We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solberge Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our daughter was married at this venue on 30th May 2014. From the minute we arrived until the following morning, everything was 1st Class. The hotel grounds, all the staff and the food were amazing. Most of the guests had nothing but praise throughout the duration of the day and evening reception.
It was totally flawless in every way, I would highly recommend this hotel. I cannot thank the whole team enough for making our daughter and son in law's special day perfect. If you are thinking of booking a wedding here, I really don't think you could find anywhere more perfect than Solberge Hall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an absolutely lovely stay. We went for lunch for my Grandmas birthday and myself and my partner decided to stay over and pre-booked a room a few days before.We were in the executive suite and the room was huge with a huge wooden sleigh bed a lovely sitting area and a decent size bath room. We had dinner around eight o'clock and had Kevin as our waiter he most attentive, made conversation with us and nothing was too much trouble for him or any other staff members. The food was to die for you could tell that every was locally sourced and fresh.We even got a recommendation from Kevin on what red wine to drink with the stake and it was spot on. We slept like babies the pair of us the bed was comfy and the hotel its self was quiet all night. The next morning we had breakfast there was so much to chose from from the buffet and the cooked breakfast was so tasty although there was no beans and I did not see any on the menu and did not ask for any the beans would have made the breakfast perfect. All in all our experience here was amazing and we will defiantly recommend and be staying again at Solberge Hall. Thank you so much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We attended a wedding here and the venue was lovely although we have to say the weather helped, it was warm and sunny. The canapés served were very good and tasty and the wedding breakfast itself excellent. We couldn't fault it although we were offered pâté or melon to start and then given pate unless you had preordered melon!! Staff were very helpful and efficient.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelled79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Now part of Macdonald Hotels group Solberge Hall was up to their usual high quality standards.
Good location 10 minutes from the A1 yet in peaceful countryside.
We stayed in a feature room in the main house which was excellent with beautiful views.
Food at dinner and breakfast were both good and service throughout friendly and helpful.
We had a very good 1 night deal this time and will certainly consider stopping again as a break on our occasional trips north.
Had a very relaxing stay but bear in mind this looks like a popular wedding venue so may be very busy at certain times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night with out 8 month old baby. The service was outstanding and they were happy to accommodate our every need. The food was good in the bar and at breakfast. The room was clean and we found the layout of the suite room great for a family.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful old mansion in a tranquil rustic setting. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and we were made to feel very welcome. Rooms are not cheap and there is some sense of "faded glory" but the room was very comfortable with good sized ensuite with bath. The in-house restaurant was excellent with a varied menu, and a delicious and generous breakfast was provided - again with friendly attentive staff. The atmosphere here is very restful with a touch of class, and we enjoyed our stay greatly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a great find for us the hotel and location are very good.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The only comments on the negative are with regards to the food and the noisy plumbing in the bathroom.The bread served with the evening meals was stale.At breakfast we asked for the pork sausage to be changed to vegetarian sausage unable to do this no reason given, when we asked for margarine we do not have any the kitchen. All these are minor points but management may wish to look at and implement some change.

Nick R

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbea1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraysonKohli, General Manager at Solberge Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Nickbeat1948
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Solberge! I am glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and professional; I will pass your comments on to the team. I take all guest feedback seriously and you will be pleased to know that as a result of feedback like yours I have implemented a review of the food and drink menus. I do hope you will revisit us again soon to enjoy our new Garden Room menu combined with excellent room rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Wiske
3.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
319 reviews
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,536 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
314 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solberge Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solberge Hall Hotel

Address: Solberge Hall Solberge Hall, Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Newby Wiske
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Price Range: £89 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solberge Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solberge Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solberge Hall Northallerton
Solberge Hall Hotel Northallerton/Newby Wiske, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing