We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solberge Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have recently made a second visit to Solberge Hall and was not disappointed. Staff welcoming and helpful. After a plumbing problem ,was relocated to a splendid room with delightful views. Not wishing to eat a large meal in the evening we ate a perfectly adequate meal in the lounge bar. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, which was good value.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank B J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our daughter was married at this venue on 30th May 2014. From the minute we arrived until the following morning, everything was 1st Class. The hotel grounds, all the staff and the food were amazing. Most of the guests had nothing but praise throughout the duration of the day and evening reception.
It was totally flawless in every way, I would highly recommend this hotel. I cannot thank the whole team enough for making our daughter and son in law's special day perfect. If you are thinking of booking a wedding here, I really don't think you could find anywhere more perfect than Solberge Hall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an absolutely lovely stay. We went for lunch for my Grandmas birthday and myself and my partner decided to stay over and pre-booked a room a few days before.We were in the executive suite and the room was huge with a huge wooden sleigh bed a lovely sitting area and a decent size bath room. We had dinner around eight o'clock and had Kevin as our waiter he most attentive, made conversation with us and nothing was too much trouble for him or any other staff members. The food was to die for you could tell that every was locally sourced and fresh.We even got a recommendation from Kevin on what red wine to drink with the stake and it was spot on. We slept like babies the pair of us the bed was comfy and the hotel its self was quiet all night. The next morning we had breakfast there was so much to chose from from the buffet and the cooked breakfast was so tasty although there was no beans and I did not see any on the menu and did not ask for any the beans would have made the breakfast perfect. All in all our experience here was amazing and we will defiantly recommend and be staying again at Solberge Hall. Thank you so much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We attended a wedding here and the venue was lovely although we have to say the weather helped, it was warm and sunny. The canapés served were very good and tasty and the wedding breakfast itself excellent. We couldn't fault it although we were offered pâté or melon to start and then given pate unless you had preordered melon!! Staff were very helpful and efficient.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelled79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Now part of Macdonald Hotels group Solberge Hall was up to their usual high quality standards.
Good location 10 minutes from the A1 yet in peaceful countryside.
We stayed in a feature room in the main house which was excellent with beautiful views.
Food at dinner and breakfast were both good and service throughout friendly and helpful.
We had a very good 1 night deal this time and will certainly consider stopping again as a break on our occasional trips north.
Had a very relaxing stay but bear in mind this looks like a popular wedding venue so may be very busy at certain times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night with out 8 month old baby. The service was outstanding and they were happy to accommodate our every need. The food was good in the bar and at breakfast. The room was clean and we found the layout of the suite room great for a family.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful old mansion in a tranquil rustic setting. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and we were made to feel very welcome. Rooms are not cheap and there is some sense of "faded glory" but the room was very comfortable with good sized ensuite with bath. The in-house restaurant was excellent with a varied menu, and a delicious and generous breakfast was provided - again with friendly attentive staff. The atmosphere here is very restful with a touch of class, and we enjoyed our stay greatly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Wiske
3.6 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
310 reviews
6.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
977 reviews
21.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,508 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
409 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solberge Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solberge Hall Hotel

Address: Solberge Hall Solberge Hall, Newby Wiske, Northallerton DL7 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Newby Wiske
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newby Wiske
Price Range: £90 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solberge Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solberge Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solberge Hall Northallerton
Solberge Hall Hotel Northallerton/Newby Wiske, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing