special, was the staff.

Without exception, we were so impressed with everyone that dealt with us during our stay.

Thank you, and all your staff for making such an impression on us, every bit of it was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear 63GR,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback- your lovely comments have been passed on to the department heads to be shared with their team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach very soon!

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Utterly beautiful room. Incredibly polite and helpful staff, particularly Simon at the front desk. Lovely infinity pool. Innovative bar deals; loved the Cocktail Passport. Massive spa off the main bedroom. Well-appointed kitchen.

Room Tip: I think room 314 is one of the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Your lovely comments have been passed on to Simon, the team and our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The furniture in the room was getting a little old, tired and grubby as was the carpets a bit thin and worn. The spa bath taking over the bathroom was just ugly, impractical and a nuisance - someone obviously had no idea on interior design!
The pool was nice and refreshing, however, nowhere near enough space around it and only a few sun loungers situated in the walkway between the rooms and the restaurant/bar/reception, so not a very relaxing place.
On the good side the food at Tides was great in the evening and the evening staff were lovely. But breakfast should be avoided at all costs! Unless you like cardboard bacon and either lumpy and runny or cold and rock hard scrambled eggs - And one of the wait staff at breakfast was really rude and obnoxious!
All of the other staff were wonderful so it's a shame one bad tempered, ill mannered waitress put a damper on things

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WaileaLinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Wailea Linda G,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.
Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards


Jodi Shambrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in a one bedroom apartment with lovely views across to the pool area and also to the harbour that is still under construction. Very well appointed apartments and the pool area is lovely although often busy as its a small area. Very good gym and the grounds are well maintained. The driveway is SUPER steep and I would not recommend elderly guests stay here. Even with the golf carts that will pick you up at the bottom it is still very steep within the grounds of the hotel. Staff were lovely and the shuttle bus service was good. We walked into town most days but the shuttle back with our shopping was appreciated.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Stacey H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday- your lovely comments have been passed on to the relevant staff and departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach very soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
235 reviews
16.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Property: Peppers Airlie Beach
Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill top overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage, Peppers Airlie Beach, offers stylish and elegant accommodation in the heart of Airlie Beach. At the resort you are perfectly positioned to experience the wonders of the spectacular Whitsunday islands and the vibrant seaside village of Airlie Beach. Accommodation includes beautifully appointed One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with majestic views of the Whitsunday passage and wide breezy verandas maximising the tropical lifestyle experience. All apartments feature bathrobes, free WiFi, clothes dryer, daily room service, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV with cable, in-house movies, hair dryer, in-room safe, in-room pay for view movie system, mini bar, air conditioning, spa bath, self contained kitchen including cook top, oven, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, freezer, microwave and dishwasher. They also feature separate lounge and dining area, iPod docking station, washing machine, ironing facilities and One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers a multitude of leisure options including the culinary delights of the exceptional Tides Restaurant & Bar, pure pampering and relaxation at the onsite endota spa or you can revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of things to do including sailing, day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, scenic flights over Whitehaven Beach, skydiving, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. In the town of Airlie Beach you will discover a selection of shops and boutiques intertwined amongst a variety of dining and entertainment venues. The Whitsunday's protected waterways, myriad of islands and Great Barrier Reef are all at your fingertips when holidaying at Peppers Airlie Beach. From 1 Feb until 31 April reception hours are Sun-Thur 7am to 7pm, Fri & Sat 7am to 9pm. For the rest of the year reception will be open 7am to 11pm daily. If you expect to arrive outside reception opening hours, please inform the property 1 day in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Please note: Peppers Airlie Beach does not accept AMEX. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing