We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peppers Airlie Beach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mantra Club Croc(Cannonvale)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$523
US$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)
US$228
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
597
440
207
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
440
207
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstides restauranteco raterecommend pepperspeppers resortsshuttle bushuge spa bathsteep hillshuttle servicegolf buggybuffet breakfastbedroom spa apartmentendota spagreat viewbeautiful resortrestaurant staffrelaxing staywalk into town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
997 - 1,002 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at the resort, and it was just as good this time. The rooms are large and clean, with a well-stocked kitchen and lovely bathroom. The restaurant Tides, while not cheap, is of a high quality, and very flexible. A shuttle, supplied by the resort and running every two hours, enabled travel downtown and back, if we didn't want to walk the steep hill, though there are stairs that cut the incline, and the height provides the fabulous views. Being in the swimming pool, looking at the view of the ocean, was just sublime! It's true, the internet didn't work in the rooms while we were there, but it could be accessed from the front lobby and restaurant, and was out of the resort's control to rectify. We were there for both Christmas and New Year's, felt welcome and looked after the whole time, and would definitely recommend the resort for people who are looking for this type of holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbiedob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear robbiedob57,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our resort, your kind words are definitely appreciated and have been passed on to the department heads to share with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach for a third time very soon!

Warm regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Peppers for 3 nights in December, arriving Christmas Day. The Christmas dinner was OK (overpriced, but at least it was a meal on Christmas) and our room was ready when we arrived around 5PM. The room was spacious and clean. I would normally give this place 4 stars, but the Internet did not work the entire time we were there. What kind of a resort doesn't have Internet in this day and age? They just kept saying "we don't know when it will be fixed." We wanted to FaceTime with our families back in the United States and couldn't. I understand that the Internet shouldn't be a big deal when you're on vacation, but my husband and I are executives at our companies and cannot be without connection, even on Christmas. I had called ahead two days prior and confirmed there was Internet, only to get stone walled when we arrived. It's just not acceptable. Their Internet seemed to work just fine to process our credit card payment for our overpriced dinner and cocktails, but suddenly when I need to check work email, it's down? Joke. We had to go into town to use the Internet at a cafe. Get it together, Peppers!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Lindsay R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it disappoints me to learn that some aspects of your stay were not up to standard. Unfortunately the interenet issue is in the hands of our provider who is workinging tirelesly to ensure that we don't encounter this problem again!

We appreciate your understanding and do hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach soon.

Warm regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Peppers is in a lovely elevated location above airlie beach. However the road up the the resort is very steep and shuttle buses will drop you at the bottom of the hill. We had a car so it wasn't too much of an issue for us, but for some of our friends they found it a little annoying. Peppers do provide a shuttle service during certain hours up and down the hill.

The apartment was spacious and lovely, with a huge spa in the middle of the bathroom. Can't fault the rooms at all. Free parking is available generally close to your room.

Unfortunately, our biggest issue with peppers (other than the hills) was that the reception is adjoined to the "bar" and it really didn't feel like it had any character. Just some bar stools next to reception. The restaurant was also right next to the pool which felt a little crowded. And all this is along the main driveway into the resort. Lovely views, but it didn't feel private or inviting.

Staff were amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear 2Aussie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we understand your comments about Mt Whitsunday where the resort is situated- we can certainly apprecite that it is quite steep but as you would know, this is how we achieve our beautiful sweeping views. Also as you mentioned we have systems in place to ensure guests are assisted as much as possible with getting to and from town.

We are glad you enjoyed your time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Would have liked the option of an earlier check in as arrived at 9am as there wasn't really a lobby or comfortable waiting area.
The room itself was lovely and the view was good however it was up a very steep incline and although the staff were more than happy to ferry you up and down on the golf buggy sometimes you didn't want to bother them.
To sum up the staff were very friendly, the food was good,the room was lovely but would I give it 5 stars probably not I've stayed in better and would I stay here again probably not.
They need to include a little shop newspapers etc, a comfortable lobby and a nice bar area for a drink in the evening maybe a little music!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the bottom of the hill!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Carolanne2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately during peak season we do encounter back to back bookings but do endevour to have the room ready as soon as possible.

We hope to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here from 27th December for 3 nights. I appreciate it is a very busy time of year but we were quite disappointed at the service for a hotel displaying they are the winner of 2013 trip advisor award! Awarded a bit prematurely!

We arrived in advance of the 2pm check in time and were told our room would not be ready until 2pm but we could use the pool which was great! We returned to a queue at check-in at 2pm to eventually be told that our room was not ready as the towel delivery had not turned that morning and they were still to be put into the rooms. We were willing to wait for towels but still could not get a key. 30 minutes later of hanging around reception we were given a key and told our room was ready. We drove to our room only to find the housemaids still cleaning the room. We waited on the balcony until we heard the front door close without a word from the cleaners to say that they were actually finished.

We went out shortly after and upon returning to the room found that the keys we were given did not work, we hadn't tried them as the door was open with the cleaners being in on our arrival. We walked up to reception to find another queue and waited patiently for our key cards to be reset. When we returned to the flat the key cards still didn't work so back we walked to reception and waited again for the gentleman to return to the apartment with us to find that they were not working but let us in with the master key. We were told he had a few things to do but would come back to us once he had spoke to maintenance about this. About two hours later another gentleman came to the door with working key cards.

The room was set in a tropical setting but surely something can be done about the spiders and webs all around the railings at the entrance to the door and some of the trees cut back so that you can walk without ducking under them. We could not use the balcony as the light was filled with insects and when we sat there in the evening insects were dropping into our food!

We were told when checking in that the wifi was down except for in the reception area and it should be up in the next day. Fair enough. It did not work for the whole duration of our stay. We asked at reception what the problem was as my partner needed to do some work whilst we were there and didn't feel comfortable sitting in reception for hours to do this. We always pick hotels with wifi for this purpose! We were told it wouldn't be fixed until 31st as the Internet supplier was shut for the festive season and that the hotel was still paying $2000 a week for the service even though you were not getting the service from your supplier. Not acknowledging that we were paying you for a service!

Breakfast was very poor. Tinned spaghetti and some sort of mince included in the small buffet really not up to standard of any other 5 star hotels we have stayed at.

Would not return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Ashley B ,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly.

I look forward to hearing from you. Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews