We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional”
Review of West Coaster Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Coaster Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 7 January 2007

This is Queenstown, a mining town. This hotel is not thrilling but certainly is functional. There is nothing to thrill in Queenstown but if you require a clean and comfortable bed for the night and a bathroom then it will do. We wanted to stay in Strahan but with five of us that was difficult to achieve at short notice at this time in the (busy) season. So Queenstown had to suffice. There are a lot of motels in Queenstown, none really looked any better than th other. Most would not choose to stay here but if you do stay here the Chancellor Inn is adequate for a sleep and a shower before you move on to the next destination.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Property has new owners since this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2006

I would not recommend staying in this town or hotel unless you have to. We stayed here on our way from Cradle Mountain to Lake St. Clair. Strahan is pretty close and worth a little detour to have more hotel options. The town was a neat experience in that it is rather well preserved from the 50s and 60s. Not much has changed. The hotel was rather run down. It was somewhat clean, but the furniture was very old, beat up, and out of date. The website claimed that the rooms were "renovated", but that must have been done years ago. The only thing that appeared newer was a heated towel rack that didn't work. The shower was so harsh, that it was almost painful. The water from the faucet was not drinkable according to a sign on the wall. The staff had left a can of bug spray sitting on the dresser which wasn't a great sign. It was very pricey at 120 australian dollars for what you got. The breakfasts and room service were also extremely expensive. We found a nice little cafe up the road that was much more reasonable.

3  Thank jatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcoaster M, Owner at West Coaster Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Property has new owners since this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ludo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank teckel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bribenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larri78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
0.3 mi away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
116 reviews
12.8 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
945 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coaster Motel

Address: Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: £50 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Coaster Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Coaster Motel, situated in Queenstown on Tasmania's West Coast, is a 60 room, recently purchased, family run property and a perfect base to come back to after exploring the rich history of this unique part of Tasmania. 5 minutes walk to the ABT Wilderness Train Station, the Galley museum and the centre of town, you will enjoy the newly upgraded rooms from the modern Superior rooms with ipod docking clocks, to the warm Deluxe ground floor rooms, the convenient kitchenettes and the spacious 2 Bedroom Suite complete with king bed. All rooms have new linen and bedding, flat screen TV and DVD players, Mini bars & Room Service, Tea & Coffee, hairdryers. Queenstown has also had a complete overhaul of the water system and now delivers clean, clear water to all its residents and visitors alike (we have purchased white linen to prove this!). Enjoy a beer or wine in front of the fire in our Lounge/Bar then settle in to either the buffet dinner or select from the a la carte menu for a delicious home cooked, affordable meal. Book your train or Gordon River cruise direct with us and see what else our region has to offer from our helpful staff and brochure stand. We welcome you to the West Coaster and hope you have a pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Coaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coaster Motel Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing