We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of The Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Empire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was recently on holidays in Tasmania with my husband, cousin and her husband and called into the Empire Hotel in Queenstown for lunch. Never again, it was absolutely terrible, I had a piece of dried up crumbed chicken and some chips for $19, !!!!!!! I was horrified when the waitress presented it, I should of refused it, there is no way I would ever go back or recommend the Empire Hotel for meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    40
    30
    16
    10
See reviews for
17
53
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berrigan, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great Place, great value and I am keen to return. Boags ale is sold by the pint or schooner and is fair value but a little pricier than here in the Riverina. Meals are excellent too but again more expensive than their Riverina equivalent.

Tasmanian wines are cheaper there than on the mainland and are excellent as always.
The Empire is the best place to stay in Queenstown, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are noisier, rooms on the north side are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhoderic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Of course this place has seen better days physically, but it's a place full of character, not promising more than it delivers. Restaurant is well patronised by the locals (always a significant recommendation) and has a really good ambience. The bar is a bit sad but staff are on the ball. I opted for a single room with shared facilities and was allocated a spot right opposite the toilet and bathroom - how thoughtful. Room was good, though carpet was old and stained. There was a safe electric bar heater wired in, which meant that even in a town that can be notoriously cold, the room was cosy. Bottle shop host was a wealth of info about local area. Even if you don't stay here, call in and have a look at the magnificent staircase. For what it is, it's a really good deal. Where else can you pay $30 for accommodation and feel happy about the hospitality? Good on you, Queenie. This place deserves patronage. Give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

I had an ensuite room which although it needed a make over (there was paint peeling off the wall and the doona cover was dated) it was clean and comfortable . Had a chicken schnitzel for dinner which was really nice and good value at $20

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolalotsofspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The charm and grandeur that the bar , restaurant and wooden stair case has is unfortunately missing in the bedrooms upstairs. The bedroom which we were put up was clean but not spic and span. The wall papers were coming off in few places and it some how felt that not much has been done for a long time to maintain the bedrooms. All in all its functional place to stay and may be for a night not more though.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashingddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed two nights last weekend in room 33. Room 33 is a small (3X3.5m) room with two sets of bunks and nothing else. 1 double powerpoint on either side of the room. Toilet and shower outside the door in the hall. Awesome shower pressure and basic bathroom but recently refurbished. Mattresses comfortable and appeared fairly new. Rooms included bedding and towels and a soap. A continental breakfast was included.

The rooms are basic (I glanced into a few others) but clean and functional. It's a "get what you pay for" hotel, and for $30/head/night for this particular room, I felt the value was good.

Right in the middle of town, across the road from the Western Wilderness Railway, location is brilliant.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 30's appear to have been newly refreshed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cached
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We did not stay at "Empire Hotel" but decided to eat there at the recommendation of a local we spoke to in the street - "Make sure you go in and check out the staircase even if you do not eat".

The staircase is local blackbean timber which was shipped to England to be carved in 1902 and assembled on its return - Was recently restored and quite impessive

The dining room is also over 100 years old and well preserved - The food was very good - I chose a steak and my partner pasta - Both meals were to be commended

We cannot comment on the accomodation other that to say that the choice was from backpacker style, old style hotel rooms with shared facilities and ensuite rooms.

The Hotel has a new manager who seemed keen to build up the clientelle - We wish her luck

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
12.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
895 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel

Property: The Empire Hotel
Address: 2 Orr Street, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Empire Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing