We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Peppers for 3 nights in December, arriving Christmas Day. The Christmas dinner was OK (overpriced, but at least it was a meal on Christmas) and our room was ready when we arrived around 5PM. The room was spacious and clean. I would normally give this place 4 stars, but the Internet did not work the entire time we were there. What kind of a resort doesn't have Internet in this day and age? They just kept saying "we don't know when it will be fixed." We wanted to FaceTime with our families back in the United States and couldn't. I understand that the Internet shouldn't be a big deal when you're on vacation, but my husband and I are executives at our companies and cannot be without connection, even on Christmas. I had called ahead two days prior and confirmed there was Internet, only to get stone walled when we arrived. It's just not acceptable. Their Internet seemed to work just fine to process our credit card payment for our overpriced dinner and cocktails, but suddenly when I need to check work email, it's down? Joke. We had to go into town to use the Internet at a cafe. Get it together, Peppers!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Lindsay R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it disappoints me to learn that some aspects of your stay were not up to standard. Unfortunately the interenet issue is in the hands of our provider who is workinging tirelesly to ensure that we don't encounter this problem again!

We appreciate your understanding and do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach soon.

Warm regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Peppers is in a lovely elevated location above airlie beach. However the road up the the resort is very steep and shuttle buses will drop you at the bottom of the hill. We had a car so it wasn't too much of an issue for us, but for some of our friends they found it a little annoying. Peppers do provide a shuttle service during certain hours up and down the hill.

The apartment was spacious and lovely, with a huge spa in the middle of the bathroom. Can't fault the rooms at all. Free parking is available generally close to your room.

Unfortunately, our biggest issue with peppers (other than the hills) was that the reception is adjoined to the "bar" and it really didn't feel like it had any character. Just some bar stools next to reception. The restaurant was also right next to the pool which felt a little crowded. And all this is along the main driveway into the resort. Lovely views, but it didn't feel private or inviting.

Staff were amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 2Aussie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we understand your comments about Mt Whitsunday where the resort is situated- we can certainly apprecite that it is quite steep but as you would know, this is how we achieve our beautiful sweeping views. Also as you mentioned we have systems in place to ensure guests are assisted as much as possible with getting to and from town.

We are glad you enjoyed your time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Would have liked the option of an earlier check in as arrived at 9am as there wasn't really a lobby or comfortable waiting area.
The room itself was lovely and the view was good however it was up a very steep incline and although the staff were more than happy to ferry you up and down on the golf buggy sometimes you didn't want to bother them.
To sum up the staff were very friendly, the food was good,the room was lovely but would I give it 5 stars probably not I've stayed in better and would I stay here again probably not.
They need to include a little shop newspapers etc, a comfortable lobby and a nice bar area for a drink in the evening maybe a little music!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the bottom of the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Carolanne2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately during peak season we do encounter back to back bookings but do endevour to have the room ready as soon as possible.

We hope to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here from 27th December for 3 nights. I appreciate it is a very busy time of year but we were quite disappointed at the service for a hotel displaying they are the winner of 2013 trip advisor award! Awarded a bit prematurely!

We arrived in advance of the 2pm check in time and were told our room would not be ready until 2pm but we could use the pool which was great! We returned to a queue at check-in at 2pm to eventually be told that our room was not ready as the towel delivery had not turned that morning and they were still to be put into the rooms. We were willing to wait for towels but still could not get a key. 30 minutes later of hanging around reception we were given a key and told our room was ready. We drove to our room only to find the housemaids still cleaning the room. We waited on the balcony until we heard the front door close without a word from the cleaners to say that they were actually finished.

We went out shortly after and upon returning to the room found that the keys we were given did not work, we hadn't tried them as the door was open with the cleaners being in on our arrival. We walked up to reception to find another queue and waited patiently for our key cards to be reset. When we returned to the flat the key cards still didn't work so back we walked to reception and waited again for the gentleman to return to the apartment with us to find that they were not working but let us in with the master key. We were told he had a few things to do but would come back to us once he had spoke to maintenance about this. About two hours later another gentleman came to the door with working key cards.

The room was set in a tropical setting but surely something can be done about the spiders and webs all around the railings at the entrance to the door and some of the trees cut back so that you can walk without ducking under them. We could not use the balcony as the light was filled with insects and when we sat there in the evening insects were dropping into our food!

We were told when checking in that the wifi was down except for in the reception area and it should be up in the next day. Fair enough. It did not work for the whole duration of our stay. We asked at reception what the problem was as my partner needed to do some work whilst we were there and didn't feel comfortable sitting in reception for hours to do this. We always pick hotels with wifi for this purpose! We were told it wouldn't be fixed until 31st as the Internet supplier was shut for the festive season and that the hotel was still paying $2000 a week for the service even though you were not getting the service from your supplier. Not acknowledging that we were paying you for a service!

Breakfast was very poor. Tinned spaghetti and some sort of mince included in the small buffet really not up to standard of any other 5 star hotels we have stayed at.

Would not return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Ashley B ,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly.

I look forward to hearing from you. Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We wanted to thank Peppers Airlie Beach for a Wonderful Stay. From the moment I booked and emailed to say my parents where staying with us so they couldn't do alot of walking they placed us in an amazing room with amazing views close to everything we really appreciate this. The staff where fantastic. Thank you for Everything.

Room Tip: Room 135 is Fantastic!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Zoey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Zoey L,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our resort. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during the festive season and your kind words have been passed on to department heads to be shared with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach again very soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our 5th stay in 12 months at this Peppers and it won't be our last and it's nice to be recognised when we check in and served in Tides. Natasha I think is her name is in Tides is lovely as always.

Nothing it too hard for the staff there.

Well appointed rooms, great pool, great food.

Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear andrew n,

What a delight it was reading your Trip Advisor comment. We are so glad that you choose Peppers Airlie Beach when you visit and certainly look forward to having you back each time.

Your kind words have been passed on to Natasha and the entire team, it's always lovely to hear back from our regular guests.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night recently and was disappointed from the moment we checked in. We arrived well after 2pm only to be told our room was almost finished and could we wait in our car in the undercover carpark. What the???
So we were given our room key only to find our room a total mess and no housemaid in sight! They hadn't even started cleaning yet! We had just driven half a day and keen to put our bub to bed. We drove back to reception to be given another room and waited for a port-a-cot which we had pre-booked. An hour later I phoned reception only to be told "yes we know you are waiting" and that was it!
The room itself was ok. Bathrooms probably due for update with a way too big ugly spa. As for view? You could only just see the water between the overgrowing trees and units in the way. Not worth a photo.
Breakfast wasn't great, but the staff there were lovely. Pool has amazing views. Shame the resort is built on goat country with steep driveways (forget a pram)
Compared to other 5 star properties? not so brilliant. You'd get more moneys worth staying at the local Big 4 caravan park.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear FreqFlyers23,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly.

I look forward to hearing from you. Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
16 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £110 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Airlie Beach accommodation includes One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with views of the Whitsunday passage from verandas. One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers leisure options including the culinary delights of Tides Restaurant & Bar or revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. Maintenance Notice: Due to damage resulting from Cyclone Debbie, Peppers Airlie Beach is conducting internal repair works with limited noise disruptions to guests. From July to 30 December 2017 roof repair works will begin resulting in external noise and accommodation blocks with scaffolding in place will be closed while completed. Please note the property will be closed 13 - 30 November 2017 due to repair works. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Please note: Amex is not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing