We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip back to the past”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Lyell Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt Lyell Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A trip back to the past”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Rooms very basic and looks like the owners bought cheap coloured paint that no one else wanted. Our room was grass green with purple trims....not a good fashion statement.

Reminds me of a sturdy mining town motel with not much character.

Rooms clean though and warm during the night.

In hindsight, if we had a choice (and didn't want to drive 1-2 hours to another town), we possible would not have stayed there.

Room Tip: Suggest one checks out the room before committing for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phb_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Lyell-0364171888, Front Office Manager at Mt Lyell Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
What, you don't like retro! But seriously, you're right, the new owners did "inherit" some interesting colour choices and have been working hard to modernise. We're not trying to compete with the flasher establishments though, nor charge the big rates, but we're clean, fresh and have all the usual facilities. You'll be much happier if you come again.
You've given a very good travel tip - we actively encourage prospective guests to check out their room and after the changes that have been made it seems we're being a lot more favourably viewed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Dined here on our second night in Q'Town and had a great dinner. It is a little disconcerting to walk through a small colourful pokie area to get to the dining area but what the heck!
Pick a table and then order at the bar. Bar staff very helpful and recommended an excellent bottle of wine. The boys had Pumpkin soup and roast Pork and I had rare Carpet-bag steak (perfectly cooked and tender) and stunning brandy snap style desert. Prices were also very good for all courses - was a great dinner. Dining area also light and bright with afternoon sunshine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Mt Lyell Motor Inn and Restaurant. Fortunately we only ate here because my guess is that the accommodation is just as bad as the restaurant.

Once we realized that in order to eat here all conversation was going to be punctuated by the noise from the slot machines we were probably 50% of the way to realizing that this is an establishment we were eating at out of a desperate need to survive rather than a culinary experience.

The ‘Prawn in Garlic Sauce’ at least had prawns but clearly the kitchen had run out of garlic. Once again I was reminded that Chefs and in the case of this establishment I use this term in the loosest possible way have a very mixed understanding of the term ‘Rare’ when applied to steak, my previously well butchered piece of beef found reincarnation as an indication that the Chef would have been better employed at the local crematorium.

Probably better to be smug not eat here and claim that your on a diet

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Lyell-0364171888, Front Office Manager at Mt Lyell Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Sorry for your dining experience, we obviously got it very wrong. But on the bright side things do change and you might see from later reviews we are attracting praise for the meals.
Please come back and let us make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed one night on our way from Hobart to Cradle Mountain, via the bottom end of the National Park at Lake St Clair. We knew it was just a place to sleep and that Queenstown was not going to be an attractive place as a declining mining town, but our experience was so bad, for the 1st time ever we wanted to post a review and warn others off. The place is in a 1970's time warp (and that's probably being generous). It smelt foisty and grubby. The bed linen was probably clean but very old. We could not bring ourselves to use the shower as the room smelt damp and dirty and the towels looked so elderly. The place recently changed hands so we asked the owner what his plans were for the place, assuming he'd say he wanted to do a complete make-over but he said he was quite happy with it as it was as it made enough money for him and the guests seemed happy - we seriously doubt that is the case and we are not sure how he knew this as there were no feedback forms to complete.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandDT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt_Lyell-0364171888, Front Office Manager at Mt Lyell Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We're sorry for your experience. Not sure why anyone would have said that the new owners were happy with the quality of paint, linen etc, they weren't and there's been many changes. We're still a mining town and the time-warp comment will remain applicable (but we're a little proud of that).
Please come back and see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.1 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
12.6 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Lyell Anchorage
Mt Lyell Anchorage
#2 of 5 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Lyell Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Lyell Motor Inn

Property: Mt Lyell Motor Inn
Address: 1 Orr St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
true country hospitality, fantastic food (ours is the restaurant the locals come to), great rooms and very fair pricing in the capital of the West Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt Lyell Motor Inn Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing