We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Appartments, Brilliant Restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We have a very well appointed 3 Bedroom appartment overlooking the new Marina development that is still under construction. All the rooms are large each with large ensuites. The MBR ensuite has a huge spa. The kitchen is well appointed but you will need to be a genious to work out how to operate the oven. There is a very large balcony with out door dining furniture that the appartment opens out to.

The views are quiet expansive due to the position of the resort perched up on the hill. The walk into town is easy, about 10mins, however you may choose to grab a cab back as the hill is quite steep. Cost about $10. There is a taxi rank on the main street of Airlie.
The short distance away from the main town of Airlie Beach is a plus as Airlie is more a backpacker town and comes with the associated party venues.

We are here with our Family 2 Adults & 3 Kids (5, 12 & 13) and they have enjoyed the pool / Spa, Its not that big but well positioned as our apt looks directly overthe pool we have been able to keep an eye on them. As this resort has Family size apts our kids have made new friends and we really havent seen much of them at all!

The Tides Restaurant is definately the jewel in the crown of this resort. The head chef has created a stunning menu and everything that we have ordered has been cooked and presented to perfection. The scallops are outstanding ($3.50ea). The quality of the service in the restaurant has matched the expertise of the kitchen. The resturant is open air style and integrates nicely with the pool/ spa area. Prices are very reasonable considering the standard of fare. ('4 Tastes of the sea') maincourse $40, Wild Barramundi $33, Perfectly cooked Black Angus Fillet $38. Entres $15-20.

This hotel style resort is pretty much brand new and has all the mod cons, access to rooms is via lift or stairs. Both Telsta & Optus mobile reception is full strength.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we are happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Leonie Lohrey
General Manager
Peppers Coral Coast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

Peppers at Airlie Beach is a relatively new establishment and we got a very good deal for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment.

The apartment was quite impressive and spacious. The kitchen was lovely and modern, as was the dining area. The lounge area had a large chaise style lounge which could easily double as an extra bed.

The bedroom was nicely made up and the maid service always did a good job of making up the rooms. The beds and pillows were very comfy which is important to me.

The bathroom was also great, with a huge spa bath and 2 individual sinks. Also included were shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, "vanity kit", "personal care kit", shower cap, body lotion and soaps.

The lounge had huge glass panels that opened out to the balcony with views to the sea, but the view was a little bit spoiled by some industrial work being carried out on the sand (part of the Port of Airlie development, I would assume.) This is not Peppers' fault, obviously.

Overall, the apartment was comfortable to be in and I could even imagine myself living in it!

My only minor issues were that the outside noise was very audible in our first floor apartment (Armit) from about 7-10am with guests stomping up and down the stairs, and the heavy front doors of their apartments falling shut behind them. Also, the lounge and bed linen had some small stains on them and this is always something I can't bear to look at when I'm staying somewhere. Apart from that, the rooms were satisfactorily clean. Lastly, you had to purchase the wifi, which cheaper hotels offered for free.

Onto the outside:
The reception area, restaurant/bar area and pool area are stunning. They are all situated close together at the front of the resort which is convenient because guests can easily find the restaurant and pool. This combined area is surrounded by a waterfall-like feature with flame torches lighting the way at night. As mentioned by others, the pool is relatively small for the size of the resort but we found that there were rarely many people there as they were out enjoying themselves. Other resorts of a similar size had the same sized pool.

Yes, there is a steep hill but we were lucky enough to have our car with us. If you are organised you can get the shuttle bus back at 7pm, or if you make your way to the bottom of the hill the staff will pick you up in a golf buggy.

The restaurant is very high quality, but expensive. We found the dinners to be unaffordable. The breakfasts and lunches were expensive but not out of reach. The coffees were wonderful. Some of the best coffees we've ever had! The wait staff were very attentive and incredibly efficient.

The reception staff were always friendly and professional. We would recommend this place to our friends and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We do have an ongoing cleaning schedule which includes steam cleaning of all furniture in apartments, unfortunately from time to time the furniture does become stained in the interim. Thank you for your comments regarding the internet service, we are researching other possibilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Leonie Lohrey
General Manager
Peppers Coral Coast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed for 4 x nights at Peppers Coral Coast. From the minute we arrived, we were spoiled by the friendly staff, and they looked after our every need right throughout our whole stay.
The room was spacious and modern, with the biggest spa we had ever seen! It was beautiful to sit on the balcony overlooking the water as we ate breakfast or enjoyed our own happy hour!
Set on Mt Whitsunday, the water views are absolutely stunning. And being set amongst bushland meant it was such a quiet haven.
The restaurant, Tides, is just beautiful and the food was divine. We dined there often, from a lazy lunch to a romantic dinner, and the food was such a highlight of our stay. The restaurant is open-air, their water feature had just been completed, and of course those heavenly views all combined to really set the scene.
We also ate in our room, both with room service (their Asian take away from Tides was perfect) as well as buying some groceries from the supermarket in Airlie, so we could have snacks and breakfast in our room as we wished.
It was just a short walk in to Airlie Beach itself. The hill that Peppers sits on looks very imposing at first, but they have stairs between the buildings, so you can easily make your way to your room without losing your breath. And of course there's the shuttle bus that Peppers offers, which was really handy for getting to town (or back with shopping) and they also took us to Shute Harbour.
This is a stunning resort, and our whole stay was made by the staff and the quality of the food - would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natty_Rann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Hotel and staff were excellent, nothing was to much trouble. Rooms are lovely, new, clean and have great view and are fully self contained. Pool and day spa are beautiful. Food, both as room service or in the restaurant was some of the best I have had and I travel a lot. The resort is set on a hill side and has pretty steep access so if you aren't very fit or are travelling with small kids you will benefit from having a car although they do have a shuttle bus. It's a beautiful place in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franticworkingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The best things about this place were the stunning views over the harbour and having the Whitsundays right on your doorstep. Far enough from the noise of the main strip to enjoy the tranquility of the area, but close enough for a casual stroll to dinner.

Rooms were well presented, spacious and modern (careful of the scary microwave). You could split your time between the balcony and the bubble bath and never leave the room.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Day trips can be easily booked from reception.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalec_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Booked this place at a good rate. Loved the rooms and the view. Very spacious. Enjoyed the pool and drinking coffee beside it! Bar and wait staff were very friendly.

As for the hill - this hill is the cure to Australia's obesity crisis.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We have just returned from our stay at Peppers and I cannot compliment the staff there highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they even ran us into town at un-scheduled times on the resort shuttle bus, reception staff were wonderful and all our requests were dealt with promptly. If all resort staff were like this then holidays would be a pleasure.

And now for the downside..

The resort is lovely and does have beautiful views however as said by other travellers the swimming pool is way too small, we travelled at a quiett time so had the pool pretty much to ourselves when we wanted but I couldn't imagine what it would be like at peak times. The resort is also too far to walk from Airlie Beach and we had to get taxis everywhere and that hill has to be seen to be believed, we didn't even try and walk up the hill.

We had absolutely no problems with the water pressure and we didn't find the tiles or any areas around the resort slippery at all so not sure what areas are a problem and it rained quite a lot the last day we were here.

Our rooms were cleaned every day and the apartment was spacious with plenty of room, also we had huge spa that was more like a little swimming pool in the bathroom.

Our only other "gripes" are that they were fixing up the pool area and workmen were grinding machinery from 8.00 am until 4.00 pm every day we were there, the noise was very very irritating and far from relaxing and spoilt it for us somewhat, we ended up sitting inside our apartment to get away from it which is not what you do when on holidays, we should be sitting by the pool relaxing, but this was impossible . We mentioned it to staff but didn't receive any compensation other than one said oh well you can have Saturday and Sunday off from the noise which didn't help as we left on the sunday. Lastly, even though the resort was pretty empty, for some reason they were lumping all of the guests close to each other so that we had no privacy on our balcony and did get some noise from people above us. It would have thought it would be better to give resort guests the opportunity for some space if possible. Just seemed a little silly, there was about 5 rooms booked out and we were all close to each other, and we noticed when we went out on our balcony our fellow guests would go inside and vice versa. Also they gave us a ground floor level room so our view was obstructed by buildings, this was part of the reason we wanted to stay there because the views were supposed to be amazing, I'm sure they would have been if we were up higher, can't understand this as the resort was almost empty.

All in all, we did like the resort, but not the noise, not the lack of privacy and not the walk up the hill so we really can't decide whether we'd stay there again, and we were a little disappointed that not much was done about the noise either.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSSIEGIRLVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLohrey, General Manager at Peppers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. I’m delighted to hear overall you had a pleasant stay at Peppers Coral Coast and that you found the staff exceptional.
I concur the hill can be a deterrent for ease of access in and out of the property however this is what creates the ambiance and allows us our spectacular elevated views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Passage. As you mentioned we are very accommodating in providing courtesy shuttle runs or assisting in your travel arrangements.
Unfortunately in a resort there is never a good time to carry out maintenance works however it still needs to occur to maintain our standards. I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused.
The allocation of rooms during your stay was a strategic plan implemented to minimise noise levels for our in-house guests. Every effort would have been made to relocate you had we been advised of your concerns at the time.
Once again we would like to thank for your valuable feedback and hope that you would allow us to demonstrate the true hospitality of Peppers Resorts next time you holiday.
Kind Regards,
Leonie Lohrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
16.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
11.9 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
16 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Airlie Beach

Address: Mount Whltsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £110 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Airlie Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Airlie Beach accommodation includes One, Two and Three Bedroom Spa Apartments, all with views of the Whitsunday passage from verandas. One Bedroom Apartments offer disabled facilities. The resort offers leisure options including the culinary delights of Tides Restaurant & Bar or revive by the stunning wet-edge resort pool. Tours leave daily from Airlie Beach and offer an array of day trips to the Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach, scuba diving, snorkelling and crocodile safaris. Maintenance Notice: Please be advised that Peppers Airlie Beach is currently undergoing maintenance works due to damage resulting from Cyclone Debbie. The property is currently conducting internal repair works with limited noise disruptions to guests. Roof repair works are currently underway which will result in external noise and scaffolding in place, accommodation blocks with scaffolding in place will be closed while repairs are completed. Works will be ongoing until 10 July 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peppers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Coral Coast Hotel Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing