We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, large room”
Review of West Coaster Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Coaster Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, large room”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Decor inside the room could do with an update, but the room itself was fine. Plenty of room to set up our dtr's portacot. Room service for pizza was great, the pizzas were HOT for at least 20mins after we started eating!! They did overdo one pizza with way too much tomato but it was still nice. They need an exhaust fan in the bathroom in room #124. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    44
    41
    14
    3
See reviews for
24
53
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived around 3pm as we were attending a dinner in Queenstown that evening. The person on reception was very rude and when we asked if there was a chance of getting a drink and something to eat we were told there were tea facilities in our room and somewhere in town should be open. We were also told breakfast went until 9.30 we thought but next morning when my husband went over to breakfast everything was in darkness and he was told it finished at 9am. Who only serves breakfast until 9am on a Sunday morning....we had to drive to Tullah 40 mins away to have a bite to eat........the manager DEFINATELY needs lessons in social skills and if he doesn't want to be there maybe should look for another avenue to exercise his attitude in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214Brett, Manager at West Coaster Motel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were disappointed. As you mentioned there was a dinner in town and this was the Diwali Festival of Lights which is an annual event and a very popular one in this small town and that does impact on the services we can provide. All our bookings on this day were attending this function and for this reason, and the fact that we mainly cater for dinner and breakfast unless there is a specific booking, the Motel was not open for meals at 3pm. However you were directed to a cafe or take-away shop in the centre of town that may be open. We only ever open for breakfast until 9am and usuallly it is only until 8.30am but was extended for this day due to our guests maybe having a late night the night before so unsure where 9.30am was mentioned. Room service breakfast could also have been organised via the menu in your conpendium in your room. Never the less we trust your room was satisfactory and it is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the customer service and we will endevour to work on this, although unacceptable to you please keep in mind we aimed to provide what ammenities we could due to the events of the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Really nice staff and food but the manager could do with a lesson in customer service. He was very unhelpful and made it seem seem as if I was the problem. No social skills at all. Shame really because otherwise it's a nice place. Don't think I'll be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinjo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Visited West Coaster last weekend with friends for two nights, Noticed a lot of changes since last stay, New signs, new paintwork, outdoor carpet in front of room entrances, mini bars stocked, decor in restaurant changed and looks great, bar opened for a relaxing afternoon drink by the wood fire, new carpet and fittings coupled with the usual fresh clean room made for a pleasant nights sleep, someone has good taste as the new decor looked great. Our friends commented on the great weekend, good food and plenty on the plate coupled with local friendly service, the town has also had a facelift and it was great walking around, like a trip back in time

Room Tip: try for a ground floor room with window looking out to Clongomerat creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Town was shut for public holiday when we arrived, luckily motel provided a special 'in room' service (there restaurant was also closed). Our room had recently undertaken an upgrade in décor and television. Restaurant breakfast was good, normal range of cereals, fruit, breads, juice etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I wasn’t really looking forward to a 3-night stay in Queenstown but the West Coaster Motel was a very pleasant surprise. We were a group of friends in town to visit the last days of the West Coast Wilderness Railway. We had chosen budget rooms and were allocated to the second level. Our twin share room was spacious with comfortable beds. It was neat, and clean, and the bathroom was supplied with toiletries, but no toilet brush!
Budget meant we didn’t have the room serviced each day or fresh linen or towels. This was perfectly OK - a saving for us and the environment.
The continental breakfast included was more than adequate with good supplies of all ingredients and very drinkable coffee!
Recommended if you need to stay in Queenstown or want to avoid the expense of staying in Strahan!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beyondmetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My mate and I had a Budget room here for two nights in April 2013. The Motel was conveniently placed to the town centre and main roads. The room was quiet, clean, spacious, and quite well equipped for a Budget room. It had a lounge suite as well as a writing table. The motel has a great lounge bar and restaurant. We sampled the Sunday night buffet dinner which was very good value with good quality food. The reception service provided by the owner was friendly and efficient.
I would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGT867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
112 reviews
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
889 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coaster Motel

Property: West Coaster Motel
Address: Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coaster Motel, situated in Queenstown on Tasmania's West Coast, is a 60 room, recently purchased, family run property and a perfect base to come back to after exploring the rich history of this unique part of Tasmania. 5 minutes walk to the ABT Wilderness Train Station, the Galley museum and the centre of town, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms from the modern Superior rooms with ipod docking clocks, to the warm Deluxe ground floor rooms, the convenient kitchenettes and the spacious 2 Bedroom Suite complete with king bed. All rooms have new linen and bedding, flat screen TV and DVD players, Mini bars & Room Service, Tea & Coffee, hairdryers. Queenstown has also had a complete overhaul of the water system and now delivers clean, clear water to all its residents and visitors alike (we have purchased white linen to prove this!). Enjoy a beer or wine in front of the fire in our Lounge/Bar then settle in to either the buffet dinner or select from the a la carte menu for a delicious home cooked, affordable meal. Book your train or Gordon River cruise direct with us and see what else our region has to offer from our helpful staff and brochure stand. We welcome you to the West Coaster and hope you have a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Coaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coaster Motel Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing