We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for what we were after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent for what we were after”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Travelling with a motorcycle group and spent two nights there. Happy with it. We were looking for a good bed at a good price. We got that. We made a deal of $80 per room. Each room is different. Our was spacious, had a large comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, a coffee table, three small armchairs, a television. Some of our groups had large armchairs or proper dining table. The bathroom certainly could have done with a renovation. If you are fussy, it is not for you. We had hot showers and this made us happy. All in all it looks like army barracks. It is shabby but very good value. Also if you want a good meal, try the Empire Hotel. Interesting colonial days dining room, historical staircase, Huge very good meal, quick service and walking distance from the lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobblywombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked a room with 2 separate bedrooms $155. When we arrived she showed us the room that had 1 bedroom with queen in the kitchen area which was not what we were told. We were very upset. She said if we want 2 bedrooms it will cost $200.00 but it is not available. We have no choice have to take what she gave us room 8. She said it has full kitchen, no it didn't. There was a small grill oven with burns on top which only worked one or the other, not both together. She said free WiFi and give the password to us but we tried many times it showed incorrect,then we called her and she told us try another password and user name, but still nothing work. We had a terrible stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farmers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Bruce F, Owner at Mountain View Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
I'm sorry your stay was unsatisfactory, but I need to tell the truth of the matter.
1. The cost of the Q/B unit that sleeps 2 is $85.00 x 2 is a total of $170.00
2. The cost of the Family unit ( room 8 ) is $135.00 and sleeps 4 is a total of $135.00.
We advise that this unit has only a kitchenette but that we have a full kitchen with all utensils available for our guests that open 24 hrs a day.
3. I find it difficult to under stand how there was not 2 x Q/R 's available at that time of the year if
required as it is passed our peak tourist season.
4.We have Wi Fi but unfortunately our only choice is Telstra as our service provider. We made an approach to Telstra in October 2013 and we still have only a limited service, that is around
the office/reception area. We notify all our guests of our password and that they are welcome
(weather permitting) to sit out the front of the building or if they prefer to sit in the reception area
and use the enclosed area for their comfort.
We do not tell lies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is a budget accomodation, but offers everything you need for an overnight stay. Clean spacious country-style room, kinchenware (dishes, mugs, forks etc), microwave (there's not much dining options in the town), complimentary milk, flat-screen TV, tidy bathroom. Although pillows were a bit flat and aircon didn't warm the room enough, I loved staying there. Hostess of the property was very kind and helpful. Thanks!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank double_yuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good location, short walk to town centre. Communal cooking facilities were good as there is no restaurant onsite. Room was clean, spacious but dated. Although rooms were unique with their own 'vintage' furniture. Parking is available outside rooms and there is a lovely area under the trees to have a quiet ale. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

When we shopped for the cheapest accom in queenstown we knew what we were in for. Given this the room wasnt so bad ( it is dated, musty and thrown together).

What really disappointed us was;
We rung ahead to enquire, i had it on handsfree (so my partner also heard him) say wifi was included...
Once we settled and requested the password, the owner ( who IS a friendly enough bloke) advised that there was NO WIFI but "there is a few cafes in town"(8:30 pm).

We had no problem with cheap accom being cheap,being lied to was what made this stay disapointing for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restyourwearyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I was travelling around Tasmania with a friend and we had to make a stop at Queenstown as we were quite tired. We went to the first motel/hotel/hostel we found and with no expectations we walked in. Had a great room, had a great sleep and had a cheap bed, just what we looked for. Not to much poo-ha and that is the way we like it. The owner(lady) very nice and did some extra things for us that we appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobarthostel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have stayed at this motel on numerous occasions and always enjoyed my stay. The rooms are clean and tidy and very comfortable. Bob and Maxine are very congenial hosts and go that extra mile to be helpful . I would recommned the motel and always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: The ones nearest reception . Close to road but I never found them noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
113 reviews
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
895 reviews
12.8 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 1 Penghana Rd, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motel Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing