We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a motel, nothing fancy”

Dandenong Motel Melbourne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dandenong Motel Melbourne
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just a motel, nothing fancy”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights which was fine. Nothing fancy, typical motel, everything average. I slept well, bathroom OK clean, rooms are quiet. I would say if you are looking for a not too expensive place to stay for a few nights nearby Melbourne, and you have a car, this is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Communication with reception staff very difficult. Staff tried to swipe my credit card for a security bond without first asking permission. Room not ground level as requested - not good with elderly relative. Mouldy ceiling and seals in bathroom. no bedside tables/lamps for single beds. Noisy fridge. Curtains largely off the hooks - had to improvise to ensure privacy and exclude light. Missing fixtures - lamp shade, towel rail. This place reckons it has a 3 star rating....... from who?

Don't do it to yourself.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RnBfromPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dandenong hotels

Bairnsdale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked this motel on the Thursday for Saturday night. We told them we wouldn't arrive till about 8pm . This was all fine. The staff then called us on Saturday at 5pm to confirm our booking and again we told them we would be there at 8. We arrived at 8.07pm to be told that we didn't have a room they had given it to someone else. After trying to get some answers about why they did this after the confirmation call we asked what were we meant to do for accommadation at that time of night when most of the motels we had passed had no vacancy signs out. They then told us that they had another room for an extra $36 more than we were expecting to pay. We told them that we thought this was a bit of a rip off so they went down to a closer to original price. We were told that it was a lovely room with a spa. The room was o.k. but like most other reviewers we found the bathroom with mould and broken floor tiles that were in front of the basin, which was a problem if you had bare feet. The next morning when we were checking out we were told by another staff member the reason our room was given away was because we hadn't paid a deposit. They had our credit card number and every other motel we have stayed at has accepted this as a deposit and not once were we told that this was not acceptable as a deposit. We contacted management by e-mail at a later date and were told that the staff should have asked for a deposit. I would not recommend this motel to anyone as on arrival you may not have anywhere to sleep and I don't think these people care as long as they get there money. It was a birthday treat weekend for my husband as he was going to the golf the next morning, but it all turned out a bit stressful thanks to the management and staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Manger was reasonably nice. Didn't like the fact that they didnt tell us before we booked and got there that we needed to give them a $100 bond.
The bathroom was gross, toilet seat had been burn or melted, the walls and roof had black mouldy spots everywhere, the shower had a leak on both sides, causing the carpet to be wet before an after we used it. There was a storm and our light blew, and also someone had come into our room while we were out and unscrewed the top of the fire detector and had taken the battery's out. We told reception about it, but nothing was done. There were stains on the carpets. Door didnt shut and open properly, alarm went off for no reason and wouldnt stop unless plug was pulled, phone rang in the middle of the night and wouldnt stop.
, so had to be left of hook.
Would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This motel was exactly as other reviews explained. The room was clean, however the shower could do with a bit of bleach. The bell at the front office could have been a little less loud, but it stopped going off at 10pm, so not too bad all in all. Not a bad place for overnight or extremely budget conscious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This motel was fine for our stay. We were there for two weeks and overall it lived up to our expectations, based on reading the reviews here. The staff were very friendly and provided a microwave and extra cutlery for us. The room was clean but the bathroom could definitely do with more than a quick wipe. The shower doors were sparkling clean, but inside the shower was mouldy. It wore a bit thin that the cleaners only provided two towels most days even though there were three of us. There was no problem with them providing them to us when we went to the office and asked.
One recommendation if you decide to book here would be to request a room as far from the office as possible as there is an alert bell every time someone walks in and out of the office which we could hear in our room and it became annoying.
Overall if we were going to return to Melbourne we would consider this hotel again, but it is probably better suited for a shorter stay especially if you have children as there isn't facilities for kids. But at the price that we got we were happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We booked a duluxe room and while the price was reasonable it was very disappointing to find the shower, bathroom floor and hand basin were covered in mould making me question the cleanliness of the motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dandenong
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Dandenong
Ibis Budget Dandenong
#3 of 5 in Dandenong
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Dandenong
Ramada Encore Dandenong
#1 of 5 in Dandenong
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dandenong
Comfort Inn Dandenong
#2 of 5 in Dandenong
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sandown Regency
Sandown Regency
#2 of 2 in Noble Park
28 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atura Dandenong
Atura Dandenong
#1 of 2 in Doveton
128 reviews
7.0 mi away
Quest Narre Warren
Quest Narre Warren
#1 of 1 in Narre Warren
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dandenong Motel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dandenong Motel Melbourne

Property: Dandenong Motel Melbourne
Address: 147 Princes Hwy, Dandenong, Victoria 3175, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Dandenong
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dandenong Motel Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dandenong Motel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing