We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solberge Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Now part of Macdonald Hotels group Solberge Hall was up to their usual high quality standards.
Good location 10 minutes from the A1 yet in peaceful countryside.
We stayed in a feature room in the main house which was excellent with beautiful views.
Food at dinner and breakfast were both good and service throughout friendly and helpful.
We had a very good 1 night deal this time and will certainly consider stopping again as a break on our occasional trips north.
Had a very relaxing stay but bear in mind this looks like a popular wedding venue so may be very busy at certain times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night with out 8 month old baby. The service was outstanding and they were happy to accommodate our every need. The food was good in the bar and at breakfast. The room was clean and we found the layout of the suite room great for a family.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful old mansion in a tranquil rustic setting. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and we were made to feel very welcome. Rooms are not cheap and there is some sense of "faded glory" but the room was very comfortable with good sized ensuite with bath. The in-house restaurant was excellent with a varied menu, and a delicious and generous breakfast was provided - again with friendly attentive staff. The atmosphere here is very restful with a touch of class, and we enjoyed our stay greatly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a great find for us the hotel and location are very good.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The only comments on the negative are with regards to the food and the noisy plumbing in the bathroom.The bread served with the evening meals was stale.At breakfast we asked for the pork sausage to be changed to vegetarian sausage unable to do this no reason given, when we asked for margarine we do not have any the kitchen. All these are minor points but management may wish to look at and implement some change.

Nick R

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbea1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraysonKohli, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Nickbeat1948
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Solberge! I am glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and professional; I will pass your comments on to the team. I take all guest feedback seriously and you will be pleased to know that as a result of feedback like yours I have implemented a review of the food and drink menus. I do hope you will revisit us again soon to enjoy our new Garden Room menu combined with excellent room rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is really beautiful, I would have liked to have stayed longer,will definitely return. We had a suite, it was gorgeous. , Big softsettee, TV, etc, The bedroom was beautiful. Our bed was so soft and huge. The food was delicious, our evening meal was fantastic, our breakfast even better and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Lovely part of North Yorkshire , beautiful landscape and lovely views across the fields

Room Tip: Book the suite. It was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraysonKohli, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Polly G
First I would like to apologise for the late response to your lovely comments, I am delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay at Solberge Hall. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly and professional team and I will certainly pass your praise on to them. We do hope you revisit us again to enjoy our lovely setting and surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We use our tesco vouchers with macDonald hotels as they're one of the easiest for booking/availability and have nicer hotels/food although sometimes, the room can be a little 'tesco value'. Not this time though. The hotel has a really nice charm (although it wasn't well signposted from the direction we came from) and we were really welcomed on arrival and shown to our room rather than just told where to find it. The room we had was slightly quirky in layout but was closer to a suite than a double room, with a sitting area (with a rather tired and no longer comfy sofa bed), walk in dressing area, double bedroom and big bathroom and fab toiletries. The decor was nice and curtains/fabrics luxurious and we really appreciated the space... and courtesy call 30 minutes after arriving checking if the room was okay and offering complimentary coffee or tea. The only down side was the quality of the finish... but to be fair you have to be looking a little to see it e.g. new skirting board and carpet gripper badly fitted, pipes crudely boxed in in the bathroom etc. That said, we had a lovely stay, really enjoyed the food from the bar menu and all but one of the cooked breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraysonKohli, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Mel O
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Solberge Hall and my apologies for the late response. I am glad to hear that you felt welcome on arrival and that our service reached your expectations. Please revisit us again to see our continuous improvements and experience our fabulous new menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had our wedding reception at Solberge Hall yesterday (3rd may) it was just perfect. The grounds and hotel are spectacular, all the staff are fantastic, professional, helpful, friendly and could not do enough for us. The whole afternoon and evening ran like clock work with no hitches. Anyone planning a wedding this venue is perfect, you will receive a brilliant service from the events team, Samantha was the events planner we dealt with due to mainly having meetings when she was at work, she was so helpful, couldn't do enough for us to ensure we had a great day and following every visit we left feeling very excited and were very confident that the day was going to run smoothly. Chloe the other events planner was very helpful she would always answer emails etc when Samantha was not at work, nothing was ever too much for them to sort out for you. The grounds and views of Solberge have the wow factor, the bridal suite was out of this world and the breakfast the next morning just finished off a perfect weekend. Myself and my husband would recommend Solberge to any people who are looking at it as a wedding venue, short break or just a meal. Solberge Hall staff enabled us to have the wedding day of our dreams, a day that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ClaireRobinson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraysonKohli, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear ClaireRobinson2
First may I apologise for my late response to your lovely review!
I would like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you for your 5 star comments on our location and customer service! We were thrilled that you decided to share this special occasion with us here at Solberge Hall and we are delighted to read that you had such an amazing day. I will certainly pass your praise on to the team and I hope to see you again soon.
We do have a fabulous First Wedding Anniversary Celebration Package but I hope we can tempt you back before this, please contact me directly if you are planning to return to the Hall and I will endeavor to enhance your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Wiske
3.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
310 reviews
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
984 reviews
21.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,510 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
409 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solberge Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solberge Hall Hotel

Address: Solberge Hall Solberge Hall, Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Newby Wiske
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solberge Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Solberge Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solberge Hall Northallerton
Solberge Hall Hotel Northallerton/Newby Wiske, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing