We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This B&B was the highlight of our trip around Tassie and we stayed in a lot of lovely places. We booked the twin room and double with a share bathroom for our family of 4. The rooms were clean and spacious and located at the top of a short staircase, along with the bathroom and separate toilet, so you are very private. There is a kitchen and dining room to use and we ate our takeaway lunch there when we arrived. We received a lovely warm welcome from Napoleon the dog who is a total character and also from the owners. It was a joy to stay there, breakfast was huge and delicious and we were given a tour of the attic which was great fun (you only have to ask). Queenstown is an unusual place which is well worth a visit and I would highly recommend you stay at Penghana.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujatojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Penghana Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wonderful Grand Home Penghana Welcomes Guests with warmth an graceful olde world charm . Our hosts made us feel so welcome. We rode our motorcycle and as motorcycle friendly B&B we soon had the bike installed in their carport. Queenstown is so friendly and we had received such warmth from Penghana we felt right at home. Our room Huxley wit he suite was extremely comfortable. Quiet night relaxing sleep after a walk on the shortcut into town. Woke to a freshly home cooked breakfast. The price included breakfast so very worthwhile. So happy we stayed at Penghana on our way to ride Queenstowns Wilderness Railway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Queenstown and found the Penghana B & B excellent, friendly and comfortable. It is a National Trust property, so don't expect super modern facilities but what it lacks in modern fittings, it more than makes up for peace, calm, stylist Edwardian comfort. With extremely nice hosts ( we recommend eating in one night to sample great home cooking), very conveniently situated for the West Coast Wilderness Railway, and only 45 minutes from Strahan and Zeehan. Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A spacious and heritage listed Mansion overlooking the mining town of Queenstown. Great views of the town and surrounding landscape that is blemished from its mining history. The room was very large and comfortable though the bed was so squeaky that the smallest movement made a lot of noise. Our hosts were happy to provide advice and put on a delicious hot and cold breakfast spread for our enjoyment. The B&B's location is central to the attractions of the town, and is a short drive from most things. Overall an unexpected comfortable stay in a working mining town.

Room Tip: Try to get the Owen room as it has a great view over the town
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWebley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penghana, Owner at Penghana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We didn't realise we had a squeeky bed and if we are informed of the problem by guests prior to checkout then we can address it.
Unfortunately this was not brought to our attention.
Our guests comfort is important to us and we do our best to ensure they have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Queenstown is not noted for its accommodation and Penghana is probably your best bet in town. Nothing in Tasmania is cheap, and Penghana lives up to that expectation. Very friendly owners & dog are positives, as is the historic building with a good tale to tell. Rooms vary - the Huxley Room has a large & freshly renovated bathroom, the Lyell has a shoebox sized but adequate bathroom of smaller and lesser ambitions. Decent beds. Breakfast was good but not extraordinary. The building lacks airconditioning and is tired in some parts, but the overall experience was OK. Probably much better than other options in the area so recommended. Located in a very poor part of town, but isolated by the long private driveway.

Room Tip: Go for the Huxley Room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay in what is the former Mine Manager's residence, a building which must be close to the best in Queenstown. The building has a lovely heritage ambience and the accommodation is very comfortable in a town which reflects its rugged past. Penghana is something of a jewel in this environment with a delightful garden overlooking the town. We were provided with an excellent evening meal too in the stately surrounds of the dining room and the included breakfast in the morning was its equal.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we viewed seem fine.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hendrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is an unexpectedly luxurious B&B in an old mining town. Impressive and spacious period building set in the nice garden on the hill overlooking the town.
We have stayed one night in the Jules Double room. It must be the largest room we have ever stayed in. It was set up very nicely with large comfortable beds. There is ample lounge area and Billiard room with the huge pool table.
Hosts were very welcoming and helpful in the true Aussie way. We got few ideas for side trips on our way to Hobart.

Note that this room shares bathroom with Jukes Twin room. As there was no guests in the Twin room it did not cause any issues for us.

Room Tip: Note that this room shares bathroom with Jukes Twin room. As there was no guests in the Twin room it...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.2 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
113 reviews
12.5 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt Lyell Anchorage
Mt Lyell Anchorage
#2 of 5 in Queenstown
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
137 reviews
12.3 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penghana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penghana Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Esplanade, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £89 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penghana Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penghana Bed & Breakfast offers 21st century comforts in a 1898 National Trust Mansion built for the Mt Lyell Mining & Railway Company, and today Queenstown's most prestigious residence. Situated on a knoll overlooking the township, the house has sthunning views and is surrounded by rainforest and unique gardens. Enjoy a silver service breakfast, complimentary afternoon tea, various spaces to relax in, comfortable rooms, take a tour of the attic and enjoy the history of the house. There is much more to Queenstown than you think and it's difficult to experience it all in a day! As we can provide secure parking, we certainly welcome bikers. This business now proudly holds Rainbow accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penghana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penghana Bed & Breakfast Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing