We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On the road into town on right coming from Hobart, on edge of town. We arrived during a crisis, a key member of staff had just left, quit without notice!. In spite of that we were greeted and checked into our rooms with no problems. The Motel is a bit drab, but so is Queenstown. The room was clean and functional and the bathroom was ok, aircon was quiet. Free Wifi was patchy but not surprised given the location..20 Mins walk to town where there appear to be more bottle shops than eating places. We ate in the on site Resturant which as a result of the staff problem was offering a limited menu. The quality was very good and at a reasonable price given the lack of competition.A good stopover base for the reopened Wilderness Railway, not quite a 4 but i am sure when the new owners get on the case it will be.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    48
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
62
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Used as a stop over for a Seniors coach tour..of Tasmania..Was fine for 2 nights,,Staff did their best for 22 guests in Dining room all at once.and they worked hard..This was a stop off to do a river cruise as part of the tour and visit the mine/Weather was heavy rain and cold so could not explore the town by foot

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeachlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for one night as a stopover on a road trip. There wasn't that much choice in town. The people at reception (first a kid and then 2 ladies) at first didn't seem to know what to do with us, but we got there in the end.
The room was rather colorful but everything had kind of a 'stale' and definitely 'past due date' look and smell to it. I rate it 'average' as nothing really merited 'poor' but, that I do feel that that is a generous rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this property on line for two nights after New Year's Eve, and when we arrived the weather was turning a bit wintry with rain and mist. It was quite a change of temperature coming from Western Australia's heat. The room had a nice heater, kitchenette and fridge. The shower worked well and there was a hairdryer. We could hear some sounds from the people next door and from the main road at night.
When we asked about dining that evening, we were advised their own restaurant was closed that evening and we could go into town to the Empire Hotel. We went there and decided that the menu was inadequate with the usual pub type meals, so after a couple of beers, we retreated to our room to have our cheese and fruit. The following evening the Comfort Inn restaurant was still closed so we decided to go to a nearby motel restaurant which was open. We only discovered this option on the drive to Strahan. It appears there is no tourist office in Queenstown?
The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The rooms need to be updated though, perhaps the new owners will do this.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered between 7 and 12 will be further away from the main road and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Needed a wheel chair access room, which was provided. It was clean, but extremely basic. However staff lovely and let my wife stay longer than check out time while I was at a meeting, so hats off to very obliging staff.
If you are looking for something more upmarket you won't find that here. Restaurant closed so had to go into township to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This inn is in a mining town and although my room looked a bit tired it was clean and comfortable with all I needed for my stay. The dining room was lovely and the people were so friendly, especially the lady that greeted us and cooked the tasty home-cooked meals - I can't remember her name. I complimented her on her vegetables, every one was cooked with a bit of imagination, I could have eaten a plateful

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I previously stayed here for work on recommendation from a work friend. I stay here a few times on my travels and it is okay. I can't fault the room - it is clean, basic and has everything you need. My main issues are with the restaurant. I have only had 2 experiences 1) there were not enough people in the restaurant for it to open, or 2) There is bus load of tourists so the restaurant is booked out. Also have never been able to get a breakfast here - which when you are down for work is a real issue. I am down the West Coast fortnightly for work and have changed to the Silver Hills motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katemullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
13.1 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
890 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Gold Rush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Gold Rush

Property: Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Address: 65 Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Gold Rush 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Gold Rush, Queenstown, is a perfectly located motor inn accommodation to rest and relax following the fascinating journey from Hobart via Derwent Bridge/Lake St Clair or from Cradle Mountain/Burnie/Devonport. In a quiet location, The Gold Rush has 26 spacious rooms. Queen size beds are the minimum standard, Free WiFi to all rooms, separate en-suite bathroom with amenities, kitchenette with microwave, flat-screen TV, a licensed restaurant on site providing Breakfast and Evening meals. A relaxing and comfortable stay is a certainty. This is the place to base yourself and explore the region over several days. Experience the APT Steam Railway, Cruise the Gordon River, Raft the King River or do the Mt Lyell Mine & other tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Gold Rush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Queenstown
Queenstown Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gold Rush Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing