We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend a few dollars more and drive past.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Hills Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spend a few dollars more and drive past.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Got the "Delux motel room". Windows barely open. No extraction fan in bathroom, water temperature changes from freezing cold to scalding hot every 30seconds. Television reception poor and "free" wifi is free cause you can't get signal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Holidaytrippa, thanks for your review. I was very disappointed to learn that your stay was not to your satisfaction, but I also genuinely would have valued the opportunity to fix any of the fixables while you were here. I have very strong WiFi, but if it has stopped working, it just requires a simple re-boot - takes 2 minutes. TV reception is out of my control. We have new antennas, new coax, new TV's with direct line of sight to the transmitter on the mountain. Any poor signal problems originate further up the line ... Intermittent hot water is a new one for me. If you had mentioned this at reception at some point during your stay, I could have investigated. Whilst I am renovating this beautiful property, I am not re-modelling all the windows and frames ( sorry :( ) ... but with a broad selection of room types, I could have moved you to a room more suited to your requirements, again if I had known.
I'm passionate about my business, and growing it, and passionate about my guests and their expereinces here. I'm sure we tick a lot of the boxes, good food, good beds, great staff, value for money ... and I am genuinely sorry you left dissatisfied. Enjoy the rest of your holiday... James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    63
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
66
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Nothing spectacular about the room although we had no complaints. Queenstown is in a very remote part of the world and is a mining town, but had some amazing scenery. The locals were friendly and the pizza from the town was lovely. The proprietors of the motel were helpful, friendly and certainly provided us with assistance when needed.

It was a great base camp to allow us time at Cradle Mountain and Strahan and the Gordon River Cruise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Queenstown is a mining town inland from the west coast of Tasmania and unfortunately I can't think of anything nice to say about it. The Silver Hills Motel gets its name from the denuded hills around the town where silver was mined, and now copper is the staple. The scenery is bleak, the motel is used during the week by fly-in miners, and the rooms are barely functional and barely clean. The only reason we stayed in Queenstown was because it is a long drive back to Hobart from Strahan and we wanted to stop at some places along the way (eg Lake St Clair).

Room Tip: There is not much to distinguish one room from another. If you can, wave to the town as you drive th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Firstly John, thanks for your review, altghough I get the sense that you feel that your whole visit to Queenstown was a miserable event for you, and not where you wanted to be. I guess tripadvisor is also probably the most convenient forum to disparage what I think is a fantastic historical and wilderness destination. It is a working mining town in a harsh and unforgiving, but very beautiful part of the world. Being a working mining town, the majority of my guests in December are corporates, and they choose the Silver Hills for the warm, clean rooms and the great food...aside from the scenery, service, price and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Pros: Internet, friendly, attentive and accommodating staff, well priced

Review:
This motel was a good find, thanks to the help of other reviewers on Agoda. Although we had booked a deluxe queen room, on arrival, James (the receptionist/manager) gave us an upgrade to queen +1 bedroom.
The room facilities were quite basic, yet sufficient. On arrival, we had some issues with the bar fridge not working properly, however it was replaced after it was brought to managers attention. The motel has a self service Laundry (coin based washers and dryers, ironing board). Washing powder was free. The room I stayed at was located on 1st floor. Some nights were cold. The beds are equipped with electric blanket if required. Also, there is a electric heater in the room.

The motel restaurant food was more on the expensive side. The initial night of checkin, we had dinner at this restaurant as we were not familiar with Queenstown. Later found alternative choices.

Limited choices in the Queenstown makes this motel a more suitable, convenient and useful accommodation than others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureTravellerIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed there for one night as we needed a stop over between Strahan and Hobart. Nothing too special about the Room, but it was clean and had heating blankets (which it seems you will need most of the time in Tassie). The guy at the reception was vey friendly. We did not eat there as we like to support different businesses local when we travel - had dinner at Mahoney's which was fabulous. Liked the free wifi, too. Room for improvement: our bathroom window did not close properly - even though we closed the door when heating the main room, the lack of insulation causes an unnecessary waste of energy. Also, would have been nice to have a kettle to make some tea. I would have prefered that over the iPod docking station :) Oh, the continental breakfast was okay, but $12 is way too much. Next time we'd go to a local cafe.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nique10115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverhillsmotel, Owner at Silver Hills Motel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Nique, firstly many thanks for your review, and of course for staying recently. Im glad you found the room clean and well presented, and we actually DO have tea and coffee in every room, although it is located in the drawer under the desk in your room. Our tea and coffee selection features Moccona Classic coffee, as well as hot chocolate and complimentary biscuits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Arrived on a very wet cold late afternoon having prebooked, no one at reception but contacted them by phone in lobby, told our room number and that key was in the door!

Room was rather cold and chilly, however, plugged in the heater and the room soon got warm.

Wifi worked well when we eventually got the access code. Room was adequate and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

The Silver Hills in Queenstown is a biker friendly destination in an area renowned for its tourist attractions and of course - the truly awesome rides throughout the south west of Tasmania.
The personal service and local advice offered by the new management team was really appreciated.
The Resturant provides a great selection of well presented dishes and the rooms are clean and well appointed.
I will certainly be coming back - for the rides as well as the accommodation! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Queenstown Motor Lodge
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Hills Motel

Property: Silver Hills Motel
Address: 3 Penghana Rd, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Hills Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This iconic Queenstown motel is not only the oldest on the Tasmanian West Coast, but also one of the largest. Featuring 57 motel rooms all with en-suites, heating and queen sized beds...as well as the largest restaurant in Queenstown with a fantastic fireplace and views over the ranges. An ideal (and well priced!) base to explore Queenstown, Strahan and the Western Wilderness.Now with free WiFi internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hills Motel Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing