We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coaster Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Coaster Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“always a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have been staying here for years and have always been impressed with the constant improvements. it is still the only place to stay in queenstown as it delivers every time.
it is managed by a husband and wife team who are enthusiastic( how rare is that !) experienced and friendly.

while the place isnt a modern glass and steel resort. Queenstown isnt a resort town either. The rooms are clean, staff happy, food tasty, and most of all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    43
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
24
52
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
413 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Tired furniture and carpets, the manager gave instructions about the times to eat and be punctual he added, and mentioned twice that we musn't forget to hand in the room keys on leaving. But worst of all, he charged Au$2.50 for 24 hours wifi, It didn't work when I tried to get online. He gave back the money and said the roeters would need to be reset but he didn't have time that evening (it was 6pm!) so I would have to do without!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Hello and thank you for your response. Again it is very difficult to address and explain over a review as to why you may have found a few aspects unsatisfactory to your stay but I would like to try. The reasons we recommend a certain time to eat in our restaurant is because we have a lot of large groups on bus tours and we like our guests to be able to enjoy the buffet at their leisure. You are quite welcome to eat with the tours if you like but we find most people like to avoid the rush. On handing in the room key, it is extremely hard to keep track of 60 plus individual keys and, as there isn't a locksmith in Queenstown, if a key is lost or taken with the guest, we cannot use the room until a replacement is made. We have found that it is best just to remind the guest to bring the key with them on checkout. We do have difficulties with our WiFi on occasion particularly as Queenstown is set in a deep valley. With 10 routers to reset and being right on dinner time with a large group in it was unrealistic to offer this service at the time so you were given a refund and told it was not available. We do offer our apologies for this but sometimes, due to our remote location, this happens. We do believe the West Coaster is ONE of the best motels in the area and as a family run business we do try to give ALL our guests the best service we can offer, which in this unique and rugged part of Tassie does have its challenges! Again, it is much easier, and guests are usually more understanding, if these issues are brought to us at the time, face to face so we can offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel and were apparently upgraded to a delux room. It was something from the 70's and completely outdated. the website said new carpets, matresses linen ect and I can honestly say it was not. Nothing like the website. I didn't sleep a wink the matress was so uncomfortable, the bathroom was old & dark and all I can say is we clearly were not in one of the new modern rooms, we must have been shoved out of the way. The hotel was quite and its a shame that our stay was not nicer as we are always on the west coast.

Room Tip: Advice - ask for a new modernised room, otherwise you'll get crap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214Brett, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed this is the first we have heard of your concerns about your stay with us and apologise that you did not enjoy it. We have had many satisfied guest over this busy time during the festival week and would like any issues to be brought to our attention at the time so we can rectify them. We can assure you, and all of our guests that we will endevour to continue to improve our rooms along with the rest of the property and have done considerable work over the last 12 months that we have purchased the motel to do so. Thank you again for your review and we hope if you choose to stay with us again we can make yor stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Have stayed here before and must say they have made some big improvements, totally enjoyed the food and the rooms were clean and comfortable and have been updated a lot. At both stays the atmosphere was friendly and the service good.

Room Tip: a room facing the rivulette and back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have been working hard to improve all aspects of the Motel with upgrades in the rooms, restaurant, grounds and looking giving what guests value most when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gymea, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a group for 2 nights. Its like a blast from the past. Rooms very dark with very old furniture and fittings. I tended to keep my socks on because I wasn't sure what might be on the carpet. The strangest thing was in the bathroom finding the button to flush the toilet - it was on the other side of the room below the tissue box - considering there was a tissue hanging out it took me a while to find the button! For our group the meals were what was there and when it was gone, too bad! You missed out. The manager certainly has a monopoly on accommodation in Queenstown - there isn't much - his attitude was appalling. Someone could make their fortune opening up a new accommodation house in Queenstown to give this place a run for its money. Would advise anyone travelling to keep going through Queenstown and try and find somewhere else to stay. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Since your stay we are delighted to inform you of the upgrades and improvements we have made to the West Coaster. New carpet and flooring in a majority of the rooms, new furniture, new beds, linen and bedspreads in ALL ground floor rooms and fresh paint work inside and out. We are continuing to upgrade and modify as many aspects of the property as we can to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Unfortunatley due to the era it was built and the plumbing costs involved with moving the toilet button we feel, although unique, this is an area that can be postponed for now. We can assure people travelling through Queenstown that they will be pleasantly surprised of the Motel since this reveiw was made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The beds are comfortable, the water hot and the room warm (essential when the snow and rain dominate the landscape).

However, the food has definitely goon backwards. My medium rare steak became a well dome, dry steak. Fish was straight out of a box, as were the entrées. Given the food is priced at the fresh end (I.e. high), the value was not there. You are better off eating in town at one of the pubs.

Stay here, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIDANinTASMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Since purchasing the Motel in September 2011 the menu has had an over-haul and now delivers a variety of home cooked and wholesome meals. We have room service, pizzas available, carvery nights and as mentioned a new menu with lots of choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Something out of the eighties...dark room..............brown water in the bathroom.........rationed drinking water jugs as too many people were staying that night (so we were told) but did not see the crowd!!!
Cannot tell about the food as we weren't game enough after the water experience.
Hated it....could not wait to leave in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Property has new owners since this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#6 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coaster Motel

Property: West Coaster Motel
Address: Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coaster Motel, situated in Queenstown on Tasmania's West Coast, is a 60 room, recently purchased, family run property and a perfect base to come back to after exploring the rich history of this unique part of Tasmania. 5 minutes walk to the ABT Wilderness Train Station, the Galley museum and the centre of town, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms from the modern Superior rooms with ipod docking clocks, to the warm Deluxe ground floor rooms, the convenient kitchenettes and the spacious 2 Bedroom Suite complete with king bed. All rooms have new linen and bedding, flat screen TV and DVD players, Mini bars & Room Service, Tea & Coffee, hairdryers. Queenstown has also had a complete overhaul of the water system and now delivers clean, clear water to all its residents and visitors alike (we have purchased white linen to prove this!). Enjoy a beer or wine in front of the fire in our Lounge/Bar then settle in to either the buffet dinner or select from the a la carte menu for a delicious home cooked, affordable meal. Book your train or Gordon River cruise direct with us and see what else our region has to offer from our helpful staff and brochure stand. We welcome you to the West Coaster and hope you have a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your West Coaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coaster Motel Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing