We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country House with Excellant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solberge Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The new buyers have got it right. From the friendly greeting on Reception & "Excellant" service in the resturant (Callum) we realised we have found our little English Haven. In fact we were in 2 minds to let everyone in on our secret .If you want a Quaint Country Hotel without any frills & plenty of Character plus excellant service choose this hotel. Patricia treated us like members of her family with a warmth & profesionalism we have not seen in Hotels for years. Well done to all ..look forward to my next visit in June.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onholiday186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

We arrived on a Thursday night with a warm welcome at reception staying for two and were not dissapointed. The room was beautiful one of the new refurbished rooms. Without knowing that there was a steak night on the evening it made our stay even more wonderful. I had a beautiful 10oz sirloin and my husband opted for the ribeye and coming with cherry vine tomatoes, mixed salad, homemade chips and bernaise sauce it was the best steak we had ever had. The service was perfect uniforms are a bit of a Chinese affect but the staff were fantastic. After a lovely trip out we decided to eat in again unfortunately no steak night but I had a had Thai fishcakes which were went down well and my husband a fisherman on the trawlers went for an unusual Shetland mussels with a guiness sauce he thoroughly enjoyed them and got the recipe from the chef, I even tried them myself and were lovely an unusual combination but very nice. Over all an enjoyable two days shame about the no swimming pool as it looked as though it stated on the website but looks as though they may have one later in the year I'll pack my bikini for next time x

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megs1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I am shortly to be married and arranged my hen party at Solberge Hall who were having a "Grease night" This was absloutely perfect for me (too old to be bothered with clubs and pubs) I arrived with my 25 "Pink Ladies" and we all had the most perfect night. The food was to die for and of a very high standard and the Grease tribute act were fantastic. The house disco then took over and we were all dancing until 1am. The staff were fantastic and the fresh cooked breakfast the next morning was wonderful. The hotel are currently refurbishing all of their rooms as some of them are a little outdated but all are spotlesley clean.
We are having our wedding reception at the hotel in March and are really looking forward to having it at such a beautiful place. I will post again after this and let any future brides know what our day was like. PS really looking forward to spending the night in the recently refurbished bridal suite - it should be lovely.
On another note we also attended their halloween ball - which was another fantastic party night - i would definetly recommend people to look on their website to see what other party nights they are arranging as they are fantastic value for money - tickets were £25 for 3 courses plus the entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deliciousmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Solberge together with a group of friends last July after a spendid day at Thirsk races. I have travelled extensively both for business and pleasure and it's always a pleasure to find the unexpected. The location the welcome the accommodation and especially the restaurant were all excellent. The staff were very helpful even when two of our friends arrived by helicopter the staff laid on a landing site in a adjoining field. Well worth a visit and the restaurant is not to be missed

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We would like to that all the staff at the Solberge Hall for providing us with a wonderful weekend.
The Hotel was cosy and warm against the cold British winter weather.
We arrived Friday evening to a friendly and efficient reception.
The room was large with open views of the Yorkshire countryside from the large shash windows with heavy drapes and matching bedding in keeping with the authenticity of a Grade ll listed building.
The restaurant was very much a fine dining experience, an artform on the place but tastes were devine. Thanks to the chef.
The table service remained professional throughout even though the Hotel was not busy they continued with their quality of service thoughout.
What we didn't like ....... having to leave - we absolutely loved it!
This was our second visit to the Solberge the first for our 25th wedding anniversary, and this time for our 29th anniversary, we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My better half explain we are going to see a local band (fiddlyn man doris) and had booked us into a small quiet hotel. On arrival l almost killed him, the drive up to the hotel was stunning with the views of the countryside. Once in the hotel, which was holding a wedding reception, the receptionist and waiters were very polite, helpful and eager to make our arrival pain free. (everyone had evening wear on, we walked in looking like 2 hippies) we were directed to our room, which was very grand. The room was spotless, clean bathroom, comfortable bed. We didn;t make use of the resturant this time for our evening meal. The receptionist ordered us a taxi for a near by pub. (see the band) Breakfast was very good, the buffet table and the cooked breakfast. Excellant meat eater and veggie eater breakfast. Waiter are very polite and helpful. Checkout was easy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed at Solberge Hall during the last week in August as a solo traveller. First impressions were excellent, as it is a beautiful building set among attractive gardens and fields. The long drive adds to the effect of luxury ahead. Unfortunately, everything went downhill on being shown the first room. It was small, shabby with a single bed and a pervading smell of drains. The upgrade was better (a double bed), but the room was still shabby and in urgent need of refurbishment. The public rooms are much better and the atmosphere of a country house party is more apparent. During a pleasant drink in the bar, prior to dinner, there was something odd that was difficult to establish and it wasn’t until I was seated in the dining room, the oddness became really transparent. ALL the staff are dressed in Chinese coolie uniforms – black baggy smocks and trousers – the white gloves worn to deliver the food only adds to the Eastern effect. It has to be said, that despite the uniforms, all the staff were enthusiastic, polite and helpful. The dinner menu was largely unforgettable – nouveau cuisine does not sit comfortably in a Country House/Chinese atmosphere – however, the breakfast was excellent and a Full English (full cholesterol) lived up to its name. I stayed for two nights and would return. If only to see if the promised refurbishment takes place and the menus made more palatable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ampatblas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Wiske
3.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
315 reviews
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,526 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
309 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solberge Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solberge Hall Hotel

Address: Solberge Hall Solberge Hall, Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Newby Wiske
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Price Range: £88 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solberge Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Solberge Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solberge Hall Northallerton
Solberge Hall Hotel Northallerton/Newby Wiske, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing