We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful stay, lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penghana Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay, lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

The Owen room is the best, very clean and large with spectacular views of mt Lyell. Comfortable bed. Maureen cooks a great breakfast. Beautiful heritage listed stately home with plenty of history. Will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wedphotographers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
84
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful two day stay at this magnificent homes on top of the hill. A special note not much to offer in the way of restuarants in the town chow ever on the second night we went to millanos which was excellent. A must for a lovely meal and the staff very helpful. Back to the b & b excellent accomodation with friendly service and a wonderful brekkie well done

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Lovely old elegant home. Lovely views. Thank you Maureen and Bill for making me very comfortable. Very clean throughout With large rooms and great breakfast. The price was a little more than I wanted to pay but it's in a mining town where everything is expensive.
Trogon62

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Built as the mine owners home, the building is a beautiful grand dame set on a green knoll overlooking the town. Bill and Maureen were wonderful hosts who have provided for every need. Fantastic full breakfast service. The rooms are full of old world charm but suit modern tastes and expectations. There is an elegant guests lounge with a kitchenette (dated but clean and well stocked). You will enjoy the elegance of stained glass and timber features. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngmerinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This delightful surprise in the small town of Queenstown, Tasmania was a wonderful experience. The rooms were huge, even for three of us and everything was so clean. Shared bathroom was immaculate.The breakfast was simple but lacked nothing and we felt very comfortable with Bill, Maureen and Napolean. Such an elegant, historical residence surrounded by well tended, fully established gardens overlooking the town added to the ambiance of this large house where imaginations can run wild. Many original features are intact. Overall, an experience I would gladly repeat and recommend to all. The meal we enjoyed in the town's "Empire Hotel" was the best 'Tasmanian' beef we had tasted for a long time and the prices were very reasonable. People were very friendly and helpful. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svmelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This amazing historical property is like stepping back in time. Thank you Bill and Maureen for making our overnight stay so comfortable and certainly the best cooked breakfast on our two month stay in Australia (something about us Westerners who produce a good breakfast). To bump into other guests who lived within 40 miles of us was truly amazing so it was good to see that Briitish Geordies do get everywhere and especially warming that Bill was from Scotland!
As for Queenstown? - well it would not feature on our itinerary were we ever to return to Tasmania - there are more beautiful places to visit if your time is short - however it is an industrial area so don't expect much in the way of scenery and the 'wow' factor - stay around Cradle Mountain.
This does not detract from the accomodation which more than made up for the lack of atmosphere and beauty of the town

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OllysmumAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hosts were warm and welcoming, breakfast was delicious and room was clean and spacious. Even had electric blankets for the cold night. Had dinner at Hamer's Grill Strahan, a great recommendation by Bill. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZippyBubblenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
12.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt Lyell Anchorage
Mt Lyell Anchorage
#2 of 5 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
12.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penghana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penghana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 32 Esplanade, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Penghana Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penghana Bed & Breakfast offers 21st century comforts in a 1898 National Trust Mansion built for the Mt Lyell Mining & Railway Company, and today Queenstown's most prestigious residence. Situated on a knoll overlooking the township, the house has sthunning views and is surrounded by rainforest and unique gardens. Enjoy a silver service breakfast, complimentary afternoon tea, various spaces to relax in, comfortable rooms, take a tour of the attic and enjoy the history of the house. There is much more to Queenstown than you think and it's difficult to experience it all in a day! As we can provide secure parking, we certainly welcome bikers. This business now proudly holds Rainbow accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penghana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penghana Bed & Breakfast Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing