We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic rooms... not much else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms... not much else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for a few nights after New Year.
The rooms was very impressive with a massive balcony and great views over the bay.
Its obviously quite new and the rooms were immaculate with plenty of space and really well equipped ( full kitchens and spa baths etc ). Truly fantastic.Great beds too.
The pool was clean and warm but a little small for a hotel of this size. Also there is very little room around the pool to sit and relax. This is worth noting as Airlie Beach does not have a lot of other places to go to sit and take sun or go for a swim, so if you are in the resort for a few days you will miss that. The hotel is a 20 minute walk down a hill to town so it would be nice to have a larger place to come back to and sit ( other than the room of course ).
The breakfasts were not great either. Quite a poor choice of cereals and fruit, and bitter coffee, unless you pay the extra $4 to have a latte or cappuccino. Could be improved on easily.
Service was fine and friendly.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraser_sw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear fraser_sw5,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Your comments regarding the breakfast have been passed on to our head chef in an effort to ensure guest satisfaction.

We do hope to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach again soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    333
    160
    50
    25
See reviews for
265
542
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in mid-jan in a self-serviced apartment. Very clean, airconditioned, with balcony and ensuite bathroom. Staff very friendly - located on top of Mount Whitsunday Drive so every two hours a van would go back and forth to town for guests. Reception will also arrange free golf buggies to take you to the bottom of the hill. Only minor points were that the shower had no door so water would spray out onto the floor, but the good point was that this would all evaporate in a few hours.
Felt good coming back here every night after the activities, it felt homey and modern. We had a package that included a hour long massage at Endota Spa and a dinner at their restaurant - both were great. Taxi to reception from town was about 7$ so quite reasonable compared to sydney prices. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenmcbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear sheenmcbean,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our resort. It's always lovely to hear back from our guests and your kind words have been passed on to the department heads to share with their teams.

We are currently doing maintenance on all rooms and are working on a solution for the showers, hopefully next time you visit the issue will be rectified!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon,

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here having previously stayed at a Peppers hotel in Queenstown and also based on Tripadvisor reviews, we were not disappointed. This is a lovely hotel, we had a 1 bed apartment which was a good size, had all the facilities you would want and good views. Its situated off a steep road, but the hotel runs mini buses into Airlie Beach every 2 hours and has electric buggies to help transport people up and down.
The staff were fantastic, particularly Simon and Jennifer, impeccable service and they are all so friendly and helpful. The restaurant was also very good, one of the best meals we had on our holiday.
We would stay here again without a doubt. Thank you Peppers Airlie Beach team, you helped make the start of our holiday really great!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Your kind comments have been passed on to all department heads to share with their team!

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach again very soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one-bedroom for one night. Three sinks and no soap, dirty sheets, and a big long hair on the "clean" towel. The rugs had not been cleaned (or need to be replaced). The whirlpool bathtub was nice, and the staff was friendly enough. We would have extended our stay, but decided to find another hotel as we were not impressed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is just ok. The pool area is very small, and does not get sun all day. As there is no beach you would think they would make up for it with pool space.
Also this hotel does not have a premium feel, it feels quite used and run down.

I have allergies and when at breakfast and asked about them, the chef was quite rude and made me feel like i was inconveniencing her.

As a result we left early.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 330ci_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear 330ci_12,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly.

I look forward to hearing from you. Phone- 07 49625100 or Email- jodi.shambrook@peppers.com.au

Kind Regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spending $6k for 2 apartments for 7 nights at one of the most expensive resorts in Airlie Beach, we thought it was going to be exceptional. 3 Adults and 5 Children aged between 12 and 17. We imagined, great weather, good food, and lots of pool time. Unfortunately Peppers left much to be desired.
Whilst the staff are some of the best staff Ive encountered, and the apartments themselves are good, it is such a shame that the pool for such a large resort is like a backyard pool, with little space both in and out of the pool. And it overlooks the driveway. YES you can look out to an inlet and the mountains but you are also looking right at the driveway. We didnt spend much time in it, as 8 ppl + the other guest left if very overcrowded, luckily the Lagoon in town is kickass. The food is the biggest let down. Days old fruit salad, "scrambled eggs" which I saw being made is mostly milk, are the most feral eggs I have ever eaten. Muffins which may be made on site but not served fresh. The only good food was the hash browns, cant go wrong with frying frozen goods.

The restaurant is surprisingly expensive, but after the breakfast let down we didnt take the gamble of having to paying around $500 for 8 people to eat dinner, when they couldn't get scrambled eggs right.

Fantastic staff as I said, but management definitely need to up reassess the hotel in terms of food and the small swimming pool looking over the driveway. I have had better breakfasts in backpacker hotels in developing countries.

I will say that I think with some minor adjustments Peppers Airlie Beach could be exceptional and we would be happy to return should food and pool be brought up to the same standard that the rest of the hotel is.

We appreciated the shuttle into town and return. It is a decent walk into town with the humidity and steep hill to the resort.

Room Tip: 324 we got cockatoos on the balcony every afternoon, they are happy to eat out of your hand. Was a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Kika J,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We have certainly taken your comments on board and will be speaking with the relevant department heads to rectify the issues you faced.

I understand your comment about the pool area, unfortunately during the peak season it does indeed fill up quickly.

Your lovely comments about the staff have been passed on to the team leaders to share with the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Airlie Beach very soon.

Warm Whitsunday regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at the resort, and it was just as good this time. The rooms are large and clean, with a well-stocked kitchen and lovely bathroom. The restaurant Tides, while not cheap, is of a high quality, and very flexible. A shuttle, supplied by the resort and running every two hours, enabled travel downtown and back, if we didn't want to walk the steep hill, though there are stairs that cut the incline, and the height provides the fabulous views. Being in the swimming pool, looking at the view of the ocean, was just sublime! It's true, the internet didn't work in the rooms while we were there, but it could be accessed from the front lobby and restaurant, and was out of the resort's control to rectify. We were there for both Christmas and New Year's, felt welcome and looked after the whole time, and would definitely recommend the resort for people who are looking for this type of holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiedob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi S, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear robbiedob57,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our resort, your kind words are definitely appreciated and have been passed on to the department heads to share with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Airlie Beach for a third time very soon!

Warm regards,

Jodi Shambrook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
9.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
16.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Property: Peppers Airlie Beach
Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill top overlooking the majestic Whitsunday Passage, Peppers Airlie Beach, offers stylish and elegant accommodation in the heart of Airlie Beach. At the resort you are perfectly positioned to experience the wonders of the spectacular Whitsunday islands and the vibrant seaside village of Airlie Beach. Accommodation includes beautifully appointed One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with majestic views of the Whitsunday passage and wide breezy verandas maximising the tropical lifestyle experience. All apartments feature bathrobes, free WiFi, clothes dryer, daily room service, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV with cable, in-house movies, hair dryer, in-room safe, in-room pay for view movie system, mini bar, air conditioning, spa bath, self contained kitchen including cook top, oven, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, freezer, microwave and dishwasher. They also feature separate lounge and dining area, iPod docking station, washing machine, ironing facilities and One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers a multitude of leisure options including the culinary delights of the exceptional Tides Restaurant & Bar, pure pampering and relaxation at the onsite endota spa or you can revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of things to do including sailing, day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, scenic flights over Whitehaven Beach, skydiving, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. In the town of Airlie Beach you will discover a selection of shops and boutiques intertwined amongst a variety of dining and entertainment venues. The Whitsunday's protected waterways, myriad of islands and Great Barrier Reef are all at your fingertips when holidaying at Peppers Airlie Beach. From 1 Feb until 31 April reception hours are Sun-Thur 7am to 7pm, Fri & Sat 7am to 9pm. For the rest of the year reception will be open 7am to 11pm daily. If you expect to arrive outside reception opening hours, please inform the property 1 day in advance, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation. Please note: Peppers Airlie Beach does not accept AMEX. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing